We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy with Local Focus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alleia

Alleia
25 East Main St., Chattanooga, TN 37408
+1 423-305-6990
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 661 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
chattanooga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trendy with Local Focus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have enjoyed a few great meals. Each time I didn't make reservations and was seated in the back. Ok atmostphere. But take the time for reservations and get a seat in the front. Food was excellent . . hand-dipped ricotta bruchetta with local honey . . . awesome. I've eaten their specials for the night and they feature local foods. Simply wonder dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    27
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“best Brushcetta ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was a specialty item and I am SOOOO glad I had it. The bread was perfectly toasted on both sides; topped with a yummy, just fatty enough, prosciutto, wild blueberries, goat cheese, and a drizzle of a balsamic vinegar sauce ... wow - just typing this review is making my mouth water - how I wish I could have that dish again!

And then - finished it off w/their basil gelato! As I was full from my yummy Bruschetta, I took this to go. I was in town visiting so kept it in freezer and tried it the next morning -- YUMMY. Placed it in a freezer/ice chest for my travel home and had it the next day as a 'drink' (let it melt but kept it cold) and I must say - that was WONDERFUL!! Sure wish I had some RIGHT NOW.

Hubby had the salami pizza and enjoyed same.

Wish they had a restaurant in my area of Florida - but if I go back to Chattanooga, I'll be eating there again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga, tn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always get the special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I went with a large group for a birthday. It was perfect! Great food, server was very helpful, and bartender made it a great experience when we got there earlier. A must go!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Alleia Oops!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Alleia
25 E. Main St.

Alleia has established itself as downtown’s fine-dining Italian restaurant. Since opening, it has received many accolades for it’s interior design and décor. The wait-staff has been unfailingly enthusiastic (almost effuse) and helpful.
Chef/owner Daniel Lindley describes the food as “Italian inspired” and rustic. The menu, which changes a little seasonally, lists 8 (or so) antipasti, salads and a soup, 6 pasta dishes -”Primi”- ( house made daily and available in half-portions on request), 6 “simply grilled” entrees-”Secondi”, pizze and side dishes-”Contorni”. The menu is written in the pretentious “insider” style, referring to a tomato sauce as “pomodoro”, with repeated references to “balsamic,” “reggiano” and “hand dipped ricotta” and generally not translating/describing the dishes.
Antipasti are relatively basic, easily assembled dishes; (unevenly) topped flat-bread, bruschette, and proscuitto with fruit. The steamed mussels were plump and served in a light tomato tinged broth with a dash of pepper-flake, great for sopping up with bread. The calamari are of excellent quality, lightly breaded , fried and served with lemon slices. Unfortunately, there is a consistent problem with poor coordination between cooks and wait staff; four of five times the calamari have been ordered they sat under a heat lamp so long that by the time they reached table they were only warm and had become soft and oily. The finely sliced beef carpaccio was properly dressed, light and elegant. Salads are nicely composed, but not out of the ordinary.
The parpadelle- a wide, flat ribbon noodle- with veal breast was dressed in a rich and flavorful veal jus sauce, although chunks of veal had to be cut to be manageable. The goat cheese ravioli benefited from the contrast of the tangy cheese and a simple slightly sweet tomato sauce. The pasta carbonara ( charcoal makers’ style) had crisped dice of tasty pork-but not the smoked pork-jowl that is traditional- and was tossed in an egg emulsion sauce, not with fresh egg yolks. It was an interesting dish, but far from a true carbonara, lacking the pleasantly unctuous mouth-feel and rich egginess of the real deal.
Sweet, succulent sea scallops were superfluously draped with pureed peperonata (sautéed red bell peppers), but the swordfish benefited from the same sauce. The high quality lamb stood out against it’s sauce, but the mild pork tenderloin, unevenly cooked, was lost beneath the currants and grilled red cabbage. The pizza was judged very good. Entrees were served with “risotto” - an Italian pilaf-like dish - which is made daily, not per order. The resulting dish is more like rice gruel; there is no real texture, certainly not al dente or creamy, and no discernible flavor.
The house made gelato was chiffon-like, lacking density, richness and intensity of flavors; wild berry was best, the hazelnut tasting more of almond extract and chocolate then filbert. The panacotta was fine and the flourless chocolate cake dense and rich.
12-14 wines are offered by the glass. Eclectic, with an Italian focus, the wine list is adequate, but with a generally high mark-up , up to 3 ½ times retail.
Dinner of two antipasti, ½ order of pasta, two entrees, wine, a desert and two coffees totaled $120 without tax or tip.

Alleia presents as rustic. There is no great complexity to the food, nor any need for fancy technique. Success requires quality raw product, good conceptualization and consistent, focused execution. The product quality at Alleia is beyond criticism. Conceptually, the product can get lost in superfluous or out of balance flavors, and serving a rice casserole as “risotto” is just ignorant. Execution is inconsistent; without an expeditor coordinating and supervising, too many errors slip by. Compared to Lindley’s other two restaurants, Alleia could be much better.


14-Mar, 11

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Divine and unusual food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The server was extremely professional and was able to answer all our questions about the menu. The decor is fashionable but comfortable, and the booths provide a little privacy for intimate conversations. Every dish I have ordered has been delectable. I can't wait to go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alleia also viewed

 

Been to Alleia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alleia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.