We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3408 Elder Mountain Road, Chattanooga, TN 37419   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
orlando, fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This B&B is in a beautiful setting, but that is the only good thing about this place. We got there and had to ring the doorbell...about 5 minutes later someone opened the door (not exactly what you expect when to stay at a B&B). We were given the key--which was the wrong one. We came back to get the right key and that was the last time we saw anyone the whole time we stayed there. And we never got breakfast the whole time we stayed there either. We didn't even see anyone to check out. If you want to stay at a place with no service...this is it. From the reviews this place sounds very hit and miss. Mine was a major miss.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I selected this b&b based on reviews from trip advisor. I was not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and had a real homey feel. The view from the room , a small lake, gazebo and lookout mountain made us feel that we were in a distant countryside. In reality, the hostess showed us a quick way into Chattanooga that made it and the other attractions only minutes away.

The breakfasts were well prepared, varied and just the right portions for us to start the day exploring the area. My wife and I both require coffee before we can even think about the day. The hostess set us up with a pot and all the fixings so that we could just plug it in whenever we needed it. A delicious breakfast then followed at a time of our choosing. By the way, I think Chattanooga is a real undiscovered gem, with all it has to offer the vacationer.

I'll admit that the furnishings may be a little older and that there isn't the cold efficiency of a room at the holiday inn express, but the view, charm of the rooms and the graciousness of the hostess more than made up for that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The Lookout Lake Bed & Breakfast is a quaint, relaxing, private bed and breakfast. Staying at this location you are tucked away from the city, but literally 10 minutes away. Located at the base of Racoon Mountain the property is surrounded by dense trees, and a nice lake which lends to leisurly fishing. The room was nice, and clean. The bed was very comfortable. There was not anything we needed that we did not have.

Diana is very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was great, and promptly served. We felt at ease here and are planning a return trip in June to try out the cabin. I highly recommend this location. There are not a lot of bells and whistles but the property is clean and so gorgeous you do not care about bells and whistles.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

This is the most beautiful setting for a bed and breakfast. The bedroom we had overlooked the lake- we also had use of the balcony. It is elegantly decorated with oriental peices of furniture. Our host was helpful and hospitable. We enjoyed the spacious room and ensuite - there was a sofa in the room and it was immaculately clean.
We wish that we had booked to stay there longer- we only stayed one night en route to Atlanta. Very good location for visiting Rock City and a dinner cruise on the Chattanooga river trip ( Southern Belle) . Couldnt have asked for more from this B&B. I would definately recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Great atmosphere, beautiful setting. Even though the furnishing were a little dated the room was clean. We had a spectacular view of the lake from our room with it's own entrance. Enjoyed the juccuzi in the bathroom. The breakfast was standard both mornings; scrambled eggs, bacon & sausage or ham, muffins or scones, and fresh fruit. We brought our own ice chest filled with drinks and snacks and sat out on the deck during the evenings. Diana, the innkeeper, was so friendly and helpful, always had a smile on her face. If you want a gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening, this is not the place! For the money you can't wrong with any of the rooms here. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We were looking for a place where we can spend time together as a group of 7 friends. We were not interested in any proper hotel/motel experience. The Lookout B&B was a perfect place for us. They have 7/8 rooms in the B&B but we decided to book the log cabin which is located a bit far from the rooms. Diana, the owner is courteous and met all the requests we made. She also provided us a gas grill on request. The view from the cabin is awesome with a lake in front of the cabin. In case you need any food items, there is a Food Lion nearby from where you can pick up supplies. All in all, one of the best place to have some good time with friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My fiancee and I stayed at Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast for our one-year anniversary on August 15, 2008. I've stayed in two other B&Bs in Chattanooga, and Lookout Lake is the best value I've found so far. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is welcoming, the breakfast was delicious, and the room was very romantic. We stayed in the queen sized room with a whirlpool tub. The tub was HUGE, and there were candles ready to light, which made the whole experience all the more romantic. There is a kitchenette downstairs with a fridge large enough to hold anything you would bring there. If you are considering staying at a B&B in Chattanooga, Lookout Lake is the best value around!

  • Liked — amazing views
  • Disliked — travelers should bring their own snacks/drinks
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3408 Elder Mountain Road, Chattanooga, TN 37419
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lookout Lake Hotel Chattanooga
Lookout Lake b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Lake Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.