We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Fort inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Fort inn to your Saves list
Stone Fort inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old Style Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Four poster bed, wood floors, brick walls... The Stone Fort Inn looks great. Large room with antique furniture. Bed was too soft for us and my wife was awoken by the floors creaking as people walked by. My wife did not like the walk through the alley to the parking lot. She thought it was 'creepy'. Overall, I feel that the Stone Fort Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    71
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
17
270
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved the web page and read the reviews. We were very excited when we arrived but soon found that the pictures and reviews must have been written at an earlier time or written by staff wanting good press.

The building is over a hundred years old and is showing some wear since being renovated. There is a strange musty odor in the foyer and halls that is hard to get over. Everyone we talked to noticed the smell but we all never quite figured it out. The young girl at the front desk thought it came from the bar next door but wasn't sure. She said, "After a few days you get used to it."

As for our room, while charming and clean, the mattress was old and worn out. The showerhead was mounted too high and not adjustable downward so getting clean was difficult. A cockroach was found scurrying across the floor in the bathroom in the middle of the night. A lamp had a short and the toilet was loose from the floor and rocked back and forth. The light above the toilet looked like it was about to fall. The faucet handles were so loose they almost fell off in our hands. Much of the furniture is antique but in disrepair such as missing handles and broken drawers. Sharp objects such as a small broken picture frame and screws were found in the drawers.

The housekeeping and maintenance cabinets were left unlocked and open exposing tools and chemicals during the night so this is not a place for small children. On the up side, I could find most of what I needed to fix some items in my room like the lamp with the short and faucet handles. Still very disappointing.

The restaurant staff were very nice and helpful but the front desk girls while also nice, were very young and not experienced or attentive. We had to insist on help in getting our luggage up to our room unlike the promise of the webpage. There were no luggage carts on the property or extra staff.

The parking lot is not secure. It has an electric-arm gate located a block away but that's it. The parking lot is secluded and down an alley across the street that can be accessed by anyone in town. Many times we saw local people in the parking lot walking through to gain access to the alley that led to the B&B. We were told by the young girl at the front desk that break-in's are rare but do happen.

The web site says the B&B is within walking distance of the activity downtown but that is only true if you are athletic and very young. The Tennessee Aquarium and most restaurants are over a half mile away. To avoid walking through a dark slow part of Market Street you better take your vehicle and pay for parking on the other end of Market Street.

We have stayed in many 4 and 5 Star B&B's around the country and Old Fort Inn no longer stacks up against them. Sad to say our stay was not worth half of the $169.00 per night We spent. This is not the stay their web page promised. I fear as in many successful business, the owners built the business up then left it to be run by young college kids who are not attentive or do not care for the reputation. It does not take long for a historic hotel of this size to fall into disrepair and neglect. I hope the owners use this information to improve their property. It's sad to see this historic place in need of repair and help.

Room Tip: Go three blocks over and stay at the Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiePRelations, Owner at Stone Fort inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
A direct response from the owner Mark:

Thank you for your brutal assessment of your recent stay. I can honestly say, this is the worst review we have received in my 3.5 year history of owning the Inn. And I am taking the unusual step of writing this response personally, as the owner of the StoneFort Inn and TerraMae. Thankfully of our 368 reviews, 347 of the reviews rates us much better than what you found. Nevertheless, I am taking your comments seriously and herewith, would like to respond.

First of all, there are some apologies in order, and also, there are some corrections that need to be made. I am going to answer you just as honestly and openly as you have written your review.

As for the apologies, absolutely someone should have helped you with your luggage. We were short handed that day, but that is no excuse and I apologize. We do have an elevator as you know, but getting the luggage in the door and to the elevator can be challenging, particularly for those guests whom do not have modern rolling luggage on wheels, or whom travel with excessive amounts of luggage.

As far as the specifics of your room, I am stunned at the inadequacies that you found. We inspect the rooms daily, and to have that many maintenance items in one stay in one room--- is confounding to say the least. Needless to say, I apologize again for the faulty light and the shower head. I would like to say that every mattress has been replaced in the past 2 years, and would like to point out that we have many reviews praising our mattresses. I’m sure you will agree that mattresses are a personal choice or preference. We have never had a single roach complaint — not one. Please be assured that we will have a thorough inspection done based upon your input.

As for parking lot security, I disagree with your impressions and/ or with the allegation that we have experienced break-ins. We have not had one single break in during my 3.5 year tenure as owner in our secured parking area. The lot across the way is secured by an electronic gate, so I am not sure how much more secure we could make it. We are an urban downtown Inn, and not an Inn in the countryside where the setting may be more idyllic. The point is, that yes, people walk around downtown all the time, and we cannot stop that from happening. But the lot across the street is secure and our lot adjacent to the Inn has never experienced a security issue.

