We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Perfect Place to Get Away"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Fort inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Fort inn to your Saves list
Stone Fort inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"The Perfect Place to Get Away"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have just recently stayed at the Stone Fort Inn for my Fifth time and plan on going back for many more visits. This place is so special, with great charm and hospitality. The service there is always at your every need and not to mention the food is absolutely wonderful. The new restaurant Terra Mae has really put the topping on the cake to this charming B&B. The Appalachian style menu is so unique and everything is prepared so beautifully. There is also always the wine and cheese hour on Friday and Saturday nights for the guest that is so nice! One of the things I love most about this place is that is gives you the feel of "escaping it all", but you are centrally located right downtown. All the fun things to do are in walking distance. This is a very special place to my fiancé and I. You really feel pampered and taken care of when you are a guest there. We plan on coming back to visit for many years to come! Well done Stone Fort Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    77
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
17
282
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location Tops great pubs restaurants attractions all walking distance and good parking too,.
Service didn't need much but it was professional and polite
rooms great excellent spacious warm eclectic and neat
Breakfast buffet style very very ample and delicious great coffee
Place is tops neighborhood is such a good long 4 mile walk in the AM is very safe

Room Tip: There all good some have balconies all have Jacuzzi tubs I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are bothered by creaky and sloping floors, doors that do not close properly, water stains in the ceilings and old furniture that may be missing parts, then Stone Fort Inn may not be a place for you. But if you appreciate the effort to maintain a beautiful historical building as close to its original character as possible, while providing all the modern conveniences, then you could well enjoy your stay.

Our one night weekend stay at Stone Fort Inn was wonderful. Upon arrival, our room was still being cleaned, so we received a private tour of the property and heard about the history of the building from the proprietor. The rest of the staff was courteous and friendly throughout our stay, too.

Our second floor room was spacious and clean, and the antique furniture was worn but in good shape. The queen sleigh bed was a bit on the short side for a six-foot-plus traveler, but after sampling drinks in the Terra Mae restaurant and soaking in the jetted tub, it provided a pretty decent night's sleep.

The complimentary breakfast in the Terra Mae restaurant was quite nice, with fresh fruit, biscuits, bacon and omelets made to order by the chef. The only real complaint during the visit was that the music was turned up really loud during the breakfast -- motown golden oldies at full blast really didn't go with the rest of the experience.

In a century old building little things can and do break down on occasion, but It is obvious that the owner is making a great effort to make Stone Fort Inn a memorable experience to guests. It is closer to a B&B than a hotel and with a small number of rooms available, I would recommend booking your stay as early as possible.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of noise in the second floor rooms from the restaurant below, especially if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here, along with 2 coworkers, for a business trip. We LOVED it. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts, to die for. Seriously, the breakfast has to be among the best I've had and they call it an "express" breakfast but trust me, it is a thing of beauty and they sure didn't rush when they prepared it. The inn is beautifully decorated with each room being unique in both its furnishings and its color. I stayed in a queen suite which had an attached sitting room with tv. Very nice. Each of the rooms has an enormous jacuzzi or a claw-foot tub as well as a separate, walk-in shower. We ate dinner in the inn restaurant, TerraMae, one night and it was wonderful - the best meal we had in Chattanooga and that is saying something. And last, but not least, everyone on staff when we were there was very nice and helpful. In any regard, I would definitely stay here on another trip and would highly recommend it to other travelers. It sure beat staying at an impersonal chain hotel. I can not recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's; and the Stone Fort Inn has, by far, been the best. The staff is top notch and truly go above and beyond for their guest. A special thanks to Justin for the excellent hospitality and overwhelming kindness.

Also, we ate at the Terra Mae restaurant; great food, atmosphere and service. I recommend the Stone Fort Inn over any hotel or B&B!

Great experience !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B/boutique hotel and we enjoyed it with a few minor issues. We stayed in room 30, top floor, exclusive balcony room. While we loved the size of the room, it needs some updating. The bed was comfortable but needs new bedding. The closet smelled strongly of moth balls so we didn't use it. Just FYI there is no refrigerator and no coffee maker in the room. Someone mentioned a robe in their room but I don't know if that is standard because there was no robe in our room. The hotel itself was quiet. It seemed as though we had it to ourselves. The employees were all helpful. Our favorite part of staying at the Inn was the delicious express breakfast. It was fabulous!! The selection wasn't huge but there was enough to make it a great breakfast: fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, cereal, croissants, biscuits, gravy, potatoes, bacon, and eggs cooked to order. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I won a night's stay at Stone Fort Inn. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay. Just the right location to see the downtown sights but on a quiet street. Amazing historic inn were to character. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Fort inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Fort inn

Address: 120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Fort inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The StoneFort Inn is a first class Chattanooga bed and breakfast, and a singular full service Chattanooga Boutique Hotel. It’s also a wonderful place to relax in cozy elegance. Our 1909 brick and limestone structure, along with our eclectic mix of furnishings and décor, will help you escape the mundane. We offer express breakfast with eggs cooked to order Monday - Friday, gourmet breakfast buffet on Saturdays and on Sunday mornings guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet PLUS each guest receives a $20 voucher to our restaurant TerraMae - "Chattanooga's Buzziest new Restaurant" - Travel + Leisure, for a phenomenal Sunday brunch. We are located in the heart of Chattanooga's bustling downtown, perfect for business travelers and pleasure seekers alike. We’re less than 1 mile to the vibrant riverfront area with great Chattanooga attractions like the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3D Theater, Southern Belle and Walnut Street Pedestrian Bridge. We are just blocks from the Chattanooga Convention Center, as well as the trendy Southside district, full of galleries, shops, and restaurants. And if you don’t feel like walking, hop on the free electric shuttle, just 2 blocks away. Quiet, but convenient, we’re in a great location for relaxation and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Stone Fort inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Fort inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.