We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Delta Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Queen Hotel
100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
hernando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

we always wanted to take Delta Queen cruise,for one reason or another we never made it,this stay was next best thing.theres alot to do where boat is docked museum,aquarium and many shops and restaurants.great getaway for great price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    152
    78
    36
    49
See reviews for
58
292
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I read all the reviews and some people need to get a grip. First of all the boat only opened in May of this year and I am sure that everything was not perfect the first month. My stay was fabulous. We stayed on the top floor 2 doors down from the "President Carter" room. The evening was great. The staff was wonderful. The room small (its a freakin boat) but historically perfect. I am a history buff and this is a once in a lifestime opportunity to step back in time when people apprecialted a lazy day on the lake. I can honestly, honestly say this is the most relaxed I have ever been hands down. 10stars for Sydney stepping in and trying to save this lovely historical piece of granduer. BRAVO!!! Oh, and the breakfast buffet was superb!! I am goin back the very first chance I can and every chance thereafter. 100 stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Just returned from a night on the Delta Queen. I was very excited about the prospect of staying on a renovated historic riverboat and reserved one of the most expensive rooms. I was sadly disappointed. While I agree that the staff are nice and very helpful, this is not the "boutique hotel" or b & b retreat that the website and other reviewers suggest. Mostly, it feels kind of shabby and in need of substantial renovations/freshening. I expected a small room - but I did not expect the shabby, old furniture and the smell of mold. I also did not expect to have to kneel to get under the shower head to use the "spa quality" Suave shampoo. The open areas also have not been renovated adequately. And last, the breakfast that was highly recommended by other reviewers has turned into cold cereal, scones, and a bowl of fruit.

Yes, the air conditioning works just fine. And yes, take your earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I was a frequent traveler on the DELTA QUEEN when she was a "crusing steamboat". The staff on the boat now are doing their best to make sure everyone loves her - as has been her history. If you are a past passenger, nothing has changed except she is no longer crusing. If you have ever thought you wanted to ride on her and couldn't afford it, now is the time to experience most of what it was like to travel on her. Open your mind and imagine what it was like 100+ years ago when steamboats was the best mode of transportation. Live history! She is romantic. Her dock is next to a park with eateries and shops just beyond the park. Chattanooga has so much to offer for sightseeing, but once you get on the boat - you just might not want to leave not even for meals. The dinner and show when I was on in July made it almost seem like old times when you booked passage for a week - dinner cooking aroma started floating up to the cabin deck in the afternoon. The food and service was elegant. The entertainment in the Orleans Room that evening was performed by veteran entertainers from when she was an active steamboat. Couldn't have been better. Then we gathered in the Texas Lounge to finish off the evening with more music and song. Bill and Laura were fantastic!

The A/C is working now for sure. I had to shut my vent! All you have to do is unwind a little. No need for TV or computers. There are games and puzzles and lots of books to read. Or just sit in the shade on deck and watch the river go by. Birds and wildlife abound. My friend and I even saw a mink running along the waters edge. A mother duck was also there with her babies bobbing around in the water.

Do yourself a favor and book a night as soon as possible. Any room is fine. Because it's not about the room, it's about the experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We recently spent two nights on the Delta Queen. We stayed in a standard room-two twin beds on the main floor-room 122. The cabin and bathroom are small-you are on a boat. Since we were on the main deck we could walk right out our door and sit on one of the couches or chairs in the lobby area. I sat out there to read and use my laptop(they do have wifi-you have to get a password at checkin). There are no tvs in the cabins, but we were never bored-sitting out on the deck in rocking chairs was very relaxing-just watching the activity on the river is great. The breaksfasts we had were great-the scones were my favorite-they also had cereal, scrambled eggs, omlets, bacon, fresh fruit, french toast, biscuits, grits, breakfast burrittos, etc-everything was fresh and served hot.

From the Delta Queen we walked to Coolidge Park and then walked across the bridge to the aquarium and the bluff art district. We loved Tony's restaurant in the art district-the lobster ravioli was wonderful.

If you are looking for a unique experience and don't want to stay in regular hotel room, give the Delta Queen a try.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Dirty rooms. Excessive noise. Tiny rooms. Way too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Delta Queen is located near all of the places you go to see while you are in Chattanooga. The rooms all be it they are small but that is what you would expect are very quaint. The staff is friendly and the interior is done like it would have been in its hay day. I looked at several rooms. The ones that have twin beds in them are very adequate. We stayed in (I think) they called it a suite but it was two twins put together. Bathroom is small but again we are on a boat. I would reccomend this place to stay highly. Also, while there please pay to take the tour of the boat it is very informative.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Queen Hotel

Address: 100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legendary Delta Queen, a Chattanooga Inn and Boutique Hotel, welcomes you with the traditional southern charm of a Mississippi riverboat. Our unique Chattanooga hotel and event venue is moored at Coolidge Park Landing, in the middle of Chattanooga's vibrant downtown community, filled with a diversity of restaurants, shopping and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Delta Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.