As far as the location of the Inn, obviously our staff did not do a good job orienting you to the property and for this I apologize as well. We should do better. Let me explain that we are a very short 2 blocks away from a convenient electric FREE shuttle that runs to the Riverfront and back until 11 pm 7 days a week. Most of our guests do not wish to be in the mix of all the traffic and congestion around the Riverfront and enjoy our location exactly because of what you did not enjoy about it -- we are located in a somewhat quiet area of downtown, but we are still a definite urban Inn. I would like to point out that we are closer to the Riverfront than the Chattanooga Choo Choo, The Chattanoogan, and the Marriott Downtown.

Finally the musty smell. How can an Inn that is 105 years old not have some sort of a musty smell? No one has ever complained about this at all. Is it possible you were having a bad day while at the Inn? Overall, we are a unique, somewhat funky and a sophisticated little Inn.. I am sorry you did not allow us the opportunity to repair the maintenance issues or address your concerns while you were on the property. Thank you for your comments about our website and our restaurant..

- Mark Oldham, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The building and rooms are absolutely beautiful! It's old but rooms are large. Beds are comfortable. It is loud and creaky, but I guess that's expected in an old wooden building. Ear plugs and a noise maker for night were provided. Location is a little far from downtown Chattanooga activities. Staff was unhelpful. I had to email multiple times before our stay to get answers to my questions. I also PRE-PAID for a package, but none of the package stuff was ready when we arrived and they threw some of it together at the last minute. Some package items weren't provided and a refund was never even offered. The restaurant Terra Mae is delicious, but pricey. The breakfast was good, but downstairs was completely empty of staff when we were looking for the breakfast so we couldn't find it for a while. Nice place, but other B&B's in Chattanooga have much better service!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at Stone Fort inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food at Terra Mae. We regret that you were less than fully satisfied during your stay. Since your visit, we have addressed the issue and have made management changes to insure that our packages are pre-prepared and that the staff is 100% re-focused on guest satisfaction. We are dedicating our efforts to provide the level of customer service you expect and deserve because we take all reviews to heart and welcome any opportunity to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and had a great stay at the Stone Fort Inn. Our room was was enormous, and we were tempted to lounge all day in the room, but were fortunate to head downstairs to enjoy a great dinner at Terramae. The front desk was responsive to all our requests, and the breakfast the next morning was exceptional (including the latte's!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The inn is right downtown and is less than a block from the free Nightfall (Friday night) summer concert series. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and excellent. We would definitely stay again, and recommend getting a room with a balcony because the hot tub was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary week-end. Our room was on the third floor (top floor) and was super quiet even though they had a full house for at least our first night there. The room had a fireplace and outside tub - neither of which we used on this trip. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom nice and big.

Being a BnB they do offer a full breakfast in the morning. The breakfast consists of eggs cooked to order - but don't expect a full on omelet - more like scrambled or over easy. They also have biscuits and gravy, pancakes, bacon, potatoes, etc. My only comment would be that it would be nice if they included more healthy choices - it was definitely carb heavy.

They have a nice bar and restaurant attached to the hotel. Service was excellent from the front desk to the bar and restaurant.

Oh, and location is awesome for all tourist attractions. We walked everywhere but if you don't feel like walking there is a free shuttle running one block from the hotel.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Top floor - we had room 35 and I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, very old style and nicely furnished.

The staff were very friendly.

The room was huge and had the most amazing bathroom! Very clean as well.

It was about a 15 minute walk to the main downtown area and was conveniently located.

Breakfast - I arrived with 10 minutes to spare so not much left but I had a nice biscuit :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Fort inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Fort inn

Address: 120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Fort inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The StoneFort Inn is a first class Chattanooga bed and breakfast, and a singular full service Chattanooga Boutique Hotel. It’s also a wonderful place to relax in cozy elegance. Our 1909 brick and limestone structure, along with our eclectic mix of furnishings and décor, will help you escape the mundane. We offer express breakfast with eggs cooked to order Monday - Friday, gourmet breakfast buffet on Saturdays and on Sunday mornings guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet PLUS each guest receives a $20 voucher to our restaurant TerraMae - "Chattanooga's Buzziest new Restaurant" - Travel + Leisure, for a phenomenal Sunday brunch. We are located in the heart of Chattanooga's bustling downtown, perfect for business travelers and pleasure seekers alike. We’re less than 1 mile to the vibrant riverfront area with great Chattanooga attractions like the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3D Theater, Southern Belle and Walnut Street Pedestrian Bridge. We are just blocks from the Chattanooga Convention Center, as well as the trendy Southside district, full of galleries, shops, and restaurants. And if you don’t feel like walking, hop on the free electric shuttle, just 2 blocks away. Quiet, but convenient, we’re in a great location for relaxation and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stone Fort inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Fort inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.