We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Bristol to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Bristol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Commonwealth Ave, Bristol, TN 24201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Drove here from New Jersey on our way to Texas. We did not arrive until 3am and were desperate for a bed. There was a sign outside that said use phone. I picked up the phone and the manager answered. He promptly greeted me and my fiancé. Not only did we get a room but he saved us $10 more than the selling rate on here. Hotel gives easy access to I-81 and they have a continental breakfast for when we got back on the road. We are very satisfied and would stay again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here because it was close to the bus station for our trip back to work . i called for a price about an hour before we arrived was quoted 54.95 for 2 people. My husband went in to pay and it was raised to 68.95. We checked in around 10 pm and were there about 3 hours when the toilet stopped up. My husband called the desk and was told to come get a plunger. He was livid and asked where the maintenance man was. He was told there wasnt one. He told the clerk he was going to complain in the morning but went down. Ended up we had to change rooms at 2 am in the pouring rain . We got into the second room it smelled like wet animals and the beds were as hard as stone. It was clean enough but full of stink bugs. Breakfast was scant and they even pulled the coffee at 9 am. No coffee pots in the rooms. The location is right on a main road into town and very busy so the room was noisy . Tv was ok but old. All and all we wont be staying here again unless desperate.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs and your own coffee if you want more than 1 cup in the am .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very friendly at check-in, accepted the motel coupon. We stayed two nights, Wi-fi worked good. Room was very clean and quiet. Comfortable bed and nice pillows. New fluffy towels. Nice computer desk with plenty of outlets on a power bar. We had a laptop, printer, and cellphone all plugged in at once. Very good coffee and juice at the lobby. Very friendly and nice staff. We do plan to stay here again, as we are looking for real estate in the Bristol area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

While the room was clean and contained a refrigerator and microwave, that's about all the good I can say for this place. I did not feel entirely safe in this neighborhood. It is very run down. My husband and I chose this Econo Lodge because it was the only one in the area that accepted pets. The shower flow was very low. Could never hook-up to the free WiFi. Very sparse complimentary breakfast in lobby which consisted of coffee, juice, mini donuts, muffins, cereal and milk. No hot foods! No tables in lobby. You have to take your food back to your room. We had 2 double beds in our room that were fairly comfortable. No flat screen tv, (older analog tv), no hairdryer, no iron and no ironing board. This is a 2-story hotel, but no elevator, so if you can't climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. Pets allowed for a $10.00/night fee. Seems they are in the process of updating, but for $90.00 a night, (including pet), they provided the barest of necessities for a high price in my opinion. I've stayed at other hotels for the same price and received a lot more. I will say that the desk staff is very friendly. Would I stay here again? I would have to think about it and then ONLY if I was desperate.

Room Tip: Although this EconoLodge is located in Bristol, Virginia, the website has them listed in Bristol, Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived in Bristol after making very long detour in Knoxville. Decided to stop for night - probably should have driven longer. The motel was a low average - fairly clean looking but just didn't feel comfortable. Lot of construction workers staying here but place was quiet. We were placed on back side which caused some concern but it was quieter. This whole area needs updating or closing - should try northern side of Bristol.

Room Tip: Drive further -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Check in was at 3, we got there at 4 and our room was being "cleaned" meaning the bedspread on one of the beds was wadded up and the door wide open. Thanks to the door being open our room was infested with stink bugs. The carpet felt damp as well as the "clean" stained towels. The one bed that we did not see them change the linens was stained with some brown yellow mystery substance. As we were continuously cleaning the stink bugs out of the room we noticed our smoke detector didn't even have batteries in it. The door had such a gap on top and on bottom that we shoved towels in them to keep the bugs at bay. Despite our efforts to keep the bugs out we couldn't control them so we asked for another room within the first hour of being there. We were promptly given another room and this room had a pack of cigarettes in the freezer. The housekeeper admitted to only cleaning one bed in the first room because the other bed was already made. There was hair on our bathroom door and what looked like pubes in the shower. "Free WiFi" was never accessible. When we checked out I questioned this and the woman who didn't speak any english got an eight year old boy to talk to me. He found the wifi password and username on a post it note behind the desk. And apparently there was a shuttle bus to the festival 1 mile down the road that was never mentioned to us the entire weekend we were there. The room had two outlets period. None in or near the mirror or bathroom. The clock didn't work at all either. We had to unplug the lamp for our phone chargers. All this coupled with loud traffic and neighbors at 2 am walking around in hooker heels made for a sleep deprived weekend. Also don't eat at Alfredo's next door unless you want your order wrong, cold and love diarrhea. We had to leave the festival early the last day due to GI distress.
PS I am writing this while all of my luggage and clothes are tied in bags hoping to kill any bed bugs that I'm sure were in this place. I have stayed at many hotels and use to think all I need is a toilet and a bed, not anymore!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front near the road were cleaner and looked like newer appliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had some concerns after reading 2012 reviews, however, we had difficulty finding a pet friendly room last minute Sign said "Under New Management". Staff was accommodating. We found the room clean, freshly painted and somewhat updated.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Bristol

Address: 912 Commonwealth Ave, Bristol, TN 24201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.