We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Fort inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Fort inn to your Saves list
Stone Fort inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Little Bit of Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We can not say enough good things about The Stone Fort Inn! It's truly a little bit of magic in Chattanooga. Our experience was wonderful. A truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. We spent three nights in late November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere and the staff really make the experience. James, the general manager, is the type of person you want to meet. He is so sincere and really cares about the guests. He took excellent care of us and strived to see us happy. They don't overwhelm you with their presence and yet are completely available when you need them. We also received great tips from them on cool local spots for dinner, etc. We stayed in room 28 which is well appointed, elegant and cozy. Beautifully exposed brick walls, tall windows, comfy bedding, two person tub and separate shower. We also really enjoyed the adjacent sitting room with fireplace. We're so glad we stayed here. If you're going to Chattanooga, this really is THE place to stay. Don't miss out. - - The Browns

Room Tip: Call before you go. They'll be more than happy to describe the options and find a room that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    71
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
17
270
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This inn was a surprisingly good find for an overnight stay in Chattenooga. I will stay here again for sure.
Big rooms and bigger bathroom. Our room #30 included a fireplace, porch, jacuzzi tube & separate shower. Some period inns suffer from a overindulgence of furnishings & antiques. This facility is well appointed and feels open with wide hallways and stairs. Wonderful king bed. Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Stone Fort Inn is located at the site of the Colonial Hotel built in the early 1900's. The rooms are quite unique and comfortable. The Inn has some great rooms to hang out in on the first floor. Don't miss breakfast. We loved the french toast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to make the quick trip down to Chattanooga before we started teaching in the fall (August 2011), and we stayed at the Stone Fort Inn. The room was great (the dog themed room, with a jacuzzi on the porch), the breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed walking to all the attractions nearby (aquarium, river, art museum). James was a great host, and we really loved the wine and cheese event that we were able to enjoy one of the nights we were there. It was the perfect weekend trip, and we can't wait to come back again to visit soon!!

Room Tip: The dog-themed room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The title says it all, we went there for a weekend getawayand we were blown away. We stayed in one of the balcony rooms, room was very clean ,the bed was awesome,slept great !! We checked in around 4 by 5 the cheese tray and wine was out in the foyer wine was great. Every body was super friendly and met every need we had.The fact it is a older place gives it the very charm that makes you want to stay .We got up sunday morning to a wonderful breakfast the perfect way to start your day.I added the romace package to the room which included fresh flowers,candles,and rose petals ,what a great weekend !!

Room Tip: on the balcony rooms make sure the weather is warm enough to sit out and enjoy the outside ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Stone Fort Inn this weekend and after several stays at the inn, we continue to have our expectations exceeded! James and Dee are so welcoming and friendly and deliver great customer service every visit! Our room was a queen room that had been renovated and it was lovely. I loved all the exposed brick in our room and the floor to ceiling windows. We love everything about the inn including all the common areas, the complimentary wine and cheese on the weekends, the delicious breakfast, and the relaxing jacuzzi tubs in the rooms! We walked down to the aquarium area for dinner, but you can also take the free shuttle as well. One of our favorite places to have a fun and relaxing weekend get away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and overall, I was happy with our stay. My wife and I stayed for our anniversary over a Saturday night. The staff was extremely nice and helpful throughout our stay; they were welcoming when we arrived, provided maps and directions, and suggested points of interest to visit. There was a wine & cheese reception on Saturday and breakfast Sunday morning was delicious.

It has a good location, close to a few shops and restaurants in Warehouse Row. It's a little less than a mile from the aquarium and there are many other restaurants between the hotel and the aquarium and other points of interest. The free electric shuttle is nice too for tired feet.

The room was nice, but a little old fashioned. They are updating some rooms but ours wasn't one of them. One of the pillowcases had holes in it and the drapes and blinds looked a little dirty/dusty but otherwise the bedding was nice. The whirlpool tub was very nice.

It was a little noisy at night - everything creaked and the AC would click on rather loudly. Also, the lights did not go out until after 11pm so I had to go unscrew the lightbulb outside our door. Overall, it was a nice stay...fixing those small problems would probably up the rating to a 5 but if you're a sensitive sleeper, you'll want to be aware.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Fort inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Fort inn

Address: 120 East 10th Street, Chattanooga, TN 37412
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Fort inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The StoneFort Inn is a first class Chattanooga bed and breakfast, and a singular full service Chattanooga Boutique Hotel. It’s also a wonderful place to relax in cozy elegance. Our 1909 brick and limestone structure, along with our eclectic mix of furnishings and décor, will help you escape the mundane. We offer express breakfast with eggs cooked to order Monday - Friday, gourmet breakfast buffet on Saturdays and on Sunday mornings guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet PLUS each guest receives a $20 voucher to our restaurant TerraMae - "Chattanooga's Buzziest new Restaurant" - Travel + Leisure, for a phenomenal Sunday brunch. We are located in the heart of Chattanooga's bustling downtown, perfect for business travelers and pleasure seekers alike. We’re less than 1 mile to the vibrant riverfront area with great Chattanooga attractions like the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3D Theater, Southern Belle and Walnut Street Pedestrian Bridge. We are just blocks from the Chattanooga Convention Center, as well as the trendy Southside district, full of galleries, shops, and restaurants. And if you don’t feel like walking, hop on the free electric shuttle, just 2 blocks away. Quiet, but convenient, we’re in a great location for relaxation and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stone Fort inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Fort inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.