We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battlefield site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga, TN 37409
800 825 8366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 138 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This high, wide plateau located on top of a mountain and surrounded by perpendicular cliffs is home to three exciting attractions: Incline Railway, Ruby Falls and Rock City.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Battlefield site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

we skipped Ruby Falls and headed for the battlefield. Beautiful views, although the path markings were not great. Luckily we met people headed in the opposite direction, and they set us straight. Once you hike up to Point Park, the views are 'Wow!' Many people we spoke with said that the views are often obscured, but we had a cold, clear day. The New York Peace Monument is not to be missed.

Park at Cravens House and walk UP to Point Park. Great little hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    285
    59
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Easy, Quick Visit to Capture History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Also excellent views. Pleasant walk around the Point Park with the usual well described displays and information plaques. Just relax, learn a little and enjoy the views.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberton, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A sweet memory of high school days of field trips!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My six and seventh grade class at j.c. harris school in atlanta ga went there each year and it was so fun and especially the bloody cave where the lady and man lover died. I liked to ride the train that went up and up and then back down into the park. I will always miss it and hope that someday I can return to my hometown of Atlanta Ga to see all the exciting attractions and people again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
231 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“A true adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time here! From the treks through the tunnels to the swinging bridges, from looking out at the Seven States to Lover's Leap, it is such a lovely place and everyone should visit it. Beautiful scenery!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So much to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow...the attractions were awesome...Point Park, a National Park, blew me away. A definite! Great hiking trails at the park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.