We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersGold level
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“The spa”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I went in for a spa day, the staff is very kind and attentive. That will basically end the good part of the review. I had a massage, facial, and pedicure. The "spa" is a hall way. There is a hallway with 6 doors ad they put some chairs there and that is the "relaxation lounge" um no, that's a hallway. It has nice chairs and is decorated but its a HALLWAY. You change in the common locker room that everyone uses for the pool. There are no amenities that are exclusive to the spa. The massage was good, definitely not the best. The facial was relaxing, but she washed my face a bunch and put a mask on. She did some massage which was nice but didn't clear black heads, pimples, anything like that. The pedicure was the worst pedicure I have ever had in my life. She didn't cut my cuticles, she quickly brushed my big toe and heel with one tool to remove dead skin and then painted my nails horribly and blotchy. I feel very bad because everyone was very nice, but the price is sooooo high, and my sweet husband got it for me with huge sacrifice, it's upsetting.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We apologize that your experience was not positive in every way.Your comments will be shared with the spa team to make certain that our staff is committed to delivering top-notch service to our valued guests, which has always been our number one priority. It is clear we missed chances to make your stay a truly memorable experience and for that we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    178
    78
    34
    28
See reviews for
157
206
21
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel should be embarrassed to be charging their guests for parking. Valet said he would be able to help us after he was the bellhop for another guest....what? Front desk staff although polite were uninformed. Bar has no happy hour. Room was dated. Housekeeping extremely loud in the hallway in the morning yelling back and forth to one another. Housekeeping left dirty dishes and used washcloths in our room. The hair dryer is a tiny little thing attached to the wall that hardly blows, called the front desk to ask if they had a regular hair dryer...no. So not only was a not a good stay, my hair looked like crap for 3 days. Also hotel is in a undesirable location. Chattanooga has great choices closer to the river and downtown, will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. This is not the usual experience at The Chattanoogan hotel.We hope you’ll accept our apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced. We take all comments to heart; it is unfortunate that in our downtown area parking is not free. Most downtown parking is owned by Republic or AAA and we have no control on their pricing. I understand that this additional charge can be frustrating. It is clear we missed a key opportunity to deliver the outstanding guest experience that we want for all of our guests. Receiving feedback from our guests, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to constantly improve upon the experience we provide and for that we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Went to Chattanooga for our 5 year anniversary & stayed at the Chattanoogan. What a Wonderful hotel!!! We had the use of the indoor pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub, on site restaurant and bar. The room was clean and had cute decorations. The staff was very friend & quick to assist any needs. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Congratulations on your 5 year anniversary. Thank you, for spending it with us. It is always great to receive detailed feedback from our guests after they have had an opportunity to experience all the nuances we offer. To read that you completely enjoyed your visit to The Chattanoogan hotel from the moment you arrived in town to when you departed means a great deal to us! We’re delighted our staff provided friendly service, thank you for your review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great rooms. We stayed in a suite which was wonderful to spread out in. Very spacious! Nicely appointed rooms & very clean. Only complaint about the room were the pillows, very hard & stiff. Enjoyed the outside firepit and the indoor pool. Great proximity to the aquarium, there are free shuttles around town if you don't want to walk or drive. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed a last-minute Spring Break getaway at The Chattanoogan hotel! We are so glad our pool and the fire pit were among some of the highlights of your vacation. Your kind mention of our friendly staff and roomy accommodations are truly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with hotel specials and happenings in Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Berean Christian Church located in Stone Mountain, GA selected The Chattanoogan to host its 2014 Women's Retreat. What a beautiful and wonderful time we did have. This is a beautiful hotel everything was perfect! The service, room, food, pool, hot tub was retreat worthy. The staff was very polite and professional and the hotel is very clean. The group price which very affordable, however, I will be inquiring about regular fees. Free bus transportation to main attractions is less then a block away from the hotel and from what I saw there was plenty of parking. I would recommend The Chattanoogan!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review. We are thrilled to hear that your retreat went according to plan. The team we have at this hotel is what makes it such a special place. They make all the difference in the stay. Friendly, helpful, and eager to please. I am proud to have such a great team. I am delighted to hear of your great stay. There is a lot to like about our location and our city. We look forward to having everyone stay with us again soon. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with hotel special, Chattanooga happenings, and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I arrived for a wedding weekend durning UTC graduation weekend. Of our own fault we did not have reservations. The front desk staff was extremly helpful with getting us a room and making our stay a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel during your recent trip to Chattanooga. We appreciate the kind words about the staff and facilities. My team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Chattanooga. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Chattanooga is a beautiful city and The Chattanoogan is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel staff is very attentive and accommodating. I was there for a company meeting. The food was excellent. While there I used the exercise room. It is spartan if you like lifting weights but better than most I have visited. The hotel location is in a great place. The location puts you in a downtown setting, close to many restaurants and shops. Easy access to transportation (taxis and bicycles) make getting around simple. The Chattanoogan to one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. I will definitely be back again to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent business stay at our hotel. It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your expectations and our location made it convenient for you to explore Chattanooga. It is a great city and has so much to offer for the business and leisure traveler. It was nice to hear that your experience has created the desire to return to our city and The Chattanoogan hotel. Please consider liking us on Facebook so you can follow the hotel and Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.