We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fried Chicken Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champy's

Champy's
526 E Ml King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 752-9198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 661 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The food is most excellent! I've tried almost the entire menu since they have been open! It's all wonderful. The atmosphere is awesome and unlike anywhere else that I've been. One of my favorite places to eat in Chattanooga!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    94
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Feeling like a Champ in Champy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Traveling for a living has its up and down's. Wife and I were recently working in Chattanooga for Riverfest. We will be here for 21 days as of Sunday the 15th of June. Have had time to eat in many places. 1 that stuck out like crazy. Champy's!!!! I consider myself a connoisseur of the fried bird. My wife is from the UK and has developed a taste for it as well seeing since you don't get fried chicken in the UK the way its done here in the states. Champy's at present time is my all time favorite for non chain fried chicken. There sides are good as well. The mashers are spot on and the beans are definitely a side you should order when your here. Hands down Champy's in Chattanooga is a Champ. Don't miss it if your in the area..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“"Favorite place on friday evening"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is one of our favorite places to eat. We live fairly close in N. Georgia and ride our motorcycles to Champy's usually for a fun casual friday or sat evening. It's very, very casual, sort of rustic and friendly with outdoor seating. My husband loves the fried chicken and wings. If you have to eat gluten free as I do, you'll have to ask a lot of questions...I've had the cheese & sausage plate a couple times which is good. But I still enjoy being with good company and watching husband and friends enjoy the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“OMG, the south can cook!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I am glad I do not live here. I would come way too often! The chicken liver and fried chicken were out of this world. Loved it! Least favorite of our order were the wings. It was overpowered by the vinegar.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good chicken with lots of grease. If you are in the mood for Fried Chicken and in Chattanooga... Check this place out. Not great... But good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champy's also viewed

 

Been to Champy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.