We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location to walk to all downtown restaurants. The spa was perfect. Breakfast would have been better if gloves had been worn when making omelette. The omelette was fantastic but reaching in the vegetables with hands could have been better. Also would have liked salsa to place on it. Very good though

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor have better views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you, for your review. It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at the Chattanoogan met your expectations and our location was convenient for you during your stay. We regret if you experienced anything less than our best. We strive to make dinning a great experience for every guest and we are sorry if this was not the case for you. We will be certain to share your thoughts with our entire team so that we may make any improvements to the experience we offer. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    178
    78
    34
    28
See reviews for
157
206
22
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Upon arrival at the resort it was the most gracious welcome to a hotel. The valet staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. Checking in at the front desk was fast and easy! The hotel was very clean and up-to-date. There's a fire pit, billiard room, spa (pool) and jazz music (on the weekend) that was available but not used on this visit (unfortunately). The room was very nice and clean and ready upon check-in. Great view of the mountains. I made a special request because it was a birthday celebration and the front desk staff member was able to quickly accommodate. Great neighborhood.. amazing stay!

Only problem was the loud and inconsiderate guests making noise in the hallway late at night and someone's child refusing to stop knocking on the wrong room door (mine).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
A belated Happy Birthday and thank you, for sharing it with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel during your stay in Chattanooga. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff and we are glad to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the views. We hope this will be the start of a new tradition and that every year you will spend your Birthday with us. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with local activities and specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Chattanoogan Hotel many times and it never fails to impress. The staff is polite and well trained. The grounds are always neat and pleasant. Rooms are comfortable and nicely sized.

We also like the spa and fitness area and on our most recent trip we sat outside in the sun in the area that surrounds the pool. The pool is small and indoors so it is not ideal for swimming laps, especially if there are a lot of kids in the pool.

The fitness area is small but adequate and there is a steam and sauna in the locker room area.

The food is usually quite good and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning. Only negative on this trip is the band that played in the lounge was quite loud and negated any possibility of conversation with old friends. We had to go up to the room to visit with our out of state friends. Drinks are a bit pricey but the bar area is nice (when the band is not too loud).

We like the fact that this property is far enough away from the many action along the river and the Aquarium where crowds can be oppressive. It is still convenient to take the free shuttle or an inexpensive taxi ride to the tourist attractions.

Overall, another pleasant stay and we will certainly stay there again when we travel to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your thoughtful review and high recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel means a great deal to us -- thank you for sharing your feedback! We are truly pleased you and your wife enjoyed everything about your recent visit, from the room views and helpful staff to breakfast in the Broad Street Grille and our location. Our goal is to provide all guest with a comfortable, restful place to relax. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced, we appreciate that you took the time to provide your impressions of the entertainment. We will share your comments with our team to ensure we continue to provide a relaxing atmosphere to our valued guests.It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back very soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is conveniently located in downtown Chattanooga. About a month ago we came just to use the spa. My wife and son's girlfriend got manicures and pedicures and the spa was relaxing. My son and I got day passes to the spa for $10 each which was a bargain. we used the pool, Jacuzzi, steam and sauna. Next time we went to Chat, my wife wanted to stay at the Chattanoogan so I went ahead and booked it. The room and bed were comfortable, service was good and we like the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to respond to our survey. Thank you for the great review and for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We were thrilled to be a place where you could relax and enjoy yourself. We hope your travels bring you back to Chattanooga and to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent a long weekend in Chattanooga with the kids. Nice hotel with the perfect accommodations for the family. Clean and friendly service. Indoor pool was a hit with the kids! Wish we could have been a little closer to downtown, but the shuttle makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful visit. We will share your comments with our team to ensure we continue to provide attentive service to our valued guests. It is our sincere hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Chattanoogan Hotel is a really nice hotel. My husband and I have stayed here many times over the past few years. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. They have a very nice spa and an indoor pool and fitness. You can catch the shuttle downtown about a block over from the hotel, which is really nice if you don't want to drive. On one visit it was raining, we decided to eat at the restaurant inside the hotel. The food was really good and the atmosphere was nice. Now when we visit The Broad Street Cafe is our first choice. They also have live music. Our last visit was for my birthday and we had a really nice time. I would definitely recommend The Chattanoogan Hotel, you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Belated Happy Birthday! Thank you, for the great comments about our facilities, our location and the friendliness of our staff. We appreciate the kind words about our hotel and the Broad Street Cafe. We know you have many options, and I am glad you continue to chose us. We are proud to have been able to help you enjoy our area. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We love staying at the Chattanoogan. Upscale accommodations...but not the huge price, and within walking distance to UTC's football stadium. Rooms are extremely nice and clean. The outdoor area is a great place to spend time with friends after the games.

Room Tip: If staying over the weekend, I would recommend third floor or above. If they have a band in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review and for making people aware of how close we are to Mocs football!! Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful visit. We look forward to seeing you throughout the football season and other times of the year too. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased. Please consider liking us on Facebook so that you can keep up with events and specials in Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.