We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewhaus

Brewhaus
224 Frazier Avenue, Chattanooga, TN 37405
423.531.8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 721 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love this place! Their pretzel bread with their homemade dipping sauces is delicious and I can't go without getting their Kraut Balls, a bit of fried deliciousness. I tried to talk the owner into giving me the cherry ale mustard recipe, but, to no avail. We live close to this restaurant, and we always bring our house guests here b/c the food and the view is unmatched.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped by here for a quick snack and a beer. The place was hoppin on a Wednesday afternoon after work. We ordered the kraut balls. Everyone loved them but me. I must say though that I am not that into fried food. Kraut cheese and other numminess breaded and fried. Loved the place though. Nice outdoor seating area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You Can't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We were advised by the bartender at The Hair of the Dog bar to walk across the pedestrian bridge to the north end and check Brewhaus out for a beer. Ended up going back for dinner and it was fantastic! Try the pimento cheese appetizer served German style with warm bread and pickles. I didn't want to share. For my entree I got a spicy bratwurst sandwich served on pretzel bread with kraut, Swiss and spicy mustard. It was to die for. Service was impeccable and great beer selection. Hope you enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We wandered this way after walking out of Northshore Grille. Sooo glad we did. Great beer at decent prices, lots of delicious food. Got the chicken and schnitzel with cherry ale curry mustard or whatever (you'll see it on the menu) and it was fabulous. Staff was friendly and helpful and attentive and our food and beers were out quick.

We sat inside but they have a great covered patio overlooking the river. A nice relaxing and fun atmosphere either way. Too bad we aren't locals or we'd be there every Tuesday for trivia and again for their beer tastings!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been wanting to try this place since I heard about it a yr ago. Figured with Volkswagon coming maybe it would be pretty authentic. Food was pretty good, but service was terrible. No clean tables, although people were not eating at them. Practically had to beg to have someone clear the table. Bought an appetizer for all to share, didn't get a plate to eat it off of. Everytime we asked for something, like a towel to wipe off the table, or another beer, we were met with disdain. I was pretty embarrased since I had brought someone from out of town there.
Lesson learned..not going back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewhaus also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.