We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations and even better people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Prairie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitewood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Prairie Lodge
Save
You added High Prairie Lodge to your Saves list
11904 Crook City Road, Whitewood, SD 57793   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Whitewood B&B and Inns
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations and even better people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I highly recommend High Prairie Lodge to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice relaxing stay in the Spearfish Deadwood areas of the Hills. Teri and her family are wonderful people who treated me like a friend during my recent two day stay. You can't go wrong with this place...and the breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

High Prairie Lodge has been my B&B of choice for 2 years after stumbling upon it. Teri and her family put alot of work into taking the utmost care of her clients, to the point that you no long feel as if you are a client, but rather, part of their family. We had four staying with them for a week and each day at dinner found ourselves wondering what the next morning's gourmet breakfast would have in store for us. The facilities are beautiful as well as peacefulness and tranquility as you relax after dark. A must visit for anyone seeking excellence! I will continue to stay with HPL and give the highest recommendation to anyone desiring a trip to South Dakota!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at 4 great b&b's in Blackhills and Badlands and they were all fabulous including this renovated farmhouse/stable. Just seeing the fantastic renovations, let alone the 'long' view of ranchland and deer, were enough. Then add the great breakfasts and the kind host and her mom and it's over the top!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very peaceful location in the country. Beautifully restored old rock home with a wonderful innkeeper. Breakfast was delicious and we did not go away hungry. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I had the most wonderful time during my stay at High Prairie Lodge. Teri was a wonderful cook and host. The Inn was very comfortable and clean. I wish I lived there! I found the recommendations she made on the local sights and restaurants to visit very helpful and accurate. The Inn is also in a convenient location from Rapid City, Deadwood, Lead, Mt. Rushmore, and Custer, so I never had too far to drive. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the High Prairie Lodge during the Black Hills Motorcycle Rally (August 8th - 11th). This Bed and Breakfast is located in a late 1800's farmhouse that has been remodeled to accomidate it's guests in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. The owners, Dave and Teresa, and Teresa's mother Judy live on site and often join their guests for breakfast and refreshments in a family style setting. They also offer outfitting and guide services and are an excellent resource for activities in the area.

Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Prairie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Prairie Lodge

Address: 11904 Crook City Road, Whitewood, SD 57793
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Whitewood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whitewood
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point your car down Crook City Road as it winds through "Centennial Valley" in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. The past meets the present at "High Prairie Lodge" an elegantly restored "1890" stone farmhouse on the South Dakota Historical Register. A full breakfast is served at 9:00 am, but actually starts earlier, with smells reminiscent of Grandma's house drifting through the lodge, tantalizing you to get up and enjoy a very hearty gourmet breakfast as you prepare to start your day (we use only the finest ingredients and organic produce). While staying at HPL you are within easy traveling to historic Deadwood-7 miles, Spearfish Canyon-5 miles, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the famous Sturgis Harley Davidson Rally-9 miles, fly fishing, golfing, hiking, biking, boating and sightseeing. End your day enjoying a scrumptious homemade dessert by the fire or on the porch. Sit around the campfire or star gaze while soaking in the hot tub. Leave your cares behind when you experience the hospitality and tranquility that awaits you at "High Prairie Lodge." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Prairie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.