We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Unique but Shows its Age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Delta Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Queen Hotel
100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Quaint and Unique but Shows its Age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is one of those places that every American probably should visit once. It's a unique piece of history, heritage, and culture anchored in a very scenic spot on the Chattanooga Northshore.
One must bear in mind, however, that it's older and harkens back to a time when life was simpler and people were smaller!
The rooms (cabins?) are quite small. They're not heated (the common areas are) and a very few have window A/C units. Our room was totally dominated by the king bed (with comfortable mattress); no closet, just some hooks on the wall, and a very tiny shower. The ceilings are low; I'm 6-3 and nearly scraped. We stayed here in January with moderate temperatures; I'd be concerned about staying here in the summer without A/C in the room.
Many reviewers have referenced the problems with hot water. One of the employees told us to run the water for "15 or 20 minutes" in order to get it hot. I ran it for about 10 minutes and got a decent shower.
With a historic type property, one has to make some allowances, but "classic" shouldn't have to mean ":run down." Little things add up fast. For example, our room had a small dresser, but only two of the four drawers had working handles.
The hot breakfast buffets were decent. The dinner was good also (the dining room has a limited menu but what they do they do pretty well). All employees were helpful and courteous.
For the remainder of January, they're only open Thursdays through Saturdays due to construction that has temporarily cost them much of their parking. The valet parking fee is waived through January.

Room Tip: It only has three floors (decks). The 300 rooms have the most privacy. Rooms facing the river have q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, General Manager at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments about our hotel. We are a historic property who turns 85 years old this summer. There are some temperature challenges, but we do have heat and air conditioning in the rooms, tho there are not individual thermostats.
We do hope you will be able to revisit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    152
    78
    36
    49
See reviews for
58
292
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, ALabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We live in Birmingham, Alabama and I was looking for a short trip to celebrate my 12-28 birthday. After looking at dang near every cabin, B&B and hotel within a 5 hour drive, I chose The Delta Queen. Chattanooga has long been one of my very fav quick and easy travel destinations and the Delta Queen sounded right up my alley. We got in on the Winter Escape package which was 2 nights, dinner for two on one night in the boat's Paddleboat Restaurant and the usual free breakfast buffet each morning. While they don’t quarantee rooms, just room types (standard, deluxe, etc.) I got all of my preferences; Sundeck, River View and Queen bed. The room was very small, as I expected, but there were adequate wall shelves and hooks for hanging items and the bed was high enough to slide the suitcase under. There was a window unit AC in our window. It was the only one on that deck and I probably could have asked to have it removed but it wasn’t a big deal. However, it prevented any window or shutters being opened so the “view” we got was when we opened the door! That said, the view was splendid, with a wrought iron table and chairs and rocking chairs right outside our door. I learned later that even in a certain “type” of room, the size and windows can vary due to location and next time I might ask for “windows and spacious”, even if it’s a view of the park, which is also very lovely.
The Paddleboat Bar and Restaurant was very comfortable and inviting. We spent some time at the bar before dinner and very much enjoyed tales of the boat’s history and ghostly encounters as told by bartender, Kimmie. She was a most wonderful host! The menu is limited to a few entrees; we both had the Fried Catfish which was outstanding. It came with a mixed green salad and was served with coleslaw, french fries and hushpuppies. We had a Chocolate Lava Cake and Strawberry Shortcake for dessert and both were delicious.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet both days, consisting of standard fare; eggs, grits, bacon, sausage, pancakes/French toast, fruit, pastries etc.
All staff was very accommodating and pleasant. We had a moment of trepidation when we checked in on a very cold and blustery day to find no heat in the cabin. By the time we got to our room after dinner, we had a very nice electric heater in place that worked just fine. It took a few minutes for the hot water to get to the Sun Deck on such cold days but we had an ample amount of hot water.
The Delta Queen hotel has it’s natural drawbacks because, after all, it is a small Riverboat, even if it doesn’t move right now. However, the overall charm, splendid views and easy access to some of the best Chattanooga has to offer is well worth it! We’re planning another stay there in the spring.

Room Tip: Decide what is most important to you as they don't "guarantee" rooms but try to honor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, Director of Sales at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our historic riverboat hotel. We're happy that you selected us as the destination for your birthday! Come back to see us soon and ask for that spacious window view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 1st New Years as man and wife, something that would be rememerable for years to come. We decided at the last minute to book the New Years Eve package on the Delta Queen Hotel. We stayed in the deluxe cabin with a king size bed which was absolutely everything we wanted and more, no TV, phone or internet. Every member of the staff was so friendly and professional. The buffet in the Forward Cabin was array of delicious food that had something for everyone from seafood, pork tenderlion, potato bar with all the trimmings and don't forget the pre-party hors d'oeuvres and cocktails in the Texas Lounge with Kimi. The New Years Eve Bash party with DJ Terry Haywood in the Orleans Room was delightful. He played all the songs that kept everyone on the floor until midnight and beyond. Jack the bartender was great and service during the party was top notch. I have one word that comes to mind when decribing my exprience: Fascinating! I recommend this special occasion to all. Hope to see you on the next party. We met some very nice folks and maybe they will also return to ring in 2013.

