We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the memorial was worth the effort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patsy Cline Memorial

Patsy Cline Memorial
Mt. Carmel Road, Camden, TN 38320
(731) 584-8395
Improve this listing
Spring Hill, Tennessee
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Visiting the memorial was worth the effort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I recently moved to Tennessee and decided that we were going to take in some of the sites. This afternoon we made a pilgrimage to the crash site where the wonderfully talented Patsy Cline lost her life. It was a humbling experience to walk down that gravel path, going deeper into the woods until we reached the large stone that is carved with the names of the individuals who lost their lives in that tragic plane crash. My thoughts as I stood there ranged from what a tragedy and loss for not only their families but also for the fans, too what a legacy she left behind in her music. Take the time and make the effort, it's worth the walk!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visited the site on 10/28/09”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We visited the site on the above date and apparently the footing was been very improved with a gravel path leading directly to the rock. While the new path is steep, it allows very easy access to the rock and the memory board. You can no longer park where you'll be blocked in because that area has been completely blocked off. There's now parking on the road that appears to have been also improved with a gravel surface. It was a great way to pay tribute to one of the greatest country singers and one of my personal favorites. There appears to be supplies to improve the overlook and there's now a very nice enterance leading to the new gravel walkway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I went to the Pasty Cline Memorial today and i would have to say i was very disappointed, i though that it was going to be a beautiful amazing place to go, (even tho something sad has happened there) but i was wrong, the place is trashed and not kept up at all. Fake flowers that are faded garbage every were, not what a memorial should be...I know that i don't know Pasty but she deserves better then what she was giving........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can view site from top of hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Althought the previouse visitor states that the hill is very steep and difficult to acess the entire site can be viewed from the top of the hill.

I have very bad knees and knew I would not be able to climb down or up from the actual crash site .but the Large rock with inscription can be seen from the top of the hill since it is a short distance away.

The entire site is laid out with parking area and turn arounds.
There is a open space near the memorial collage at the top of the hill. If not alot of people are at the site you can park right next to the collage.

I have to warn you that when you stop there might not be anyone there but others can show up quite quickly. We visited the site again March 2008 and when we arrived we were the only ones there and parked in the open space and with in a few minutes there were several other cars there also. So one might want to parking in the parking lot to avoid someone blocking you in or creating difficulty backing out of open space. the site is not that large so visiters do come and go with in a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbern, Tennessee
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
“Nice memorial, but a VERY steep walk is required to see part of it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

On March 5, 1963, a single-engine plane carrying country music singer Patsy Cline, and three others, crashed in the rugged forested terrain, near Camden, Tennessee. There were no survivors.

Today the plane crash spot is marked with a stone marker, and an information kiosk is at the top of the hill above it. The stone marker's inscription reads:

On this site
March 5, 1963
PATSY CLINE
COWBOY COPAS
HAWKSHAW HAWKINS
RANDY HUGHES
Lost their lives in a plane crash
In loving memory
July 6, 1996

Finding the site is not hard. It is located on Mt. Carmel Road, and there are signs. Mt. Carmel Road joins U.S. 641 just north of the intersection of U.S. 641 and Business U.S. 70 (West Main Street), in Camden. You drive about three miles along Mt. Carmel Road. You then will come to a gravel parking area, where the information kiosk stands. The rock marker is down below. That rock marker is one tough place to go and see. I cannot emphasize that enough.

The gravel road down to the marker is about 50 yards long, but is incredibly steep. You will not be able to drive to it, and walking down to it will require you to have good walking shoes, and walking abilities. If you can't walk sideways and at angles, don't go down. On my climb back up, I had to nearly crawl in spots, it seems, and had to grab hold of tree limbs, or whatever I could find to help. I told my wife to stay at the top of the hill.

The information kiosk at the top, which is easily accessible, has photos of Patsy, plus of the accident, and tells the story of what happened. The site is free, and open during daylight hours.

It is a historic site, especially to Patsy Cline fans, but be prepared for a harsh climb to see the actual spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patsy Cline Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patsy Cline Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.