We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
1720 Scenic Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37409
423 821 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Attractions in Chattanooga
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed out trip to Ruby Falls and the underground waterfalls. The walk to the falls was easy although seemingly rushed. We would have liked to have had more time just to look at the rocks and the awesomeness of the formations. Give me a flashlight and let me explore. The only bad part was feeling rushed to make room for the next tour group.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    630
    334
    74
    77
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great for escaping poor weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A very informative tour with spectacular sights. The actual waterfall was very impressive and because we were in a small group we were able to really appreciate the beauty and light show.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The caves and falls were well worth the trip the falls themself were wonderfully highlighted. The guide we had was very informative and very funny her knowledge of geology was amazing not only Ruby Falls but other cavern formations in USA. The only downfall was as per usual the gift shop you have to leave by.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Although the underground hike to Ruby Falls was somewhat long, it was worth it to view the Falls and the attractive lighting utilized at the Falls. Our guide had many interesting and humorous bits of information he passed along. Well worth the time to see!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice but commercial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The trip to Ruby Falls was good and the waterfall in the caves was worth the walk, however the location is very commercial and all about selling extras. The caves themselves were great with some good rock formations and some highlighted by perfectly placed lighting. Our guide was informative but groups to large.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.