We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to the business or casual traveler. Great location, very secure parking, good breakfast, and easy in and out access to hotel. I rate it a 10 as compared to other Hampton Inns I have stayed in across the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are so appreciative of your comments, and more importantly, your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites. Thanks again for choosing us and for sharing your positive feedback . . . we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    123
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
217
126
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay - I would recommend it to anyone. Decor is terrific, everything is extremely clean, staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable about the area. Ambiance is wonderful and there's lots to do right in the immediate area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rave about our hotel and staff. We are definitely unique and like no other Hampton Inn. We are always so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations. Please do visit us when returning to the area so you can experience our Hamptonality service with a smile and friendly staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My fiance' and myself stayed at the Chattanooga location on a "spur of the moment" trip. The location was close to all the major attractions the city had to offer. I was very surprised by the quality of the room as well by all the amenities that the hotel had to offer for the relatively low price. At other hotels in the past, I have paid more for way less. The staff was extremely friendly and let us check in early. Check out was a breeze as well. The breakfast was well above average for a chain type hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding our your hotel experience and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

They have a saltwater pool!!! What an awesome hotel ~ we loved it! Clean and great customer service! Across the street from the Chidren's Discovery Museum and two blocks from the Aquarium ~ also 1 mile from Whole Foods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review. Our saltwater pook is one of many "green" features that are environmentally friendly. We are the first Silver LEED certified hotel in Chattanooga and we do our best to sustain the environment and provide green options to our guests. Thanks again for choosing us and please do visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a trip to visit the Tennessee Aquarium. It's only about three blocks from the Aquarium, which is a pleasant walk.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. They offered advice about local restaurants, and even rushed to press the elevator button for us at times when our hands were full.
The room was large and very clean. Our only issue was that we were there for three nights, but only the first night were we supplied with enough washcloths. We had three people staying in our room, but the second night, we only had two washcloths. A visit to the front desk, and that was quickly remedied. On the third night, we only had two washcloths again, and at that point we gave up and used a hand towel as a washcloth for our son. This has been the case with every hotel of every type I have been in for two years, however. If I could find a hotel that could match the linen count to the guest count, I'd be a loyal customer forever.
Okay, on to other things... the coffee each morning was very good. The free breakfast has many options, such as make-your-own waffles, pastries, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, etc. All of it was fresh, good, and well-supplied.
The pool area was kept nice and clean. There's a great courtyard area with a fireplace. All the public areas were spotless.
Our room was huge, and the beds were actually quite comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean. If the maid staff would leave ample bath linens, this hotel would be perfect. We'll definitely stay here on all our future trips to Chattanooga!

Room Tip: The corner suites are enormous and have balconies with a great view of the city. The splurge is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding our your hotel experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your hotel experience. I am sorry to hear you did not receive enough guest supplies throughout your stay. We are happy to provide extra towels and supplies upon request, especially for large parties. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The young lady at the front desk when I checked in was by far one of the kindest most helpful people I have ever dealt with in any hotel anywhere, she was top-notch and one of the main reasons we would return. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful. Very clean all the time. The breakfast was well presented with a good, tasty variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding our your hotel experience, specifically our Guest Service Representative who helped you upon arrival. We love our team as they go out of their way to please our guests at every opportunity. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your hotel experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got to the hotel late as we had a rather late dinner and when we went to check in there was no parking available the front desk let us take one of the 10 minute registration spots with no charge. Check in was smooth and easy and when we arrived to the room it was beautiful! We had a perfect view and it was so clean. Breakfast the next morning was free (which I am a huge fan of) but also it was delicious. Can't say enough nice things about this gem of hotel. Will gladly go back if ever we are in Chattanooga again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in room 518 and the sunrise was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rave about our hotel, especially the beautiful memory of the morning sunrise from your room location. It is great to hear how happy you felt as a result of the wonderful service you experienced. We are appreciative of your comments and we hope you will return to Chattanooga in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Address: 400 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.