We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not the best place to stay in Chattanooga” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shallowford

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Shallowford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shallowford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Shallowford Village Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37421   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent, but not the best place to stay in Chattanooga”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I tried this property since it was cheaper than my normal motel in the area. The front desk staff were personable, welcoming me to the motel. He checked me in quickly, telling me about the breakfast.

My room was neat and clean. The room had a flatscreen TV, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. There was no microwave in the room. The bed was quite comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast had fewer selections than other breakfasts. Biscuits and gravy were not available. Choices were cereal, pastries, muffins, bagels and waffles. The breakfast area was very small with three tables and a bar in the breakfast area, then another table by the elevator.

Checkout was quick even though the front desk staff was also trying to keep the breakfast items stocked up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
18
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night to visit the Aquarium. We were all very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and lobby area. Cannot comment on breakfast ,we did not eat breakfast..just had coffee. The gentleman at the front desk was very cheerful and helpful. We have stayed at Sleep Inns in other cities but really liked this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very run down and dirty and no one seems to care. There is visible dirt and grime on the floors in the lobby and throughout the hotel. The carpet in the room where we stayed had not been vacuumed in the space between the bed and the walls in a very long time. The furniture, walls and floors are all dirty and worn. I tried to say something to the manager and clerk at the front desk when I checked out but they just sorta stared at me and said they would tell the owner - whatever that meant. The manager did become a bit defensive when I went to the stairs in front of him with a white napkin and rubbed dirt off of ledge and showed him. He told me they have a high satisfaction rating and I told him I was a aware of the ratings because that is how I based my decision on whether or not to stay there. I question the authenticity of the reviews that are out there. This was the second time we stayed at this hotel for one night passing through on the way to vacation in Florida. When we stayed there a year ago it was questionable, but we decided to give them another chance based on recent reviews. They also debited my charge card for the cost of the room, even though the room was prepaid through Priceline. We got the room for $90 and it was a rip-off. When I called from vacation to complain about the charge on my account, the same manager did not even ask my name, he just told me "it happens." A few days later, the charge showed that it had been reimbursed to my account - but it never should have been taken in the first place. The whole experience was a bit shady and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Last thing, there was a rotten apple in the bowl on the counter at breakfast. The entire breakfast area was dirty and the bagels and muffins were old and cold. There was absolutely no one monitoring the area. We bypassed it and wished that we had bypassed this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay there until they get there act together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling from Wisconsin to Florida. The room and beds are very small so not ideal for more than 1 night for a family of 4 (with 2 teens). The room was clean and included basic amenities. The breakfast was poor with limited choices. I probably would select another hotel in the area before I would come back to the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENTWOOD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Make sure of the room you are getting when you make your reservation. We used Priceline and either we made a mistake or the system did. We were initially given a small room with one DOUBLE bed. I didn't know you could get those anymore! When we told the clerk this was unsatisfactory he was accommodating. He found a room with two queens with no uptick in costs. The problem: it was a smoking room. He said there was nothing else available. I don't know what criteria they use to determine availability, but the hotel was nearly empty. Febreeze and an open window helped. The hotel isn't all that great as far as the quality of the facilities, but it's OK if you get a good price--and the right room. Mattress was good; breakfast is mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sleep Inn at the Mall in Chattanooga. The front desk clerk (Joe) was very friendly and very helpful with recommendations for dinner. The bed was great and room was clean. The large shower has really good water pressure. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at this property for one night. We tried very little of the hotel but we had a good night's sleep. The shower had a good pressure and the cleanliness of the room (as usual) was top notch. My wife and I love staying at Sleep Inn for the comfort the slimple approach to our stay and the cleanliness. I definetely recommend this property for a one night stay with your family. The front desk staff was helpful and helped me with information of the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main entrance. It gets a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Shallowford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shallowford

Address: 2351 Shallowford Village Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shallowford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn Shallowford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shallowford Hotel Chattanooga
Sleep Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sleep Inn
Shallowford Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Shallowford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.