We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast Starting at $1
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersGold level
Georgetown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Chattanoogan was an unexpected surprise. The facility is as good if not better than many so-called top of the line hotels I've stayed in in DC or NYC. Staff was extremely friendly. A maintenance man asked me in the elevator how my stay was, and stated "...just c'mon back..." anytime.

Room Tip: the room I stayed in was well appointed, and I didn't have the opportunity to see any others. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and write such a wonderful review. Our entire Chattanoogan team looks forward to when you “just c’mon back” for another visit!

Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    169
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
151
196
19
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our recent roadtrip from Miami FL to see the Indianapolis 500 brought us though Chattanooga, TN. With no reservations we pulled into The Chattanoogan. What a beautiful hotel. Great parking, great view of Lookout Mountain, and within walking distance of everything. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Lookout Mountain. This way you can avoid any traffic noise on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for making The Chattanoogan the place you stop on your road trip! I am sure you had a great time at the Indianapolis 500, that is a great vacation idea.
We look forward to your return visit.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked a king courtyard view room on hotels.com for romantic get-away with my husband. Received room with 2 double beds and parking lot view. Called desk to point out error and was advised that they were full and that hotels.com doesn't have access to their system and so shouldn't have guaranteed us a king bed room (there was not much concern displayed- we felt like we had done something wrong by booking thru a service.) Note to others- AVOID HOTELS.COM! The hotel won points back by sending us sweets to the room with vouchers for breakfast each day of our stay.
The hotel room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, but they were unremarkable and lacking in the typical amenities one would expect at a 4 diamond property. We were surprised to see a number of dogs in the hotel as we had been unaware that pets were welcome. The biggest negative was that service at the hotel and in the restaurant was lukewarm; my husband and I both commented that the hotel had the potential to be something special, but it seemed like everyone was just going through the motions. Breakfast was good (especially the omelets, and the omelet chef was the friendliest staffer we encountered during our stay.) However, there was a consistent extended wait to be seated (despite it being a buffet with numerous open tables). Again, it just seemed like with some training or staff motivation, it could be a really nice place.
The location was reasonably convenient (about a mile walk to the Aquarium and on a main road heading to downtown and to the mountain sights) and there was a convenient self-parking garage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of expectations, but please know that we are sharing all your comments with our Executive Committee so that we can better accommodate our guests in the future.
We hope that next time you're in the area; you'll let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a military bed + breakfast package which made this hotel more affordable for us. Our room was very spacious with a great view of the mountains and the bed was insanely comfortable. The room was also very clean and had plenty of amenities. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty. However, we paid for the Sunday brunch separately and were disappointed. The food was not terrible, just not the quality we thought it should be. The location of the hotel is wonderful....very close to downtown and the mountains...make use of the electric shuttle which you can pick up on Market Street...just a 2 minute walk from the hotel. This will save you money (otherwise the parking garage downtown can get pricey). The hotel itself charges $8 a day for parking in their garage which I think is unecessary. Overall though, this was a very nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of an absolutely gorgeous city. This was our first visit to Chattanooga, but it won't be our last!

Room Tip: City View on top floor was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Chattanoogan hotel for your first visit to Chattanooga! We love having our military and their families stay with us. Benchmark Hospitality International is a corporate partner of the USO dedicated to lifting the spirits of the troops and their families.

I am happy to hear you were able to explore the city by taking advantage of the free electric shuttle, we have a beautiful city and there is always something going on. Please consider “liking” us on facebook to find out about future events and specials.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your Sunday Brunch experience and I have shared your experience with our Food and Beverage Director as well.
Thank you
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have been married for less than a year. She recently graduated from graduate school, so we took our first vacation together during the long Labor Day weekend. We booked a King Deluxe room, but after waiting for about 20 minutes at the front desk we were informed that the room we had booked was unavailable. Instead we would have to settle for a room with two doubles. Needless to say, we were upset. Our idea of a long weekend getaway was not to recreate an "I love Lucy" episode. After asking for compensation for the inconvenience, the young lady working the front desk comped our breakfast for the weekend. Seemed like a nice gesture, but much to our dismay even that experience was unpleasant, as on both Saturday and Sunday we witnessed the wait staff argue and bicker in front of us. Certainly not a professional or pleasant experience. All that to say, after having read the negative Chattanoogan reviews on TripAdvisor and choosing to ignore them, we now regret our decision. There's a reason for poor reviews.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, however we truly regret to learn of the details of your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointments you experienced during your stay with us.
Once again, we appreciate the time and consideration you took to post your comments.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our daughter is getting married at this hotel in a few months, so we thought it would be nice to check it out ahead of time. The hotel is lovely. The room is a nice size, and the bed very comfortable. Ariel, who checked us in, was very professional, and extremely nice. I wish every hotel had personnel like her!!!! It's going to be a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are so happy you came to see the hotel before your daughter’s wedding. I am very lucky to work with a great team here at the hotel and when I shared your review with Ariel she had a big smile on her face!
We look forward to assisting you and your family during your next stay here. Please feel free to ask for me if there is anything we can do during your wedding weekend.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

In downtown Chatted for business. Great corporate rate. Very nice hotel within walking distance of all kinds of cool stuff. Nice rooms good service. I don't know what housekeeping does to the rooms when they come by, but the rooms smell wonderful! No old hotel smell, no deoderizer smell; they just smell clean. I've stayed in several of the places downtown and I will definitely stay here the next time in town. Parking is extra and not especially convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay. We have a great housekeeping team that prides itself on keeping the rooms and hotel clean.
Thanks for posting the pictures and we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.