We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had bedbugs and refused refund.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Host Inn
115 Woods Ave., Caryville, TN 37714   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Caryville B&B and Inns
1 review
“Had bedbugs and refused refund.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My 3 year old saw a little bug on the bed. We moved the mattresses and were horrified to find bedbugs hiding in crevice of bottom mattress and dried blood marks on mattress. We put one bug in a cup and brought it to office to our surprise she accused me of placing them in bed and were just trying to get a refund. She actually told me not to leave the bedbugs in her hotel. Really lady??? We didn't even shower we just got out as quickly as possible. I freaked out when I saw bites on my baby and showed another person at hotel pics. She said they had bites as well.. STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Yes, Budget. No frills. Don't expect a buffet breakfast. In fact, the honey bun was inedible. But, I was very pleased with immaculate, nearly new tile in bathroom. Good tv reception. Good bed. Good deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Me and my husband were traveling to Michigan to meet family and we decided to stop for the night. The hotel was up on the hill but the view next day was beautiful with the leaves changing. The room was clean and comfortable beds. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in there king size bed room which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach FL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

One night stay on a Friday evening in mid-September. Room was clean with basic furnishings. A/C, lights and plumbing all worked fine. For $40 I wasn't expecting the Ritz and I thought it was a good value. Property is up on a hill and access isn't the easiest due to the steep hill. The parking lot had a huge pothole that wasn't marked and could be a hazard at night if you didn't know it was there. I thought the staff at check-in and check-out was pleasant and they gave me the directions to the Ridge BBQ restaurant over at Cove Lake that were easy to understand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When you arrive, the check-in girl, who speaks very poor english, will inform you, if you ask, that their continental breakfast (which is coffee and a honeybun only) will be served between 7-9am. But when you return for breakfast, you will discover that even though it is 7:20am, the door to the office is locked and a sign tells you to ring the bell for service. When the same check-in girl finally lets you in, and you mention that breakfast is, as she told you,supposed to be from 7-9am and should now be served, she will inform you that, "You are first customer today." She will rush to bring out the honeybuns and then glare at you.

When you check in, you may ask for a 'quiet room'. But even though there are no other customers in the lower level of this motel, the check-in girl will assign you the room closest to 1-75. You will point out your request and the proximity of that room to the freeway and ask for a room that is not next to it. She will grudgingly assign you a room three doors down.

When you initally get to your room, you will flick the switch to the left of the door and nothing will happen. When you attempt to take a bath, you will note that there is no soap. You will recall that even while visiting cheap motels in Cambodia, they had soap. When you phone the front desk and inquire as to whether or not they supply soap, they will say it should already be by the sink, (it isn't) but they will see if they can find some and you can then pick it up at the office.
Hopefully when you visit, it's not cold. The heater, when set on low fan heat, will eventually start blowing cold air.

Just because a place is budget priced, the service and room condition shouldn't be this rotten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had been traveling all day and needed a place to stay. we decided to stay at this hotel and it was a really good choice. The staff was so nice and the rooms were very nice for the rate we paid for it. I will definitely recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

There were ants all over bed and in bathroom. Musty smelling. Desk clerk argued with me that there weren't bugs and didn't want to give me a refund. Then, after I had taken a business card she took it out of my hand and said I couldn't keep it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 115 Woods Ave., Caryville, TN 37714
Location: United States > Tennessee > Caryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.