We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun/Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Delta Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Queen Hotel
100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Fun/Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are a history buff or like nostalgia, this grand lady called the Delta Queen is right for you. She is old, but that is the beauty of her intertwined with history. The rooms are small but no less than you would get in a modern day cruise ship cabin. We visited on a groupon deal that offered daily, hot, and fresh cooked breakfast, roundtrip water taxi passes, carousel passes, a bottle of wine upon arrival, a picnic sandwich lunch, wine glasses(they ran out and are having to mail those), and a $25 dinner credit at the on board restaurant. We were also given a tour by manager, John Price who was most delightful and witty in his deep knowledge of the ship. Darryl, the dining manager was extremely attentive and polite. His pleasant attitude and soft tone made the trip more enjoyable. Our dining experience at the onboard restaurant, The Paddlewheel Restaurant was very delicious, when we inquired about the best item on the menu we were told time and time again by staff to get the shrimp/grits or the fried catfish. We opted for the catfish. My husband is very picky when it comes to how his catfish is fried as not to be "watery" inside. He was very satisfied with the preparation. We met several wonderful couples on board, one through a mishap....The water taxi had an incident and we had to be picked up on the return trip by personal truck of the water taxi's engineer. You might think of this as tragic, but NO ONE was upset we actually talked, learned more about each other, and laughed all the way back to the ship with two of the ladies in the bed of the truck (they actually wanted to ride back there and they had the most fun of everyone riding.) There are no tvs or telephone in the room, so it forces you to go outside the room and explore the surrounding area or to learn more about the boat whether through the group boat tour, the continous video history viewing area of The Delta Queen in the lobby, through the library areas, photo album history books, 24 hour complimentary lobby coffee/tea area or game room/chat halls located near the gift store. The beds are divine and restful.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city/water are better you can walk out of your room and sit in the rocking chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    152
    78
    36
    49
See reviews for
58
291
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading so many complaints we were happily surprised to find a wonderful classy boat that took us back to the special days of river travel. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They were knowledgable about events and places of interest in Chattanooga. We had a deluxe room on the 1st floor--room 111 which was a nice size for a boat. The rooms were cool at night which is what we like. For those who like warmer rooms , heaters were available. Robes were furnished and the bed large and comfy. We enjoyed our meal the first night on board ( spicy shrimp and grits for me). Breakfast buffet delicious with the best blueberry muffins ever. Also included eggs,grits,bacon.sausage, biscuits and gravy freely cut fruit and juices. Endless amounts of coffee were served. Couldn't ask for more.
We spent the next day at the aquarium and IMax eating a late lunch downtown Chattanooga. Not being hungry early that evening, we spent several hours playing cards with friends in the charming lobby. Our manager was extremely helpful in finding a Papa Johns that would deliver a pizza to the boat for us.
Be sure to take the boat tour.
Loved being there during the week and will plan to go back.

Room Tip: Get main level on waterside. This is probably easier during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The ship itself is a treasure. So nice to be able to experience the past in the present. The staff were so willing and able to provide topnotch service. Especially, Kira in the evening. Went above and beyond in meeting our needs. She was like having a full staff, all-in-one. I cannot say enough about her to measure her patience, knowledge and kindness to us during our stay. We look forward to returning soon. We have travelled to 34 countries and 37 states and never had the service equal to this staff. Wish we had Kira on our staff.
Toby K

Room Tip: Lower state rooms, most spacious. All beds great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Kira Burkhalter, customer service rep, went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. As seasoned travelers, her customer service skills are the best we have experienced on any continent! The food was sublime, the rooms quaint, but what stood out for our group was the customer service. It was amazing. We are privileged to travel outside of the U.S., so do have experience with traveling. The service we received was above any expectation we had. Our group felt as if we had been invited into someone’s private home. Thanks Ms. Burkhalter! You rock.

Room Tip: Fills up quickly on the weekend. Make reservations well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

You come to this hotel to enjoy the aura of this piece of history. Don't expect luxurious rooms, especially the economical cabins. But the cabins are clean. The boat is old and looks it. The paint seems to be exceptionally thick and still is in need of a other coat. For some reason, the maintenance crew doesn't seem to care about the spider webs around parts of the exterior. That left a bad impression with us. The included breakfast buffeted is OK, but not much better than cheaper motels. Not sure if we would do it again for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The beds (had twin room) were comfortable but do anticipate small quarters and no TV. The room was no more than 100 square feet it seemed but it was enough to crash for a night but price was a little inflated for the accomodations. The boat was neat but definitely needed a little updating. The room we were in (222) smelled like a combination of mildew and backed up sewage. I thought about calling for a new room but figured could deal for one night and we did. The location of the boat is on the opposite side of the river in relation to downtown but located conveniently close to a walk over bridge into that part of the city. To sum it up, I am glad most of our trip was covered by a gift certificate b/c I would have felt cheated. The breakfast the next morning was pretty good and free. The staff was accomodating and pleasant for the most part.

Room Tip: Don't Get Room 222...Ask for one on river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Delta Queen this weekend 09/14-09/16 for our 34th wedding anniversary and I have to say it was a little disappointing. We pretty much had a good evening Friday when we arrived. We walked around the city, took in some scenery and ate at Northshore Grill which was"delicious". It started gonig downhill Saturday morning when we went to get ready and had problems with water pressure when getting showers, at times no water at all!!! Then came the picnic, bread was stale and it was not even ready when we went to pick it up and we turned in the voucher the night before like we were told. Then we went to the bar at 3pm to watch the Alabama/Arkansas game which we were told we could watch in the bar area. Not only were we there but there was probably about 12 other people there as well most of whom were drinking beer and mixed drinks. Now you would think with a big game & spending patrons all would be great, however the bartender decided to change the channel at the 3rd quarter to watch the Tennessee game and when asked to change the channel back he informed us he had no intentions. HOW RUDE!!! Needless to say, everyone left to find a bar to watch the game. Is there something wrong here??? Paying patrons and doing all you can to ensure they have a great time and return. Money walked out the door... very unhappy :(.... Besides that, do you pay him to work or watch the game? In our business customers come first. Then came Sunday morning, no coffee ready downstairs for the guest when my husband went down @ approx. 8:00 am. He had to hunt us up coffee. All in all, it was just an ok trip which I was hoping it would have been awsome since it was for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Queen Hotel

Address: 100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legendary Delta Queen, a Chattanooga Inn and Boutique Hotel, welcomes you with the traditional southern charm of a Mississippi riverboat. Our unique Chattanooga hotel and event venue is moored at Coolidge Park Landing, in the middle of Chattanooga's vibrant downtown community, filled with a diversity of restaurants, shopping and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Delta Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.