We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boccaccia

Boccaccia
3077 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN
(423) 266-2930 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 707 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Small and Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Very small so make reservations. Food is great but prices are very high.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, but service is lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We love the food. The orreccetti (sp?) is the best pasta I have had anywhere in town. The sauce that is served with the calamari is amazing, too. The only problem with Boccaccia is the service is poor at times. Once we had a reservation, and at the same time we arrived, another group of 3 women showed up WITHOUT a reservation and begged their way into a table. They were served BEFORE US! They had drinks and turned in food orders before anyone even came to our table. We almost left but I wanted that pasta so bad that we decided to stay. We had to ask the hostess to please send someone to our table. After that, the service was better on that trip. Sadly that experience was better than the service on our first trip. I love the food so much that I will give it another try.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent - perfect steak, delicious pasta, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I recently returned here for our 2nd visit this past weekend. On our first trip I had the New Zealand Lamb chops, but this time I decided to try the Filetto ai tre pepi...filet with three peppercorns sauce and asparagus. My wife tried the Cappellini del Sud: cappellini pasta with roasted artichokes, sun dried tomatoes and capers in a white wine sauce with fresh herbs.

Both were absolutely excellent. My steak was cooked to absolute perfection. We eat at a lot of steak houses that for some reason or another cannot cook their steaks properly, but this Italian restaurant sure does. The sides of asparagus and potatoes were excellent too, I was sad when I had finished my last bite.

Watching plate after plate of the best-looking lasagna come out to the other tables made sure we will return to try it, as it looks amazing. The atmosphere at this small restaurant is warm and cozy, and while it was loud and lively on this Saturday night it did not detract from our experience.

We will definitely return, and if you haven't tried this hidden gem yet be sure to do so soon! Thanks Boccaccia for a great experience, it's so nice to feel you've received value for your money.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I had obligations downtown Chattanooga and it was my wife's birthday. She works close to the restaurant and so we opted to give it a try. This was probably one of the best Italian meals we had both had. When you put a bite in your mouth you knew it was delicious. service was great. The other good part about the evening was the fact that on your birthday you receive a "free" entree and dessert. That made it even better.
I would highly recommend this restaurant if you really want Italian.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The highlight of my weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I went to Boccaccia with some friends to just relax, but also to have some of the best offered in Chattanooga. I was not disappointed in any respect! Everything from the bread to the dessert far surpassed my expectations. Something as simple as Ceasar Salad ... was the best I have had in such a long while. I had the salmon - perfection - absolute perfection! The accompanying veggies could not have been any better. My one and only difficulty was the noise level - there is no sound dampening at all - so I loudly overheard conversations three tables over.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boccaccia also viewed

 

Been to Boccaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boccaccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.