We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but BYO Airfreshener” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Weekends
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but BYO Airfreshener”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me start off by saying this hotel had a very friendly staff, fresh-baked cookies ready, and most importantly, a clean room with a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, the two rooms that we tried had a really strong odor to them- almost a mildewy smell. When we first arrived and walked in our room, my husband and I both immediately noticed a foul smell and called the front desk. They were nice enough to meet us at our room and give us a key to a different room (on a different floor), but as soon as we walked in, we were knocked back by the same smell. Another couple in the hallway even stopped to comment how they switched rooms because they were over the pool and their room had a strong chlorine smell. Maybe that was the mystery odor?? At that point we didn't feel like asking for another room again, so we just settled in and eventually got used to it.

Overall, not a bad experience, but the odor didn't exactly lend itself to a romantic atmosphere for our anniversary get-a-way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you mentioned our friendly staff. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    123
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
186
125
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Chattanooga. The location was excellent within walking distance of all downtown attractions and dining places. The hotel was very clean and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. When asking at the desk where to go for dinner, the young man gave us his favorite places and pulled out discount coupons for several restaurants. We enjoyed the visit to Chattanooga and would stay at the Garden Inn again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! Everything that you have stated is absolutely correct. Whenever you decide to head back to our area please give us a call or visit the front desk and we'll give you some great ideas for restaurants and other attractions in the area. Thanks again for your support and we sure hope to see you again sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good news is it has a wonderful breakfast, a very cordial staff, and a nice location. Not so good was an uncomfortable mattress, tiny, lumpy pillows, and loud drunks i the halls at 1 AM. The hotel did adjust our bill due to the reported noise the next morning. Given all that, one might stay there, but one would pay too much for what he or she got.

Room Tip: Get as far from the street as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. I invite you to contact our Guest Service Manager who would more than happy to help make the situation right. Thank you again. and sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We frequent Hilton Garden Inn and this one did not disappoint! This was our 2nd stay at this one and we will be back. The location can't be beat--walking distance to many restaurants and bars, the river-front, and the aquarium. We arrived around 4 pm and our room was not ready. Because of the delay, we were given a free upgrade, free sodas and cookies during the wait, breakfast buffet vouchers, and every time we walked through the lobby, the staff seemed to be going out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay. As for the breakfast buffet, it was terrific! Like another traveler pointed out, the small pillows were a little weird and uncomfortable, but definitely not worth a less-than-excellent rating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I would first like to say how sorry we are that we were not able to have the room ready by four. However, you cannot beat an upgrade. I would like to thank you for being so understanding! I would also like to say how happy I am to hear that the staff was accommodating and was able to improve your stay. I would hope to see ya’ll return to the property and I promise your next stay we will change the pillows with our micro puff pillows, they seem to be more comfortable. I am very pleased you had a great time in Chattanooga. If there are any more recommendations or anything we could have done better please feel free to call or email me. Have a great rest of the week. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Clean rooms, indoor pool/hot tub, yummy breakfast buffet, staff couldn't have been nicer (loved PJ!)! Walk to downtown attractions easily. Chattanooga was a fun family weekend getaway and this hotel was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your comments. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests. PJ is a valued part of the team. He was very happy to hear he was able to improve your stay. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from spending the weekend in Chattanooga. The Hilton Garden Inn is a great hotel, and our experience was mostly positive, but there were a few missteps.

Pros:
-Location - seriously the location of this property can't be beat. Walking distance to the Aquarium, plenty of restaurants, and the awesome free downtown shuttle. Also, convenient to Lookout Mountain attractions.
-Cleanliness - our room was so clean I felt like I could eat off of the bathroom floor. I was shocked at how clean the shower was. Awesome.
-Great service - the front desk staff here is top notch. Ben M. in particular made our stay much easier by getting us a cab, and everyone was friendly and helpful. They also didn't laugh at us when we wandered downstairs, shoeless and in our pajamas, late on Friday night to raid the on-site concessions (frozen pizza and beer?! awesome!).
-There was soy milk in the breakfast buffet! THANK THE LORD.

Cons:
-Breakfast - a lot of people are raving about the breakfast but I wasn't impressed. Our OJ tasted very odd and I actually spit out of piece of cantaloupe it was so foul. For the record, we didn't complain to the very friendly staff because we were in a hurry. The fiancee enjoyed his eggs and waffles.
-Pillows - the pillows were very odd and a small square shape instead of regular rectangular pillows. Seems like a silly thing to complain about but we were uncomfortable.
-Price - we got a very good deal using Priceline's bidding feature but if I had paid full price for this room I would have been disappointed. For what we paid, the value was incredible.

All in all, a great property. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you mentioned our friendly staff. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in Chattanooga, and fell in love with this Hilton Garden Inn. We often stay at the Hamilton Place HGI-and have always enjoyed being there. But since my sister was in ICU at Erlanger, we felt we needed to be close to the hospital, so we chose the downtown Hilton GI. We were so glad we did! Everyone was so friendly. When the front desk clerks found out that we were there because my sister was in Erlanger, we were given a special hospital rate. We still had to pay for parking and breakfast, but we appreciated the discount room rate. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning. The blueberry and pecan pancakes were the best I've ever had! The biscuits and gravy, along with the eggs and bacon-were delicious! The service at breakfast could not have been better. Kudos to Joseph and Candie-the wonderful breakfast hosts! The front desk clerks were also so friendly and very helpful. Several staff members knew my sister was critical, and asked us each day how she was doing. We even received a gift tray with drinks and snacks and a note from a sweet housekeekper named Janice. This Hilton Garden Inn really made us feel at home. We loved being downtown. We enjoyed all the great restaurants, within walking distance. Getting out and walking around the river was a great break from the hospital routine. (not to mention the relaxing hot tub!)
Hilton Garden Inn- thank you so much for all you did for us! We'll be back next weekend. (and already have our room booked with you!)

Room Tip: At fiirst we had a room in front on the 2nd level with a view of the roof and air conditoners, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel and our staff. It is our goal to serve our guests to the best of our ability. Janice, Candi, and Joseph are wonderful inspirations to the entire staff! We are excited to see you again this weekend. All the best, Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.