We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Visiting Again and Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe

Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe
501 Cherokee Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37405-3814
423-752-5224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 661 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting Again and Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a vegetarian and a non-vegetarian in our party, and both were equally impressed with the food here - unique, tasty, healthy, and filling. There are tons of options on the menu, and we'll definitely be back to try more of them. Bonus points to Sluggo's North for providing silverware and non-disposable cups and plates!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, and I'm Not Vegan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was very hesitant, but I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. I had the "club" sandwich... each of the 'meat substitutes' were made in-house, and I loved it! The beer selection was also excellent... Definitely worth a visit - don't be scared!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Yummy Vegetarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great vegetarian food...even meat-eaters would enjoy the many options.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pretty great vegan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I'm not a vegetarian, but I am a foodie and will try just about anything. I eat here occasionally for lunch. The potstickers are quite delicious, and the Thai chili bowl is pretty good too. If you're vegan, it's probably amazing. I just thought it would be a little better with some chicken :) but everything seems fresh and tastes good, I'd recommend it. I'm sure vegetarians and vegans would most appreciate sluggos, but adventurous omnivores can as well.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Having travelled around USA for almost two weeks the family were getting really fed up of eating fries and baked potatoes (I eat meat so I love the food in USA, but the rest of the family are veg) so I came across this vegetarian restaurant in Chattanooga that I thought we'd try out, having checked out tripadvisor first. It's about a half mile from Coolidge park so conveniently located for us.

When we arrived outside the restaurant it looked more like an office building and the name - "Sluggo's" - just seems a bit weird for a vegetarian place. The family looked dismayed. There was trash piled up at the side of the building and it seemed like this place was going to disappoint.

I needn't have worried. This place is a gem. There is an extensive menu of all kinds of vegetarian delights. I started with some spicy wings served with a yoghurt dip and crunchy veg followed by a spinach, houmous and red pepper wrap. The children loved the chilli - not part of the official childrens menu but they provided us with extra bowls to share it out. My wife had a curry bowl and loved it.

I liked the fact that you take your order to the counter and pay in advance - no messing about after you've eaten, trying to get the bill, you can just relax. The staff were friendly and offered us a little taster pot of the chilli so that we could check it wasn't too hot for the children first.

I'm looking forward to going back here to try out the rest of the menu!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sluggo's North Vegetarian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.