We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel
Save
You added The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel to your Saves list
29 Johnson Street, Southside neighborhood, Chattanooga, TN 37408   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Deal!
GreenLeadersGold level
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we were on a family trip and wanted to go to chattanoga tn,we were thinking of the mariott or the chattanogan,but decided to stay at the crash pad.The place was amazing,but the best part was the staff.When you walked in all the staff would greet you and show you around the place.They had a great lobby,buisnness center,libary,kitchen and gift shop,where we buyed some nice glasses.We got a privite room on the 1st floor and was not lucxiorias,but comfortable.The garden was also a breeze,with a great firepit.For everybody looking for a comfortable,clean,cheep,good hotel,i would recomand this place.Its also the most green hotel in the country.

Room Tip: Get a privite room so you sleep better and you dont heart people walking down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Crash Pad is not just a place to stay, it's an experience you want to have! The facilities are impressive, especially considering the reasonable price for a stay. The place is always clean and the entire operation is super green (LEED platinum certified). The Commons room includes an open kitchen with coffee makers and cooking gear, a "living room" with sitting spaces and access to a library aimed at outdoor pursuits and other local attractions, and there are a couple of high-quality computer workstations that guests are welcome to use. There are also outlets for your laptop, and an open wifi network that actually works!

The thing that makes the place so amazing, though, is the staff. These guys are on their A game at all times. They get to know their guests and make everyone feel welcome as soon as they step into The Crash Pad. The guided tours of the bunk rooms (kept quiet during sleepy times), gear rooms (big enough to store boats and bikes) and wash rooms (shared, but with plenty of privacy) give guests the confidence they need to make themselves at home, but the guys are there when guests have questions or leave their pass cards (security keys) in the back rooms.

If you're planning a trip to or through Chattanooga, The Crash Pad is your best bet for base camp. Breakfast is served bright and early, and the coffee is on tap all day. There is even a selection of local beers available in the Commons for an enjoyable evening after a day of adventure on the rocks or around town. AND! The Flying Squirrel, a new neighborhood bar owned and operated by the same folks who created The Crash Pad, is set to launch in the summer of 2013 just across the patio.

Room Tip: Ask for a top bunk to take a trip back to your childhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We always stop in Chattanoga on our trips from WI to Fl. Loved the city and was excited to check out the Crash Pad. Due to a delay in traveling didn't get in until midnight but the staff was accommodating and told me to give them a call when I arrived. They got us checked in and to our room, no problems. The design and layout is very well thought out and extremely clean. Unfortunately, had to leave the next morning so didn't get to hangout long. Will make sure to schedule a couple of nights next time we are passing through.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in- definitely the best nights sleep I've had in a hostel.
Spotlessly clean, really well thought out & individual design, fantastic amenities, great location, really friendly staff, tasty breakfast and just a cool place to be.
Only tiny thing is that you cook your own breakfast and it's quite a small kitchen area so if its busy you might have to wait a while which isn't great if you're in a hurry. Amazing coffee eggs and toast totally make up for it though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The Crash Pad has changed the way I travel. The employees had some of the best customer relation skills and were also great representation of the "new" Chattanooga. Great value. Super relaxed feel. Great location. What more could you want?

I was traveling with friends on a mountain bike trip but will be returning with my wife.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My brother and I were in Chattanooga for an extended stay looking at real estate, and stayed primarily in The Crash Pad. What a GREAT choice that ended up being. Both the rooms and bunks are well appointed and comfortable, and everything is immaculately clean. The whole hostel is well thought out, and you feel that when you're staying there.

The hostel is staffed by some really great guys. Dan, Jon, Al and Compton were all really knowledgeable and friendly, just solid people really. Our trip benefited from their help and advice tremendously.

The common areas are also really enjoyable. Everything is well designed for a clean and enjoyable guest experience. Blazing fast wifi? Check. Kitchen you would actually want to use? Check. Cool outdoor hangout space? Check. Walking proximity to dozens of cool restaurants, bars and businesses? Check!

In short, you could probably spend an arm and a leg to stay at a really swank hotel for your Chattanooga trip, and your experience would be hard pressed to match the Crash Pad. This is a great choice for anyone passing through town who wants to be right in the heart of the action, to stay in a super clean and modern space, or who wants access to some friendly and good advice about the city and surrounding attractions. Stay there, and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The "bunks" are really incredible, you can't go wrong, but try to be at the rear of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night in the private room. The room was plain but very clean. A concrete floor, a bed with linens to be put on, a bedside table, a sink, and a few hooks on the wall. The bathrooms were very clean, only hand soap and towels provided. The staff is very friendly and inquisitive. The atmosphere in the kitchen/computer area is very social and guests hang out with one another in this area and assumedly in the courtyard outside in the warmer months. Definitely stay here if you like to talk and meet new people or if you are into green architecture. I would not recommend this place for couples looking for romance, families with children, or those looking to be pampered. Also don't forget to take soap, shampoo and flip flops for the shower!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel

Address: 29 Johnson Street, Southside neighborhood, Chattanooga, TN 37408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.