We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable attraction!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
1720 Scenic Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37409
423 821 2544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Attractions in Chattanooga
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable attraction!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were on a family mini vacay in Chattanooga in July, just wanting to see what was around that area. We debated whether or not to spend time at the Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City attractions. We finally decided to try Ruby Falls, largely because I'm a tad claustrophobic and the family enjoys my discomfort along with an interesting cave.

We were fortunate to get in rather early in the day and we ended up in a relatively small group. Some that we passed by later on the way out were much larger and I don;t know if that would have been as enjoyable. An elevator takes you down to the cave and once there the walk is easy, the sights marvelous and upon arriving at the falls you are treated to music and a light show. The guides are very informative. They do make a pitch for tips. Underground is cool but was actually very welcomed in July. We did not need a jacket or sweater.

Beside Ruby Falls is a zip line attraction associated with them. Parking seemed able and the visitor center seemed to have amble amenities. A very well operated attraction. I felt my money was well spent!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    637
    336
    74
    77
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Great Learning Experience for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had an excellent tour guide that was funny and could answer any question asked. You take an elevator down into the cave and then walk along a trail to the falls. The guide tells stories about the cave and falls while pointing out interesting formations. It was interesting and the walk was not strenuous only slippery in places. The falls are beautiful as they are lit up and music is played. It was a cool place to be on a hot day. The price is a bit high but worth one trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I went into Ruby Falls on a Chattanooga native who didn't give Ruby Falls a good review, so I wasn't expecting much. Once you get in the cave, its very nice, but it's so rushed because of timing of all the ongoing tours, so you can't stop & look at anything. It would've been nice to slow down & look instead of just passing by. There really was no time for pictures because we had to keep walking, so no posing except for the actual waterfall (which wasn't that impressive) Our tour guide made this experience memorable. I think his name is Martin. Hes an older fellow, tall so you wouldn't think he'd like going in the cave everyday. But he was very very nice & funny & knowledgeable! He made all of us laugh. If I would've had cash, I would've tipped him!!! We ate at the grill only because we were starving. It was really expensive just for a hambuger & fries. $10 !!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very unique attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a very unique attraction. The cave rock formations, stalactites, and stalagmites were nice to see and the waterfall is beautiful. However, if you are claustrophobic, you may not want to go. The paths through the caves are very narrow and low.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome sight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the walk through the cave, the tour guide was a bit on the cheesy side i'd rather just hear the facts and see the cave and falls but i'm sure some people like that.
Was a beautiful sight when we got to the falls, we only had to move over for one other tour coming back from seeing the falls and I didn't find it an issue and still wouldn't have if there had been more. I would recommend if you're in the area to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.