We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise

Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise
201 Riverfront Parkway Pier 2, Chattanooga, TN 37402
423-266-4488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 activities in Chattanooga
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to the pride of the South and the best Chattanooga attraction! Join us for a great cruise along the scenic Tennessee River while enjoying one of our fabulous dinner, lunch or sightseeing cruises. We are perfect for private parties, reunions, receptions, company picnics, or meetings and our dockside “Pier 2” space offers both a Grand Chandelier Deck and the Texas Room for a more casual setting. Let our professional crew make your experience spectacular!
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great entertainment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I celebrated my birthday by doing the dinner cruise down the Tennessee River. It was great, but the best part was listening to the excellent music of Troy Underwood, singer, song-writer and guitarist. The food was good, although the shrimp creole had very little shrimp and I prefer my salad un-dressed. The prime rib was very tasty however and the yeast rolls were outstanding! The cheesecake was also very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    32
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but could use a little sprucing up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family isn't sorry we went on the dinner cruise, but we're also not sure we would go again. It was a pleasant cruise with typical catering fare, but the boat is in need of some updating. I think my biggest objection was that a considerable amount of spiders were using the deck supports for their webs and it was a little touch-and-go walking under all of them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The gift shop is better than the cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a tired old boat in need of an overhaul. We did the lunch cruise. Deli meat, chips, watery salads...it was adequate. My kids wouldn't eat it. They stopped serving soda and water after the food was put away so you then had to buy a drink.
There really isn't much to see. It was nice and relaxing, sitting in the sun on the boat. The kids were all bored after a bit. The guide gave a lot(too much) history of the area.
I think this might be good for older couples but anyone with teenagers or kids of other ages will find it boring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun time, nice way to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a good time. We took the lunch sightseeing cruise that was 1.5 hours. The lunch was so so but nice to have. The views from the top deck were great and the narration from the guide and the history was fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staff seemed unhappy to be aboard. Food was nearly inedible. Scenery after dinner up top was good, but we turned around just as things got interesting. You really don't see much that you don't already see from I-24. Surely not worth the money. I'd recommend eating somewhere else downtown and then if you must take the cruise, do it without buying food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southern Belle Riverboat Cruise to your Saves list