Room Tip: Depending on what you are seeking, they all are good. Next time I may stay in 109 with the former Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, Manager at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We are happy that you chose to spend New Year's Eve with us, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the party. We had many good comments on the party and the food, so we will probably just do it all again for 2012!

Thanks again, and come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

me and my 2 daughters stayed 1 night in a bunk cabin, which was clean with very comfortable beds; a totally adequate accommodation (price was ok but not great). BE AWARE the size of the room however was very small so know that going into it. My girls age 4 and 9, loved the novelty of it however, walking around on the boat was very fun, and the location cannot be beat as there’s a park close. It’s walking distance to downtown Chat, restaurants and the aquarium and such – A1 location.

The buffet breakfast was good enough, and the wait staff was totally cool and very friendly.

Yeah there was a little noise from the mechanics of the boat as well as people walking around, but overall the delta queen is a fun place to stay and worth the price, esp. for kids or anyone that likes unique hotels, boats or water settings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, Director of Sales at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We appreciate your comments about our unique hotel, and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know the cabins are small, but we hope the ambiance and the charm of staying with us make up for this.

Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

we were out looking for a place to stay this christmas and saw two unique hotels, the choo choo hotel & the delta queen.. the former lets you sleep in a train, the latter lets you sleep in a boat.. but we chose the delta queen instead because of it's close proximity to downtown.. and it was a pretty good choice.. no free parking here though, you either go for metered parking ($4/day - not bad) or go valet ($$$).. we got the room with twin beds, the next level higher than the bunk rooms.. and requested to get the one with a view of the river, no problems there, they were able to give it to us.. the room was quite charming, if you read up on it's history, it used to be an overnight steam boat.. the room came with two very comfy beds, armoire, mirror, a closet, sink, a restroom and a teeny tiny shower.. i say that because my six foot frame had a bit of a hard time fitting in there, but i managed well enough.. no tv too, but it was fine (for a change).. internet was spotty at best, you'd have to move around to find good reception.. they offered free breakfast too, and the food wasn't bad.. you get fruits, juices, breakfast sausages, bacon, biscuit, pancakes/french toast, scrambled eggs, etc.. and coffee & tea were offered 24 hrs.. they play a documentary about the boat's history at breakfast, you might want to sit close to the tv if you wanna watch it.. it's got a lot of places to lounge around and read, yes, read.. they have books there.. they also have board games available for anyone to borrow and play with.. especially since it's very cold these days, it's nice to just stay inside where it's warm.. you can walk around, explore and read about the history of the boat.. the area around the boat is nice too, there's coolidge park and there are some good shops in north shore too, or you can walk across walnut street bridge and go to the aquarium or visit other shops there.. you won't regret staying there in the delta queen..

Room Tip: request the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, Director of Sales at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We're so glad that you chose to stay with us on our boat instead of in the traincar! We do love our location and our proximity to so many fun things to do!

We hope you will return to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerque, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Sleeping on a boat , what an experience and what boat : a 1927 Mississipi steamboat in perfect condition....
What to say , bedrooms are cabins in authentical condition, luxuous , not many place as they are cabins, no TV, wifi at the deskroom, breakfast .... great breakfast ... certainly normal for this range of price .... from $99 but it's worth the price and what experience.... this inside boat is similar to you'vs seen in the Titanic movie... wooden strairs, furniture, cristal lights....
THE ONLY advice I 've to tell you is to check if your cabin is equipped with heater.... very usefull in winter ( or AC in summer ) as no all cabins have this equipment.
If no , you can change for a better cabin for the same price......
Parking is free only between 16.30 to 09.30 .... parckmeter on place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDeltaQueen, Manager at Delta Queen Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our historic riverboat hotel. She is unique, and we appreciate it when our guests notice her beauty.

Please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This was a great getaway - we were fortunate enough to stay during a slow period so things were quiet and the staff efficient. The room we stayed in was clean and cozy and we would stay in the same room type, again. Be sure and ask for a tour of the boat with the chief engineer - Fred is a gem !

Room Tip: Sun deck is good for privact - be sure and get a river facing room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Queen Hotel

Address: 100 River Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legendary Delta Queen, a Chattanooga Inn and Boutique Hotel, welcomes you with the traditional southern charm of a Mississippi riverboat. Our unique Chattanooga hotel and event venue is moored at Coolidge Park Landing, in the middle of Chattanooga's vibrant downtown community, filled with a diversity of restaurants, shopping and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Delta Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.