We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two hours waiting for very average rib-eye” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clifford's Steak & Ale

Clifford's Steak & Ale
101 North Broadway, Watertown, SD 57201-3642
605-753-5540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yachats, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two hours waiting for very average rib-eye”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

First, we drove 50 miles with anticipation. True, they warned us when we arrived it would be a 45 minute wait for food. Meanwhile...no service of any kind for 45 minutes: no water, no drink, nada. Then we got miserable cheese balls. Again, WAIT. There was one table of 20 which was served as we arrived, and I realize that slows things down, however, not to a dead halt! After 1 hour and 50 minutes we finally got our food. The rib eye was a slab of meat with no flavor. A baked potato...and I had to ask for butter and sour cream after it was delivered. Texas toast?? Wonderbread toasted with butter. The salad was a few leaves of iceberg...the blue cheese dressing had to be some off brand from a discount market .

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, South Dakota
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The food is always pretty good which is why we always go back. Mainly for the garlic burger. The service is the problem. We always eat in the bar area and I swear the waitress runs the hotel, bar and waits on all the tables. No fault of her own if that is what is the problem. Also I would skip the side salad as it is the most basic, sad, watery little salad you will ever eat.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, SD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We had an excellent meal with good service. I had the barbecue ribs and they were one of the best meals of ribs I have ever had.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Evening and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Went to Cliffords after hearing reviews from business owners in Watertown. Spent my 50th birthday their and the ribs meet what everyone says. They are awesome. Very nice place and the staff are wonderful.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We have had the best soups and food at Clifford's Steakhouse in Watertown, S.D.! Tonight I had a bowl of Vegetable beef soup. So good on a cold S.D. Night. My husband had Nantucket Tilaipia. It was the best. The service was excellent! Good food and service. Can't be beat! Myla

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifford's Steak & Ale also viewed

 

Been to Clifford's Steak & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifford's Steak & Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.