We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Family-Friendly, "Home"-base in Chattanooga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 N. Smith St., Chattanooga, TN 37412   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Family-Friendly, "Home"-base in Chattanooga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

From what we could tell, this was going to be a nice place to stay at. I felt the reviews were very promising and this establishment was very good at handling us, even though we didn't give much advance notice and, as we would find out, there was a HUGE cheerleading competition in town and there was a serious run on hotel rooms.

Nonetheless, our hotel room was clean, they let us check in a little bit early with no hassle, breakfast was HOT (so rare at a hotel even like this anymore), everything in the room worked great, and it was pleasant to have an indoor pool on the premises. Additionally, the location was pretty good. We'd never been to Chattanooga before and it was quite convenient to be right by the interstate, it also made it easy for us to remember where the hotel was. I also really must say their staff was quite excellent, very friendly and quite helpful.

The only thing I would've had differently is a mute button on all of those excited teenage girls that were staying at the hotel with their folks, but that's not something that the hotel had any control over, so they don't lose any points in my book for that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
72
41
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My overall experience was good, however there were a few minor details that made my stay less than perfect. The front desk staff was very friendly and speedy. I was told about any and all promotions and discounts, and was put in a very nice room. However, this room could have been a little more well prepared. First off, however left the room after cleaning it had the head set to full blast. I kid you not, it had to have been 90 degrees in the room! Needless to say, it was in the low 20's that night, but this was a little rediculous! It took all of the night to get the room cooled down to a reasonible level. I was going to open the window to let some fresh cool air in, however did not want to as there was NO form of safety to keep someone from falling out of my third story room! Other minor things were the kitchenette area furniture needed some attention as the fake wood trim was falling off the cabinet doors (no doubt probably from the extreme heat over time...). I noticed one red stain on the carpet by the table, and some cracks in the ceiling (looked to be from tape lines). Breakfast was good and hot, and checkout was a breeze. Like I said, not a 100% perfect stay, but surficed as a good location for us to stop and rest during our trip home to MO.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn on our way back home from a Florida winter vacation. It was a very nice stay. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. It had a refrigerator. The hotel was quiet, and they had large comfy beds with plush pillows, which made for a good night sleep.

They did not have a jacuzzi, but the pool was large and the water was kept very warm. The fitness room was open 24 hours, they really know how to accommodate their guests!

The breakfast was really nice, they have a lot of variety but everyone seemed to like their signature cinnamon rolls. Good thing they had a lot of all the foods. They did not rush their customers. The breakfast was supposed to be over at 9, but since people were still coming in they left everything up and were still stocking the breakfast bar when I left a little after 9. They were customer oriented.

Since this is a Holiday Inn Express, they do not have a restaurant on the premises. We arrived in the early evening and needed to get dinner for the family, but the lack of a restaurant was not a problem at all. There were many different restaurants surrounding this hotel, so the kids had their choice of foods. Overall, it was a very nice hotel; a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Mich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The service upon check in was efficient. The staff member was friendly. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. The building is well maintained. The location is convenient as it is right off of I 75. The only suggestion I have is that the billboard sign is too close to the exit. I was in the far left lane and had to cut across all lanes of traffic to exit. The vending machines were well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Music City, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is one of the cleaniest hotels I have ever stayed in. I am normally a fan of Hampton Inns (still am) but this hotel not only had all the amenities, but it was very very clean. From the entrance, the dining area for breakfast, to the hallways and rooms, this hotel is well-maintained and the staff is very friendly. There is no doubt I will return to this hotel when I need to stay in Chattanooga.
East Ridge is not one of the better cities around Chattanooga, but this hotel is so close to downtown Chattanooga it is worth the extra ten minute drive from downtown.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The desk staff very cordial and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was nice and hot. We had bacon, sausage,biscuits and gravy, egg and cheese omelets (that were not bad for microwave),fresh fruit, cereals,oatmeal,and donuts, bagels and toast. Nice variety, For an overnight stay, it was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We slept in room 315. It was clean, nice to have the micro and fridge. Everyone was nice. The lady at the breakfast bar was so friendly and was the hardest working person I ever seen at a hotel breakfast. Nothing was aloud to run empty. Plenty of everything. I do agree the only think missing is Hot Chocolate. Could be an easy fix.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 1441 N. Smith St., Chattanooga, TN 37412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chattanooga offers the best in service and Southern Hospitality, with convenient access off the Interstate 75 at Exit # 1. You are just minutes away from Chattanooga's business and industrial area and centrally located for a visit to area attractions and shopping including Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Incline Railway, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, Imax Theater, Chattanooga Choo Choo, Lake Winnepesaukah Amusement Park, Hamilton Place Mall and Warehouse Row Outlet Mall. Enjoy the complimentary Deluxe Express Start continental breakfast bar in our spacious Great Room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. All our rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access, or use our 24-hour business center to stay caught up on your work while on the road. Also, local calls are free to all guests. Trying to relax? Enjoy our year round indoor heated pool. If it's a good workout that you are looking for, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For that special occasion we also offer hot tub suites. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Ridge looks forward to your next visit to our area. Make the smart choice, Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in East Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.