We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Save Saved
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast Starting at $1
Ranked #12 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersGold level
Dalton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! My husband and I have only glowing things to say about the Chattanoogan--it was very upscale and chic, the staff was wonderful, the food in the restaurant was outstanding, our room was great and our bed was so comfortable. Sunday brunch was the best brunch I have ever had. What more could you want? We will definately come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your husband had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased.
We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    156
    66
    34
    26
See reviews for
141
182
17
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son, husband and I stayed in this hotel while visiting a local school. The hotel is nice with all the traditional amenities. Like most downtown hotels parking and other items are not provided free. We experienced a very long fire drill or false alarm while visiting but that was the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that a fire alarm disrupted your stay.
We hope to see you again .

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste. Genevieve, mo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel mainly serves as a convention hotel. We stayed during a quiet time. The have a firepit in the courtyard for evening drinks. Very romantic The room was upscale and very comfortable. Valet service was in the back in a park setting. All valets were very helpful with directions and assistance. Oversize rocking chairs in the lobby make for a cozy feel. The breakfast buffet was excellent with made to order waffles, eggs, and omelets. Everything was fresh and the waiters kept juice and coffee filled. We plan to make this our go-to hotel when staying in Chattanooga. Its a free shuttle ride, 1 mile, from the Tennessee Aquarium and downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to be your Go-To hotel in Chattanooga. The area around our hotel is always changing and on your next visit you will find the new “Main Terrain” park directly across from the hotel. The new park features a walking path with haiku poems inspiring you along the walk, along with art throughout the park that doubles as fitness equipment. The park opens in January 2013 so come back to visit and see the new addition to our neighborhood.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Chattanoogan was an unexpected surprise. The facility is as good if not better than many so-called top of the line hotels I've stayed in in DC or NYC. Staff was extremely friendly. A maintenance man asked me in the elevator how my stay was, and stated "...just c'mon back..." anytime.

Room Tip: the room I stayed in was well appointed, and I didn't have the opportunity to see any others. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and write such a wonderful review. Our entire Chattanoogan team looks forward to when you “just c’mon back” for another visit!

Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our recent roadtrip from Miami FL to see the Indianapolis 500 brought us though Chattanooga, TN. With no reservations we pulled into The Chattanoogan. What a beautiful hotel. Great parking, great view of Lookout Mountain, and within walking distance of everything. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Lookout Mountain. This way you can avoid any traffic noise on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for making The Chattanoogan the place you stop on your road trip! I am sure you had a great time at the Indianapolis 500, that is a great vacation idea.
We look forward to your return visit.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked a king courtyard view room on hotels.com for romantic get-away with my husband. Received room with 2 double beds and parking lot view. Called desk to point out error and was advised that they were full and that hotels.com doesn't have access to their system and so shouldn't have guaranteed us a king bed room (there was not much concern displayed- we felt like we had done something wrong by booking thru a service.) Note to others- AVOID HOTELS.COM! The hotel won points back by sending us sweets to the room with vouchers for breakfast each day of our stay.
The hotel room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, but they were unremarkable and lacking in the typical amenities one would expect at a 4 diamond property. We were surprised to see a number of dogs in the hotel as we had been unaware that pets were welcome. The biggest negative was that service at the hotel and in the restaurant was lukewarm; my husband and I both commented that the hotel had the potential to be something special, but it seemed like everyone was just going through the motions. Breakfast was good (especially the omelets, and the omelet chef was the friendliest staffer we encountered during our stay.) However, there was a consistent extended wait to be seated (despite it being a buffet with numerous open tables). Again, it just seemed like with some training or staff motivation, it could be a really nice place.
The location was reasonably convenient (about a mile walk to the Aquarium and on a main road heading to downtown and to the mountain sights) and there was a convenient self-parking garage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of expectations, but please know that we are sharing all your comments with our Executive Committee so that we can better accommodate our guests in the future.
We hope that next time you're in the area; you'll let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a military bed + breakfast package which made this hotel more affordable for us. Our room was very spacious with a great view of the mountains and the bed was insanely comfortable. The room was also very clean and had plenty of amenities. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty. However, we paid for the Sunday brunch separately and were disappointed. The food was not terrible, just not the quality we thought it should be. The location of the hotel is wonderful....very close to downtown and the mountains...make use of the electric shuttle which you can pick up on Market Street...just a 2 minute walk from the hotel. This will save you money (otherwise the parking garage downtown can get pricey). The hotel itself charges $8 a day for parking in their garage which I think is unecessary. Overall though, this was a very nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of an absolutely gorgeous city. This was our first visit to Chattanooga, but it won't be our last!

Room Tip: City View on top floor was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Chattanoogan hotel for your first visit to Chattanooga! We love having our military and their families stay with us. Benchmark Hospitality International is a corporate partner of the USO dedicated to lifting the spirits of the troops and their families.

I am happy to hear you were able to explore the city by taking advantage of the free electric shuttle, we have a beautiful city and there is always something going on. Please consider “liking” us on facebook to find out about future events and specials.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your Sunday Brunch experience and I have shared your experience with our Food and Beverage Director as well.
Thank you
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.