We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 620 State Restaurant and Venue

620 State Restaurant and Venue
620 State St, Bristol, TN 37620-2246
(423) 652-0314
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 73 restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
abingdon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The value for the money is great. Awesome sushi... egg drop soup and wontons cannot be beat. Trendy atmosphere. Service is terrible, we have eaten there on multiple occasions, always the same bad service. Hostess and wait staff act like they are doing you a huge favor to seat or wait on you. We have always eaten there Saturday afternoons when it is not very crowded so I can't understand why the service sucks. I love eating there but don't go as much because of the poor service. I always run out of drink etc.... great food. Wait staff should take tips from the kitchen staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    25
    22
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Very wide variety on the menu. They have very good sushi and a great selection.

Others in my party had fish and chicken selections, all were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“diverse menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friends and I went to visit one of our best friends and we ended up eating at this restaurant because we were downtown Bristol and were hungry. This was not a planned restaurant visit, but man, did we pick the right one! The menu is so diverse that we all found things that we truly craved! The drunken noodles were amazing as were the fish tacos and the hummus appetizer platter. We had a great time! The service was wonderful, she took our picture and they even let us dance on the stage! =)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A VERY PLEASANT EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a MAGNIFICENT job of repurposing a very old building.
The interior has a warehouse-type look and feel to it - VERY large and VERY open.
But it's surprisingly quiet.
Service was excellent on both visits, and the food was very good.
A couple minor issues were quickly resolved, with NO hassle.
Asian cuisine seems to be the specialty of the house, but the menu is very diverse, with a HUGE selection.
The Crab Dip is outstanding - if they don't get carried away with the bread crumbs.

EXCELLENT wi fi reception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Badger Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this restaurant located in downtown Bristol on a Sunday evening when most others were closed. What a plaeasant surprise. Beer selections were plenty and my stirfry selection was excellent. The crowd was light that night but the waitstaff still passed our booth with delicious looking appetizers and meals being served to the outside diners. This restaurant is located in an old but recently renovated buiding and has alot of seating area and a long bar. I can imagine it must be quite the night spot on certain nights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 620 State Restaurant and Venue also viewed

 

Been to 620 State Restaurant and Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 620 State Restaurant and Venue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.