We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
The Chattanoogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at The Chattanoogan for two nights. A very nice hotel and friendly staff from housekeeping to front desk. The young lady in the Gift Shop/Spa area was so sweet and knowledgeable about the products. We had a late breakfast and the omelets were made with farm fresh ingredients and were absolutely phenomenal!!! The Foundry was packed due to conference, but we received execellent service! Overall service of the hotel was execellent! The rooms were nice and clean. The hot water was hit and miss though. I think a refrigerator would be a nice standard addition to the rooms. Of note, you can request a refrigerator! We will definitely stay at The Chattanoogan again! Please be sure you have an omelet!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor very nice and quiet. The King Deluxe room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on Trip Advisor! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the omelets, they are my favorite as well. I will make our Director of Facilities aware of the water issue so we can look into it. For future stays I want you to know we currently have refrigerators installed on our 5th floor rooms and will be adding them to the other floors in the near future.
Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    207
    92
    38
    30
See reviews for
184
239
24
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The property itself is very nice - there's a fire pit outside, cute rocking chairs, the lobby is very nice, and the overall ambiance is modern and clean. On-site parking. All of the staff seemed very friendly as well.

The room was of average size and furnishings, very clean and I had no complaints except that there was no in-room fridge. Otherwise, the bathroom is also spacious and clean. Downstairs bar was fun too.

There really was no "wow" factor for the hotel, but I think we'd stay here again if we were in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We appreciate your recent review. When you visit Chattanooga again, we hope that you consider selecting us as your hotel of choice.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business and the first cool thing I notice upon arriving was the outdoor fireplace which was lit and folks sitting around it on a cool spring evening, the lobby is modern yet rustic with rocking chairs and the service was very friendly. The room was nice and clean, the only thing it didn't have was a small fridge other than that it was great. I had the breakfast buffet in the hotel and it was amazing with all fresh made items by a chef not frozen pancakes and runny eggs just great southern cuisine. This place is relatively close to the restaurants and shops near the river. The city is really clean with plenty of options to eat and explore. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We love that our guests enjoy the outdoor fire pit as well as our great lobby rocking chairs. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was expecting a lot more than I got given the price. The hotel was relatively clean but when I opened the curtains there were a couple of dead bugs and spiders on the window sill. The sink had some beard shavings still visible on it... the shower didn't work properly. Overall, it was an all right hotel very conveniently located downtown but I think next time I will choose something else.
One thing that struck me as odd was the fact that they have removed the chairs of the staff at the reception desk so these people had to stand up for hours and hours... I really disliked that, it is enough to keep me away from that hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for your concerns about the housekeeping in our rooms. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff. We hope that you will reconsider returning to our hotel in the future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice enough, but a few staff members I came across came off as very snooty. The rooms are nicely furnished, but appear worn. Very nice lobby and grounds.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We glad to hear you enjoyed our lobby and grounds. It is certainly not our goal to have staff members who appear to not offer excellent customer service. We have addressed your concerns with our staff. We hope you will again visit us.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I visited for an attorney's conference. The hotel itself is nice but the staff was the most rude staff I have ever seen at a hotel. Will never go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We apologize if our staff appeared to be rude. This is not our standard and we have reviewed your comments with staff members. We certainly hope that you will reconsider and return to The Chattanoogan.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights because of a relative's wedding. The hotel was ok, but not exceptional in any way. It lacked the usual Southern Hospitality. No one asked how our stay was, they didn't offer, Have a Nice Day, etc. No coffee in the lobby for early birds. Sunday buffet didn't open until 11 am, so it was a long wait.
Buffet was ok, but not work the $22.95. Coffee was very slow to come as were refills. When finished, there were dregs of coffee in the bottom of the cup. This was right after they opened, so it should have been fresh.
Many other hotels in the area and closer to downtown. I would look elsewhere if in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay, however I am sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We serve our regular Sunday breakfast from 6:30- 10:30am and Sunday Brunch from 11-2pm, be assured I have passed your comments along to our Food & Beverage Director so we can rectify the situation you had.
We do hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels ever bring you back to Chattanooga.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chattanoogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.