We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel sits a few hundred feet from the end of the Riverwalk that spans the shore of Chattanooga. It's close enough to walk to the downtown attractions yet just far enough off the main path to spare you the usual annoyances of a downtown property. We parked our car upon arrival Friday afternoon and didn't get in it again until we left on Sunday. You can walk wherever you like. The city has a nice transit system that makes getting around very easy.

After reading the review of some of the balcony views posted here, we were concerned that we would be disappointed with our room when we arrived. We weren't. It was a nice place to relax in the early morning and evenings. We particularly enjoyed watching fireworks (from the nearby ballpark, we think) Friday evening.

The staff were particularly polite and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and functional. The hotel was a good base for our weekend visit to downtown Chattanooga.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    108
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
152
127
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not a bad location but not exactly how they marketed the property on their web site. Average rooms, average service. Riverview rooms are really not that spectacular. Our view was the river and some of the vacant industrial buildings on the other shore. Pool area was small and heavy on the chlorine. Current location is not quite "downtown" and there really isn't anything else near the property besides business and industry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGM37402, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. The staff tries to ensure each and every guest has a memorable experience. I apologize we didn't meet your expectations. The SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown is the first phase of Cameron Harbor, a mixed use development of restaurant, retail, and residential space. Also, the Tennessee Riverwalk, will soon extend past the river side of the hotel, which will make us an even greater part of the downtown Chattanooga experience. We hope that if your travels bring you to the Chattanooga area again, you give us another opportunity.

Respectfully,

Jake Honegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We loved it! We booked this hotel because it was brand new and the buffet breakfast was included. This hotel does not disappoint. The rooms are spacious and offer lots of amenities including a refrigerator and microwave, and are beautifully decorated. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome as though we were an old family friend. The staff had great tips for excursions, and everyone including management, front desk staff, breakfast staff and the housekeepers were all extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel offers a great outdoor sitting area, but we had a balcony so we didn't use the public area. The only negative is the parking fee.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 429 which is a King Suite with balcony overlooking the river. The room has wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I live in Knoxville and decided to explore Chattanooga, only 1-1/2 hrs away, and stayed at this new hotel (only about 2 months old). It is located right on the river and the river views are small but nice. This hotel "suites" are fairly spacious and have a nice separate sitting and desk area, and a kitchenette with microwave and frig. It was a nice surprise since the last Springhill Suite I stayed in in Hurricane Utah just crowded a sleeper sofa into the room and called it a suite. The bathrooms are huge (no tub). The king sized bed and bedding were very comfortable. The lobby and lobby bar are spacious. The free breakfast was one of the best I've had, with everything from sausage, scrambled eggs, french toast, oatmeal, muffins, on and on. There is a really nice terrace overlooking the river with umbrellas and tables.The location was the best. It was a short walk along the riverwalk (which was nice) to the Aquarium, art museum, etc.. The only negative was that the "pool" was a small, indoor pool, and it would have been nice to sit by the pool outside. But it is a really good value and we will definitely stay there again when we visit Chattanooga.

Room Tip: We had a high floor river view. Not an amazing view, but still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We loved this hotel. The bathroom was unique in that it was long and narrow. There were no locks on the bathroom door, which may bother some but I don't generally need to lock the bathroom door as I shower. It is a nice walk to the pedestrian bridge to shops, etc. It was very pleasant to sit in the courtyard, on the Tennessee River, with a beer after dinner. Employees were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel recently built. The bathrooms are large but there is very little counter space. It would have been very difficult traveling with children or teenagers. The doors on the bathroom just slide across. They don't really close all the way.
I know that hotels in a downtown setting charge for parking because of the limited availability. Here, there is plenty of parking in the huge parking lot yet they charge $8 a day for parking.
The site convinced me to get a river view room. We could see the river but our main view was of an empty field with an abandoned piece of equipment. Not really what I was expecting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The architects for this hotel took a different route. When you walk in you know they were trying to make the place look modern, but the room we had might not appeal to all travelers. The bathroom door was a sliding door that had a opaque glass insert. There was no lock on the door and sounds traveled effortlessly through the door. Now, the door to the clothes closet was just the opposite - heavy and thick. Maybe the workers got the two doors mixed up. They were obviously trying to save space with the sliding door -- the entire room was very narrow. However, there should have at least been a way to lock the door.

Inside the bathroom there was minimal counter space around the sink, probably to save money on the granite that was used or maybe just to save space.

The television was placed in a spot where it could be seen from both the sitting area and the bed, but it was virtually impossible to turn the television enough to be able to see it from the beds.

There was a nice Ihome stereo system in the room which allowed for your Ipod to be plugged in -- a nice touch. The breakfast was very nice and the people that work there were very friendly.

It was in a good location -- probably close enough for some people to walk to downdown and the ballpark. However, not close enough to be charged an extra $8 per day for parking. There was also an extra $25 in other taxes per day that made this room not the best value.

It was a very nice hotel, but if you're going to be there with a family you might want to ask about the rooms. I'm sure there are other size rooms and maybe some that have locks on the bathroom doors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Address: 495 Riverfront Parkway, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, a Chattanooga, TN hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk and free high-speed Internet access. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool and fitness center help you stay refreshed throughout your stay. Our riverfront Chattanooga hotel offers first-class customer service and unforgettable balcony views overlooking the picturesque Tennessee River. Our Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's ideal location offers guests convenience to eateries, entertainment and shopping. Plus, our adjacency to the Tennessee River allows guests to be within walking distance to the Chattanooga Riverfront, Southern Belle Riverboat, Tennessee Aquarium and many more popular area attractions. Our perfect blend of services and amenities are a delight to all travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.