We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reflection Riding Arboretum & Nature Center

Reflection Riding Arboretum & Nature Center
400 Garden Road, Chattanooga, TN 37403
423-821-1160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 137 things to do in Chattanooga
Attraction details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The reflection riding and the trails were all beautiful, and I loved the signs along the riding with the war history in the area. It's a lengthy drive that's worth the $10.
The tree house is really neat, and canoe rentals are affordable. The wildlife trail made me kind of sad at first, because I felt like the cages were small for the animals until I learned that all the animals had either been injured or habituated to humans and couldn't go back in the wild (quoting from a sign!) so it made me feel better that it wasn't just another sad zoo. I liked the variety of animals; they're not the kind you see every day, at least close up!
The Chattanoog Visitor's Bureau website has coupons for buy one adult admission get one free, so we were able to pay $10 instead of $20 which was great. The only reason it's not 5 stars was because at some points it felt like something I could see any day for free and it got a little boring, but for the most part I enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corryton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ok visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband, 2 kids, and I visited during our day trip to Chattanooga. I expected more for the price. (Luckily the kids got in free). It was really pretty I just didn't feel that it was worth $20 for my husband and I.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In the woods near the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great morning's outing with grandchildren (9, 7, 3). A little display room...trails to walk...a few bird/animal exhibits. Saw wild turkeys on the drive -- bet scenery is extra pretty in the spring or fall. Staff was very friendly. Would be nice to have more programs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a little side trip that we did after coming off of Lookout Mountain. Some of the nature trails were closed because of the recent rains and they were under water. But, we were able to take the driving path and enjoy some of the flowering plants and trees and see some of the flooding. We also saw a 4 foot Pine snake crossing the road and a wild turkey as we were getting back to the visitors center.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Based upon the web site we were anticipating an interesting arboretum. Well, that is not quite the case. An interesting drive around the property; we stopped at the Pavillion for a bite to eat and tried to find a trail head to walk. The map shows several trails with distances clearly noted, but there is no signage in the attraction. We were also a bit surprised to find that the toilets by the Pavillion are only unlocked when the site is rented out. Otherwise, the only toilet facility is at the entrance station. The trails are not well maintained - it simply appears that the nonprofit running this place does not have the funds to maintain the rather large property.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reflection Riding Arboretum & Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Reflection Riding Arboretum & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reflection Riding Arboretum & Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.