We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to look around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga, TN 37409
800 825 8366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 138 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This high, wide plateau located on top of a mountain and surrounded by perpendicular cliffs is home to three exciting attractions: Incline Railway, Ruby Falls and Rock City.
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“great place to look around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We enjoyed the views and the history of the area. It was a good get-a-way. The incline railroad, the civil war park and os may other things to see and do.n

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    285
    59
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A lot of history and fun things to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

After visiting Rock City we drove around Lookout Mountain and found a few other interesting places. Point Park has beautiful views and a small museum with some Civil War history. I enjoyed learning about the battles that took place in the area. We also parked next to a church and hiked around "natural bridge" .... a rock formation and park. We also viewed a few other memorials on the mountain and hiked to the rifle ranges. We wanted to get to Sunset Rock, but didn't realize we had to hike to it and ran out of time during this trip.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Colors galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The mountain on a cool colorful fall day is gorgeous. Overlooking Chattanooga and the Tennesse River makes for wonderful fall pictures.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A must see. It is simply beautiful. The views from the mountain are stunning and Point park is wonderful.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The drive up the mountain is the best and seeing all the old houses and stopping in at the attractions..

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.