We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly business class hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Save Saved
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersGold level
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly business class hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here recently for 5 days for a business trip for my husband. As others have posted, this is not the most convenient location to the main downtown area, near the river. It is walking distance though, and there is a free shuttle that will take you down and back. It's a lovely property. All the food we had there was very good. I used the exercise room every day, and it had plenty to do and was clean and well tended. There's a nice private place to sit outside just outside the spa and indoor pool area. The guest rooms were well appointed, large, and comfortable. The beds were not the most comfortable really, but not terrible either. Housekeeping, restaurant, front desk, all staff really, were exceptionally attentive and polite. That is the main thing we noticed about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do hope you return for a future visit and then you will find a new park across from our entrance with walking trails, sculptures and fitness options. Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback, we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    134
    64
    31
    24
See reviews for
124
153
17
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Not as close to downtown amenities as several other hotels but beautiful hotel and the lobby is out of this world. Hotel restaurants were nice and the bar had a great blues band playing. Spa was nice and very relaxing. Pool was nice too. Hotel room was pretty average. Shower did not drain well. Only real problem we had. Very nice classy hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The Foundry is a great spot to listen to music on the weekends and relax.
We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! My husband and I have only glowing things to say about the Chattanoogan--it was very upscale and chic, the staff was wonderful, the food in the restaurant was outstanding, our room was great and our bed was so comfortable. Sunday brunch was the best brunch I have ever had. What more could you want? We will definately come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your husband had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased.
We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son, husband and I stayed in this hotel while visiting a local school. The hotel is nice with all the traditional amenities. Like most downtown hotels parking and other items are not provided free. We experienced a very long fire drill or false alarm while visiting but that was the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that a fire alarm disrupted your stay.
We hope to see you again .

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste. Genevieve, mo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel mainly serves as a convention hotel. We stayed during a quiet time. The have a firepit in the courtyard for evening drinks. Very romantic The room was upscale and very comfortable. Valet service was in the back in a park setting. All valets were very helpful with directions and assistance. Oversize rocking chairs in the lobby make for a cozy feel. The breakfast buffet was excellent with made to order waffles, eggs, and omelets. Everything was fresh and the waiters kept juice and coffee filled. We plan to make this our go-to hotel when staying in Chattanooga. Its a free shuttle ride, 1 mile, from the Tennessee Aquarium and downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to be your Go-To hotel in Chattanooga. The area around our hotel is always changing and on your next visit you will find the new “Main Terrain” park directly across from the hotel. The new park features a walking path with haiku poems inspiring you along the walk, along with art throughout the park that doubles as fitness equipment. The park opens in January 2013 so come back to visit and see the new addition to our neighborhood.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Chattanoogan was an unexpected surprise. The facility is as good if not better than many so-called top of the line hotels I've stayed in in DC or NYC. Staff was extremely friendly. A maintenance man asked me in the elevator how my stay was, and stated "...just c'mon back..." anytime.

Room Tip: the room I stayed in was well appointed, and I didn't have the opportunity to see any others. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and write such a wonderful review. Our entire Chattanoogan team looks forward to when you “just c’mon back” for another visit!

Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our recent roadtrip from Miami FL to see the Indianapolis 500 brought us though Chattanooga, TN. With no reservations we pulled into The Chattanoogan. What a beautiful hotel. Great parking, great view of Lookout Mountain, and within walking distance of everything. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Lookout Mountain. This way you can avoid any traffic noise on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for making The Chattanoogan the place you stop on your road trip! I am sure you had a great time at the Indianapolis 500, that is a great vacation idea.
We look forward to your return visit.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
The Chattanoogan Hotel
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga
Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#8 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.