We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DEAL!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Rivergate

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Rivergate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Rivergate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Carter Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Chattanooga
Plainfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT DEAL!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel I was a little nervous because I am use to staying at hotels where the in/out door to your room is inside of the hotel premises (not on the outside). I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is an older hotel and does need a little work however the price paid along with the amenities makes this hotel a great deal! After staying at another hotel in Georgia where the room was $40.00 more, parking was another $8.00 and wi-fi was another $10.00 a day I was very happy to be here. The only problem that we encountered was when we arrived at our room there was no radio. We went down to the front desk to let them know and they were able to get us one right away. The food at the diner was unbelievably good and the portions are huge. There is 320 different items on this menu so if you can't find anything to eat you are a very picky eater. The diner does not want you to go home hungry. Also if you like pastries they have a lot to choose from. "Happy Hour" at the bar made me even happier. After spending $4.00 for a bottle of beer in Georgia you cannot imagine how happy I was to have a 32 ounce draft beer for much less! My husband was also happy because he could smoke in the room. If you are a traveler that doesn't mind staying in a older hotel then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children try to get a room by the pool. If the kids are older then you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    211
    122
    40
    25
See reviews for
168
147
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Days Inn Rivergate has an excellent location on the free electric shuttle route and is just a short stroll from the Chattanooga Convention Center. You may also choose to rent a bicycle from the city's bike share program, which supplies bikes at many convenient stations in the area. It is a two minute walk from a nice Starbucks.

This hotel is half the price of other downtown hotels. The room is very small and the linens and pillows have seen better days. If I were you, I would not look too closely into the coffee maker; however, the rest of the room seemed very clean.

The primary reason for my "poor" rating is the noise level of the hotel. Besides traffic noise, we heard people yelling and honking horns in the parking lot throughout both nights that we stayed. I believe most of the noise was from patrons of the bar attached to the hotel, though some was from partying guests staying near our room. Neither of us got any sleep, and it was difficult to work during my two days in Chattanooga due to my fatigue.

I commented on the noise level to staff. The staff replied that "This is a college town", emphasized that Days Inn does not own the bar, and pointed out that Days Inn hires a security officer who she stated "does a great job" patrolling the lot at night. I disagree wholeheartedly. Obviously, the security officer did not have things under control both nights we stayed. Despite a college presence in town, a hotel should be a place where guests can sleep in comfort and quiet.

My general impression from the young folks staying in nearby rooms and the whooping and hollering and honking in the parking lot is that this is an affordable party spot for the younger crowd. If you are in town to party with a few PBRs and Mad Dog bottles, this is your place. If you want a good night's sleep at a reasonable rate, use Priceline to get a deal elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnRivergateGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Rivergate, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at the Days Inn Rivergate.
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to read about how convenient you
found our location. The free downtown shuttle is such an added value to our Guests
stay and does make getting about town so much easier.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chattanooga! Have a very
happy 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visited Chattanooga for 2 months and stayed in various hotels, some of higher star level. This hotel offered the best value. I paid more at other hotels but got nothing extra for it (maybe a fancier duvet). Plus, many hotels in Chattanooga are in boring locations. But Days Inn Rivergate is a mere walking distance to many local attractions (convention center, aquarium, symphony, etc.) and restaurants.

All the staff I met were very courteous and helpful. I found the room service to be consistently good. The diner attached to this hotel had excellent food and was open 24hrs.

If you are an outgoing person who will be staying in Chattanooga for more than a couple of days, then I would recommend this hotel due to its fair cost, location and courteous staff.

Room Tip: - Speak with one of the senior staff to see if there are discounted rates for extended stay. - If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been staying at this Days Inn for several years now. It's a great hotel and the staff is always very friendly. The hotel is very close to the downtown attractions and best part--the hotel is stationed right by the free electric shuttle stops. Don't try to drive and pay to park. It's so easy to stay here and never have to leave the hotel-we just use the free shuttle. The shuttle goes everywhere from the Choo-Choo to the downtown area around the Aquarium. Another great benefit is the hotel has a 24 hour cafe. I was a little skeptical, but tried it and it was great. If you are up to a little walk it's not far to walk downtown, but it's nice to have the advantage to have the free shuttle pick you up right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've written a review of this particular hotel before; however, my experience this time was MUCH more conducive to my business needs. Just as last time, I still had a comfortable bed and surroundings but this time, the bathroom was much nicer. It almost looked as if it had been remodeled. The carpet could use a shampoo but was freshly vacuumed. The internet speed was MUCH better and was actually conducive to working. One thing to be aware of; there is a restaurant/pub on one side of the hotel. If you like your nights to be completely quite and restful, you might select a room on the other end of the hotel. The late night crowd of pubsters are not always willing to tiptoe around the parking lot. ; ) Very nice employees as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the resturant/pub IF a quite room is what you're needing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our second visit to this Days Inn. We stayed here again for the Chickamauga Battlefield Marathon. It was great. Friendly staff, clean rooms, reasonable rates, and a great location. We will stay here again next time we visit Chattanooga.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Kentucky
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Within walking distance to the Tivoli Theater and other downtown locations. The room was ok, a little outdated, needs some work, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The outside grounds are a little run down. Does have a lounge and a 24 hour restaurant on the premises which was a plus. Staff were very nice and helpful. We would stay again if visiting downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Rivergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rivergate

Address: 901 Carter Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Rivergate 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in historic downtown Chattanooga, the Days Inn Rivergate specializes in family leisure, convention groups and motor coach tours. Ride the free downtown electric shuttle to the Tennessee Aquarium, 3D IMAX Theater and many more attractions. Located adjacent to the Chattanooga Convention Center. Enjoy the City Cafe Diner 24 hours a day or lounge located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Rivergate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rivergate Hotel Chattanooga
Days Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Rivergate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.