We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Cold Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

check in was smooth this is a pretty nice hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and helped us with a place to get great food late at night. Ask at the desk for a place to get great food and they will let you know. The food will seem expensive but wow it is so worth it, huge amount.
They gave us directions to the Ruby Falls area, very nice a must go. The hotel is in a good location. Clean and comfortable. Can't tell you about the pool as we got in so late we did not get to use it. Indoor pool here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
53
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel was great. It was immaculately clean. The beds and pillows were awesome. The shower had good pressure and had a massage-type head. The complimentary breakfast buffet was roomy and well-stocked. My husband was especially pleased to find scrambled eggs, bacon and cheese. The location was good, not right in downtown but close enough to walk if you wanted. We had a 4th floor end room with two windows and it was exceptionally quite. After this experience, we will definitely try to find a HI express when we travel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I usually do not write about a hotel stay as it is usually just mediocre. But I have to say that this was a great stay. I know everyone has a different opinion but on this particular day the room was very clean. I could even walk barefooted(That is one of my tests) plus the condition of the bathroom, which also was very clean. The price wasn't our of site and the amenities were fine. I don't know about you but when I take my grandchildren to a hotel and they want to swim, I usually do everything I can not to go into the pool area if it is inside. Well, this one didn't fog up your classes. You could sit there and breathe while the kids were swimming. The breakfast for a hotel breakfast was really quite good. I am really not one for frozen breakfasts, but the biscuits were warm and soft and the eggs didn't taste like powder. You get the message. Just wanted to let you know the only draw back , You need to drive downtown to do your thing. A little far to walk and I am a walker.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My family recently stayed three nights at this hotel while vacationing in Chattanooga. The hotel is fairly new and has some very nice decor in both the lobby area and rooms. The rooms were of good size with a flat screen television and larger than normal bathroom for hotels in this class. The mini fridge and microwave came in handy with our kids since we could store their drinks and snacks away and then have easy access to them when needed. The beds were of average comfort and we were never bothered with any hallway or outside noise even though the hotel was crowded two of the three nights we were there. The kids loved the indoor pool which was also crowded later in the evening but that did not bother us either. They did run out of pool towels on two nights but we went in the workout room next door and borrowed a couple from in there since it was well stocked and no one was ever using it at any time while we were at the pool. The pool closed at 11:00 so this allowed us a little extra time to enjoy the pool area once we returned to the hotel from our evening activities which was nice. We always felt safe at the hotel and had to use our room key to get in the lobby door after 10:00p.m. which we liked and felt more secure by doing this. The hot breakfast was very good as well (eggs, bacon, biscuits, along with cereals, various muffins, bananas, etc.). The breakfast was served even later than the 9:30a.m. cut off on the weekend which we thought was convenient since there were so many visitors eating on those days which allowed us to sleep a little later and still have breakfast. Our drawbacks included some of the same minor things we have read from others. Check-in was very slow with only one staff member on duty and there were five waiting in line to get their rooms and front desk clerk seemed a little unorganized trying to juggle so many people waiting but we finally were helped about 15 minutes later. He was only somewhat helpful when we asked him questions about our stay but this was better with some of the other front desk staff members we spoke to at other times when needed. Housekeeping did a pretty good job of keeping things clean with the exception of some dust around the base of the tv but not a big deal and only three towels the first night for a family of four but this was corrected the other nights. We did have our do not disturb sign posted on the door about 8:30a.m. and one morning were asked if we wanted our room cleaned that day and I said yes that a couple were still asleep and she said that was fine and would clean it later - and did. My wife was a little surprised that there was no phone book in the room to find restaurants, etc. but the room did have internet access and the Holiday Inn homepage you were directed to once logging on provided a search map and other info. if you had a laptop. If not, there was a small business area in the lobby where this could be done. The hotel was little too far to walk to the downtown attractions even though it is located in the downtown area, but it was just a short drive to most places but we did see some other hotels that would have been more convenient for walking to these places but this was not a problem since it was a nice, newer hotel. Overall this is a nice place to stay and is of good value. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My husband and I visited Chattanooga for the holiday weekend and stayed two nights. Since we were splurging on the second night (stayed on the Delta Queen) we decided to make the first night just a basic hotel with a good location. The hotel was billed as new, clean and affordable - and it was all of these.

Check-in time was at 3pm but we showed up at 2pm and the friendly staff let us check in early. Our room was a standard room with king size bed. The room itself was very clean and you could definitely tell this was a new hotel.

We didn't use the pool but saw it from the outside - it looked OK but a bit on the small side.

The complimentary breakfast was good, pretty basic offering and what you'd expect for a free hotel breakfast buffet.

The hotel is just minutes from downtown facilities like the Visitor's Center and Aquarium.

FYI - They do charge $3 a night for parking.

So, no complaints here! A great basic hotel, particularly if you're just looking for a comfortable, clean place to sleep while you enjoy what Chattanooga has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. Easy to find. Its located in downtown Chattanooga but away from the hussle bustle. Front desk staff was efficient. The room was clean, spacious and welcoming. The decor was nice. There is a flat screen lcd/plasma (don't recall which one) tv in the room. Also a fridge and microwave which made life easy. We did not use the pool but it looked decent. The bathroom was very clean. But it looked like housekeeping did not replenish the supplies. There was enough towels and we had our own toiletries so no big deal. The beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus.

I must say, Chattanooga was a charming town. We probably would never have stopped there if we hadn't taken this road trip. We had dinner at the Mellow Mushroom. It was SO good. Excellent place to eat for some comforting food after a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

From the moment we arrived I knew I'd made a good choice when I booked this hotel. It's new, sleek, and clean. This place has all the things you want in a hotel: clean rooms & bathrooms, wonderful staff, quiet hallways, really good breakfast & great coffee, easy access from the interstate, and ample secure parking. Asked for a recommendation of someplace we could get a sandwich and were offered 2 options--both close and both delivered. Went to one place and it was great! Wow, STRONGLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#25 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.