We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often a line on Sundays, but turnover is fast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grainery

The Grainery
3800 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201
(605) 882-3950
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 58 Restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Clark, SD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Often a line on Sundays, but turnover is fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fast service, wide selection of sandwiches, dinners, & breakfast is served all day. Generous portions, usually full parking lot. Staff knowledgeable of local attractions.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just off I-29 and right next to the Holiday Inn Express. The menu selection was impressive and moderately priced. Service was very prompt and good. Recommend the bison burger!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The service was pretty good, but awful forgetful. I had a pulled pork sandwich and it was tasteless if you could find the meat around the big piece of fat that was in there. Lets literally say the sandwich was 8oz, then that would mean that I had 6oz of fat in my sandwich. Why complain? I just wont go back. i have been there several times before and I haven't been impressed any of those times.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had been to the Grainery a few times and had decent food and service. But this last time we waited for about 10 minutes before someone brought us some water and said they would be back to take our order. We watched the server take a couple more orders, serve some coffee and bring out orders (didn't know which customers they belonged to). We finally left after another 10 minutes. The server saw us leave and never said anything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Just your basic diner. Salad doesn't even have tomatoes. Just lettuce! The flat iron steak was supposed to one of the best per the menu. It was orderd medium and came out well done! Thanks to A1 for saving the meal. At least the beer is cold!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grainery also viewed

 
 

Been to The Grainery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grainery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.