We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family or business trip...nothing fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Grayson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for family or business trip...nothing fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I spent two nights here for work, as part of a group that was meeting in the hotel. This hotel definitely has location, location, location going for it. It's right across the street from the Aquarium, the IMAX, and the Children's Museum. There are tons of restaurants of all types within an easy walking distance. The pedestrian bridge that takes you to the North Shore district is an easy walk. Chattanooga is a very pedestrian-friendly city and if you're just seeing the sights of the downtown core, you probably don't need your car once you get there. The downtown bus also stops right outside the hotel. The parking deck is right next to the hotel.

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and very easy to work with. They went out of their way to be helpful and ensure it was a good trip for us.

The lobby and bar area has recently been renovated and is definitely nice and very modern. One of the best features is the outdoor patio with a large fire pit. There is lots of comfortable seating out there and it's a great spot to get some fresh air.

There are a few downsides to the hotel and they are the reason I didn't rate it higher. The first is the rooms. While the lobby is very modern looking, the rooms have obviously not been updated. There's really nothing wrong with them, but you feel like you're in a cheap, older hotel when you're in them. I've stayed in other downtown Courtyard by Marriott hotels and their rooms were much nicer and more modern feeling (Greenville, SC has a very nice hotel by comparison). With that being said, the rooms were clean and other people probably wouldn't be bothered by this at all.

The biggest downside for me was the location of my room, which faced the outdoor patio. Across the patio from the hotel is a bar and it was extremely noisy late at night. So loud, I thought it was coming from the room next to me. I was there on a Thursday and Friday night so this may not be as much of an issue on weekdays.

The final downside was the food. We had a lot of food catered by the hotel for our meetings and none of it was very good. A lot of it didn't taste fresh (stale bread, etc.) and my group members made several complaints about the food on their evaluations of our meeting. The food in the Bistro was mediocre. I had a scone one morning that, like everything else, tasted stale. The staff in the Bistro was very good though - very prompt and friendly. The plus is that there are so many restaurants close to this hotel, you really don't need to eat their food.

Would I stay here again?? Maybe. I would definitely request a room in a different part of the hotel if I did and I would go to the restaurants for all my meals. Personally, my favorite way to stay in Chattanooga is renting one of the bungalows in the North Shore, which you can reserve through the vacation rental websites.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the outdoor patio...I think this would be the east side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
60
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here on business but is a wonderful spot for fun as well. Pleny of places to eat nearby - plus lots to do. Bistro was great for a drink at the end of the workday or before going to bed! Breakfast was not the best. Price was too high for a pre-made microwaved breakfast sandwich. The entire staff was great, friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Located in the heart of Chattanooga near the aquarium, restaurants and bars. Clean, remodeled hotel rooms with good attention to the customer

Room Tip: higer floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent the Christmas weekend in Chattanooga at the Marriott Courtyard downtown, and can only say good things about this property. The staff was more than welcoming and attentive to our needs, the rooms were clean and cheerful, and the location is perfect. Once we parked our car, all we needed was within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to take advantage of Chattanooga's downtown attractions like the Aquarium, the IMAX theater, and the fun restaurants in the area. We had a suite, which was reasonably priced for the holiday, and a little more "home like" than just a standard room. We will definitely stay here again on our next Chattanooga visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

The location is perfect, the staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean but older. I am a frequent traveler and this is also a good location for a "temporary resident" due to the abundance of restaurants and entertainment. Overall, very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed at the Chattanooga Courtyard, during the first week of November 2011, while on business travel. The hotel is all that you'd expect from Marriott's Courtyard family - clean, friendly and helpful staff and free wired internet within rooms. These are "musts" for me and this hotel didn't disappoint. The location of this property is ideal as it is within walking distance to plenty of restaurants on Broad and Market streets. The Tennessee Aquarium is across the street, and if enjoy a walk or run, the Tennessee Riverwalk is a wonderful paved path which runs for miles along the Tennessee River. As with Courtyard properties, there is no full service restaurant on site, although the Bistro Cafe serves a limited breakfast menu. This was sufficient for my 3 day stay. If I am ever in Chattanooga again, I will be certain to stay at this Courtyard hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Great customer service !! Clean- comfy and relaxing!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 200 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott
Chattanooga Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chattanooga Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.