We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Nasty - Do Not Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dirty and Nasty - Do Not Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

-The bedding was Dirty. We had two separate rooms and two dirty blankets. The first room's blanket had a thick dark brown substance on it...The second had what appeared to be dried blood. Why? According to the manager - they are a "green" hotel. So apparently, they don't use bleach - but they almost must not use SOAP or WATER! She acknowledged that they didn't know what the first brown thick gunky spot was - but she did confirm that the second blanket was indeed dried blood! :(

We won't be back - EVER. We usually like Springhill Suites but this is disgusting. The manager had the nerves to say "If you're ever in Chattanooga - please stay with us!" Was she serious??? lol

-Also, upon arriving the check-in girl was extremely rude and demeaning to us. She could have also addressed the room issues in a more professional issue but didn't. In order to resolve the stained bloody sheets fiasco, she brought up a sheet that smelled really nasty and that was also stained - maybe that was payback for our complaint.

Please don't stay there. In fact, most places in the state had nasty reviews! Drive through as quickly as possible if you're on a road trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGM37402, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
CC-ELL

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. Unfortunately, we did not exceed your expectations as we strive to do with each and every guest. I have taken your feedback and have addressed the issues you mentioned accordingly. If you would like to discuss further, I can be reached at 423-834-9300.

Respectfully,
Jake Honegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    96
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
142
116
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Oh
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is a six month old hotel in a nice location, overlooking the river and at walking distance (probably not at night) from the surprisingly interesting and fun downtown Chattanooga. The hotel is a typical new generation SpringHill but has some nice ads on, such as a terrace with a big fireplace overlooking the river. As expected from a brand new property, everything is clean and working properly. Most rooms have a great view of the there was river and the mountain across. The young staff amply compensate some lack of experience with great enthusiasm. The price was reasonable, although there was an additional charge for parking which, based upon the location, I found unreasonable.

Room Tip: Most room on the second floor are for people with disabilities. The best rooms are on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for a cheerleading competition and they can be a tough bunch - straining even the most pleasant hotel staff. I can honestly say I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff so was nice and so helpful! The hotel common areas and the rooms were all nicely done and the rooms were large and clean. The morning breakfast service was great - approved by kids! We have always stayed right by the convention center for the cheer competition in years past so I was a bit concerned about the distance to the convention center, but turned out to only be minutes away from the hotel and the TN Aquarium is literally around the corner! My kids have already asked to stay here next year! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice and fairly new unlike some of the older properties in Chatanooga. Would have given it a 5 but they don't have their restaurant open yet so I had to order in, no big deal. It is exactly what you would expect from a newer Marriott property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This clean, comfortable, affordable hotel chain is now at the top of our list when traveling. The level of personal customer service we experienced at this hotel is beyond outstanding! On the day we checked out, we slept in and missed the free breakfast so, I called the front desk and asked if there was any coffee still available (I would rather have it from there than brew it in my room.) The nice lady at the front desk told me they had just put the coffee away but, she then offered to make a fresh pot -just for me! Wow, good coffee, over the top customer service. Every employee with whom we came into contact was friendly and courteous. The room was large and comfortable and "as clean as a whistle." Kudos, you guys! Well done.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queens are large with walk in closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The kids especially liked the indoor pool and the view of the river. The hotel is very clean and the staff is quite friendly. Breakfast was great too. I especially liked the healthful options like spinach and walnuts.

Room Tip: River view is beautiful. Wish the balcony views didn't cost so much more. Pop for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good time. The hotel itself is obivously new and the staff was very nice - almost overly eager to please us - which was great since it was a getaway weekend for us! The hotel is a little away from all the tourist stops which was nice, but still close enough that the taxi was only $3 each way. So we still got to enjoy eveything we wanted to see and do.

The only negative I had was that the hotel bar closed at 10pm both Friday and Saturday night, which wasn't really a big issue for us.

Thank you for a great couple getaway weekend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Address: 495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, a Chattanooga, TN hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk and free high-speed Internet access. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool and fitness center help you stay refreshed throughout your stay. Our riverfront Chattanooga hotel offers first-class customer service and unforgettable balcony views overlooking the picturesque Tennessee River. Our Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's ideal location offers guests convenience to eateries, entertainment and shopping. Plus, our adjacency to the Tennessee River allows guests to be within walking distance to the Chattanooga Riverfront, Southern Belle Riverboat, Tennessee Aquarium and many more popular area attractions. Our perfect blend of services and amenities are a delight to all travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.