We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGI has grown up...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Weekends
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“HGI has grown up...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Have not stayed at an HGI in years. Wow this was a nice property. Great location downtown. Lots of restaurants around. Blue Water is great. Oh the sea bass. Ok back to the HGI. Well the place rocks a great breakfast buffet. Lots of protein options that are served warm and tasty. The gym has cardio and free weights. Not big but stocked enough to keep you active. Customer service was great. Staff was helpful.

Room was large and clean. Bathroom did not show signs of prior guests or the maid. Nice. Bed was interesting. I had a room with an adjustable bed. I did not read the placard before slept. Wish I had. A little firm but slept well. Reading is fundamental.

Very nice hotel. If back in Chattanooga will stay here a again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hilton Garden Inn-Chattanooga Downtown appreciates you kind words about our city, location, hotel, and brand. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    123
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
186
125
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ansbach, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my family's first trip to Chattanooga and I must say that I was impressed by this hotel and the city in general. The hotel is just a short walk from the Aquarium and the river. The breakfast buffet was a great value. The made to order omelets were excellent. Very friendly staff. I was a little concerned before I got there that parking would be an issue but they have a parking lot right across the street from the lobby. It cost $8 per night but they give you a pass for your vehicle so you can come and go as you please for no extra cost.
The only reason I did not rate the hotel an excellent is because we did not have a chance to try the pool and the other facilities. I really wanted to have a beer and hang out on the deck on the Chestnut Street but I didn't have time. Maybe next trip.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the roof of what appeared to be the bar/breakfast area on the Chestnut Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Customer service was EXCELLENT! Room had a slight odor, but was very clean. Parking was across the street and not secure. I (a woman) was traveling alone with my two small kids and arrived past midnight so that concerned me, but overall I was very pleased...especially with the pleasant customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Couldn't ask for a better location in Downtown Chattanooga--next door to Discovery Center and the Chattanooga Lookouts stadium. Movie Theater and Free Shuttle Bus across the street. Aquarium just a few blocks away. Nice hotel, with large, well-appointed rooms. Not everything was perfect--the AC unit in our room was noisier than usual. Was surprised to see some mold in shower--cleaning staff needed to be more attentive. No complimentary breakfast, but the buffet included everything from omelets to waffles and was only $10 per person. Parking was extra too. Lobby Bar with seating inside and outside that was very relaxing. Hotel staff was extraordinarily friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a great hotel, right next door to the Discovery Center and a quick walk to the Aquarium. We opted for the included breakfast buffet, if it hadn't been included in a package I would have been upset. It is so close to everything you won't need to drive to most downtown attactions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

7/17/12: This is the first time I stayed at this HGI location in Chattanooga, usually stay at the one at Hamilton Place. While the price is a little steep, the location is perfect walking distance to everything in downtown Chattanooga. Parking back behind the HGI is $8 plus tax per night, which they bill to your room. Great places to eat nearby and attractions. The service was first class from check-in to the breakfast wait staff. This HGI does not serve dinner on-site; however, great restaurants nearby. The breakfast is wonderful, cook to order, and pleasant, smiling staff. Fitness room is adequately equiped and nice indoor pool. The business center has a color printer, no charge. Thus, I was able to get some items printed for work. This is the first HGI I've stayed that had a color printer, very nice for business travelers. It was nice to enjoy the evening by walking to a restuarant, then stroll by the river in the summer weather. Plan to return next time in town on business and will stay here with family to enjoy the nearby sites downtown...baseball stadium, TN Aquarium, Discovery Center and the river.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side, facing into downtown, would probably be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good room... I wanted to watch the 2012 Home Run Derby on ESPN HD. The guide in the room said it was available. I tuned to the channel and it said the channel was not authorized. I then remembered I was in a typical hotel with an HD tv and an SD channel feed. I remembered why I usually do not turn on the tv when I stay in hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.