We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waterfall, so-so cave.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
1720 Scenic Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37409
423 821 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Attractions in Chattanooga
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall, so-so cave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ruby Falls was beautiful, but the cave leading to it is so-so. On a busy day, it can be pretty cramped, as the groups have to pass each other coming-in and going-out through the cave. However, it was worth the trip to me to see the falls. I suggest you buy a combo ticket for Rock City and the Incline Railroad.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    637
    335
    74
    77
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to explore if you're already visiting Rock city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

They sell a combo ticket to Rock City and Ruby Falls which saves a couple of dollars. This underground waterfall is pretty with the lights that they shine on it and the journey through the cave is neat, but it's a little underwhelming. The story of how the falls were discovered is great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not What I Remembered”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been to Ruby Falls more times than I can count so I was so excited to share this experience with my daughter and husband who had never been. I can not believe how rushed thru the whole thing we were. What I remember was tge tour taking an hour and a half and the tour guides spending a lot of time answering questions and talking about the history. We were pretty much speed walking thru the entire thing. We were a little slower and actually fell behind a good bit. The tour guide didn't seemed concerned with this at all. They took 3 elevators down at one time and we actually had to back up against the wall to let other groups pass. Time spent at the actual falls was only about 5 minutes and you couldn't even get close bc there was so many people. When we came back up I had to take a phone call and the next tour came up behind me. A very rude tour guide asked if I was going to listen to his speech (explanation of where the gift shops were). I walk with a cane and have worked up to be able to do this with my family but I had no idea we would be walking so fast and actually felt singled out by our own tour guide several times. My disability is something I'm very insecure about and I was extremely embarrassed. What used to be one of my favorite things to do in Chattanooga has become all about getting as many people in and out as quickly as possible. I actually think its dangerous how many people they put in an elevator at 1 time and how many groups they have in the cave at once. It was $50 for 2 adults and a child (7). We were all disappointed, rushed, I felt discriminated against and we won't be going back. I'm sad bc I have so many fond memories. I last visited about 10 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see while in Chattanooga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived about 9:30 am on a Sunday morning. Our tour guide was Doug B. Our experience was great! We had a good sized crowd but never felt rushed or unable to see things. The entire process is about 1 hour 10 minutes. Lots to see, and again I think having a great tour guide is key! We did the package with the Incline train and Rock city! All which is worth doing at least once in a lifetime! All if it was done in about 5 hours. And even my 16 yo son enjoyed it because it was different! Little pricey and if you do a package price then you can't use a military discount, it's one or the other but we really enjoyed our time!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are claustrophobic, you might want to pass on this one. It is about a half mile walk through the underground cave to reach a lovely underground water fall.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.