We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Mountain Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Mountain Inn B&B
Save Saved
You added Iron Mountain Inn B&B to your Saves list
268 Moreland Drive, Butler, TN 37640   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$165 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 1 Butler B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great views and amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

While it is far from certain, I can only imagine it is very unlikely that we would have ever found the Iron Mountain Inn if we had not planned to do so. As it is, we had made reservations in advance, mapped our way there, had it on GPS and still had a heck of a time finding the place. But eventually we figured out the way around the bridge construction (that may or may not have actually been bridge construction), followed a winding route to the inn and made out way to the top. Only to find that the other way down is a whole lot faster.

Regardless, the perch near the top of the mountain is amazing, especially if you should happen to be there in the fall leaf season, as we were. The views across the valley (I do not know if this term is actually the correct one, but it seems right) allows you to see for what seems miles, and the colors on the trees goes on and on.

Inside the inn is perhaps not as huge - you are in what is essentially a large house. It is a nice one for being nestled in amongst the mountains, but it is not a giant place by any means. Much more like a bed and breakfast - of which we passed several (or at least, that is what the signs said). Our innkeeper was very friendly, even offering to tell us where the endless cookie jar was found when someone - who shall remain nameless - could not find it.

Breakfast in the morning was a tasty way to start the day for the next stage of our trip, and finding the way out again was much, much easier than finding the way in. Definitely a worthwhile stop if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    10
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
89
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We took a group of ladies from our ladies golf association to the Iron Mountain Inn. We rented the entire Inn. The kitchen was great, the views are spectacular, and the common area is perfect for evening refreshments, fellowship and laughter as you enjoy the pristine mountain setting. We played Red Tail Mountain golf course only 15 miles away, hiked the AT and took a spin around beautiful Lake Watauga. As always, Vicki is most accomodating and ensures everything is perfect...right down to the "bottomless cookie jar."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

What a wonderful relaxing weekend! The house was so well equipped, even had spices :-) We hiked, kayaked, and swam. It was all just wonderful! I think two of my favorite things were the fire pit where we spent the evening chatting with our family while making s'mores and the swing/chaise lounge on the deck where you could still enjoy the outdoors while avoiding the sun. We would definitely, definitely rent the lake house again! Oh, I forgot to mention, our dogs had a blast swimming in the lake as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I just spent three days over Memorial Day weekend with Vickie at Iron Mountain Inn and had a wonderful time! We had found it because of a Groupon and I'm so glad we did. We booked the Family Memories room which was a good size with a king bed, balcony, whirlpool tub, and a steam shower (which my husband now wants to put in our bathroom at home!). The Inn is very large with sitting areas downstairs, a dining room, and a huge outside wraparound deck with gorgeous views of the mountains. Vickie always had snacks on hand, from the "bottomless cookie jar" to muffins and breads upstairs near the coffee maker. She also had tons of games available and if you needed something she usually had something that would work (she was able to supply us with a bottle of wine our first night and beach towels for another guest that forget them). She was very relaxed with all of the guests and it felt more like visiting a favorite aunt than staying at a B&B.

Breakfast was great every morning and she cooks dinner (for an additional charge) on Saturday night and that was also fun. The other guests were also just as relaxed and since we were having such a great time Saturday night she even lit a few fireworks for us :) We spent some of the time relaxing on the deck or chatting with Vickie but also drove to Damascus, VA (40 mins) to ride the Virginia Creeper Trail and went horseback riding, which was a 10 minute walk out of Vickie's front door.

My husband isn't typically a big fan of B&Bs but even he enjoyed our stay there so much that I believe he'd be willing to go back. High praise!! But truly, there isn't one thing I would change about our visit there :)

Room Tip: Every room has slightly different amenities. The Family Memories room, where we stayed, has a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Not only are the views spectacular and engaging, my fiance also proposed to me here! We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed a hike each day, as well as napping in the hammock on the deck overlooking the mountains. The wrap around deck offers 3 stellar views! There are lots of areas to sit, read, share wine and stories. Miss Vicki made us DELICIOUS breakfasts -- I loved the fresh strawberries, whipped cream and chocolate chips to start out our one breakfast! Our second night there, Miss Vicki made us a 4 course meal! It was so cute because she even dressed in her chef's uniform! After dinner, when everyone was enjoying wine and conversation on the deck, my boyfriend (at that moment) took me upstairs to our room's private balcony and pretended we were taking pictures, then got down on one knee and proposed! The best part (aside from saying yes).......Miss Vicki set off fireworks for us!!! It was so touching! She was so super sweet and was in on it the whole time! She made us feel so special and welcomed (even before the proposal). I would recommend this Inn to anyone wanting to get away from it all for a few nights! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had the Green Room, which has a private balcony overlooking the mountains and a whirlpool tub in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband I spent two nights at this peaceful paradise. We loved Vicki and the views.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

From the moment you arive, you are pampered. The views are awesome, the air is fresh. You can sit on the deck and watch wildlife all day or go for a hike. The AT is close and will challenge most hikers. Most of all, you can just get away. Vikki is a great host and friend. She has books and games you can read and play. You just have to try it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some have a steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Mountain Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Mountain Inn B&B

Address: 268 Moreland Drive, Butler, TN 37640
Location: United States > Tennessee > Butler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Butler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer heat has given way to summer rains. But no matter, plenty of hours for hiking, swimming, boating, biking or exploring these beautiful mountains.When you visit the Iron Mountain Inn B&B, there are not enough hours in a day or a week to accomplish everything there is to do in Johnson County and surrounding states. After all, we are snuggled between Boone, NC and Damascus/Abingdon, VA. We like to say, "we are 45 minutes from everything", and plenty to do right on the 140 acres surrounding the Inn.Watauga Lake is just down the road for fishing, swimming, and boating.Virginia Creeper Trail is just over the mountain for downward biking.But many guests enjoy just relaxing on our open decks in the rocking chairs while we offer them our "Pampering Perfected" service. Cold drinks and snacks including the famous Iron Mountain Inn B&B chocolate chip cookies.Come, share the magic of the mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Mountain Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.