We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson Shore Inn
Save
You added Johnson Shore Inn to your Saves list
9984 Route 16 | Hermanville, RR #3 Souris, Hermanville, Prince Edward Island PE COA 2BO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hermanville B&B and Inns
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I was first attracted to this inn when I saw the picture in the PEI tourist book. It kept jumping out to me, so when I knew we needed a place to stay in PEI, I had to choose this. I'm pleased to say it was a great choice!
Hubby and I biked from tip to tip and on our last day, this is where we stayed. It was so relaxing after a week of biking! The view is amazing! We never got to meet the innkeepers, as we arrived later in the evening, but Nova was more than hospitable to us when we met her in the morning! We had enjoyed a great breakfast with a spectaular view! We had a lovely chat with Nova about the area and history, as my grandmother was raised in the Souris area, so it meant alot to me to hear.
I highly recommend this place to stay and I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The Johnson Shore Inn was the perfect destination to relax, get away from the chaos of urban life, and renew our spirits. The Inn is in the northeast part of PEI and away from the hustle and bustle of other, more touristed areas of the island, though it is still within 15-20 minute scenic drive from town (Souris), shopping, and parks (Greenwich Dunes).

We didn't even have to leave our 2nd floor room to appreciate the beautiful views of red cliffs meeting tranquil blue seas along the jagged shoreline. The lush green landscape, the brilliant red-brown soil and deep blue seas and sky are a photographer's dream, and we took lots of pictures of the surroundings and the rich sunsets. Breakfast was at a reasonable hour, also allowing us to sleep in and take our time without feeling rushed in the morning. Our hosts, Arla and Julie, were always friendly, gracious, and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to get away from it all for a few days, or as a peaceful "home base" to return to in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
speaks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

In July 2009 we discovered a wonderful Bed & Breakfast on Prince Edward Island in Canada. I was attracted to the Johnson Shore Inn by the aerial photo advertisement in the local brochures. My husband and I were looking for something nice with a water view that was "away from it all" and the Johnson Shore Inn delivered all that and more. Secluded and quiet with a never-ending view we slept soundly in the beautifully decorated B & B. All rooms have views but treat yourself to one of the front rooms with the expansive view. The rooms were impeccably clean yet you still felt like you were a guest in someone's home. Inn owners Arla Johnson and Julie Shore have created a heavenly retreat on the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. Breakfast was fabulous and we especially enjoyed the cranberry shortbread. We left the Johnson Shore Inn relaxed, refreshed and ready to return at the very next opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We are avid travelers, from US to Europe always seeking something different and hopefully have a memorable experience. Arla and Julie are top notch Inn Keepers. The rooms are immaculate, tastefully decorated, and if you want a view, you got it as most room have full exposure of the beautiful surroundings. The Inn sucks you in with being so welcoming, beginning with the drive down this long road just to get to the Inn. Then the road opens up and you see this breath taking view of the ocean and Inn. Looking forward to touring the new distillery on our next trip this year. Arla and Julie have a ton of energy, starting you off with a beautiful breakfast hands down and then routing you in whatever directions your interest might be that day. TV - no thank goodness there are none to be found which really adds to the tranquility. Restful...you gotta love it. If you have a chance to get in on dinner at the Inn be sure to as that was a highlight of our trip. Thank you and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

The setting for the Johnson Shore Inn cannot be beat! It is perched atop the red-soil cliffs on the northeastern shore and is stunningly beautiful! We stayed in room #9, a corner suite with such spectacular views, we hated to leave our room . . . especially at sunset. Arla's breakfasts are wonderful, and a great start to the day!

  • Liked — Beauty of the location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Although spectacularly beautiful, the location is a little remote.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

We were impressed with the immediate responses to emails and phone calls as we were attempting to plan our wedding. What we weren't impressed with was the innability to compromise when it came to our service animal. We had to change our wedding plans and find another place to stay. We did not encounter this problem any where else with any of the other properties as it is actually ILLEGAL to deny a service animal entrance to a property as they are not pets they are working animals for the disabled. We were very disappointed that we could not stay at this inn with it's amazing reviews, and we will not be recommending this inn to others.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookit, Owner at Johnson Shore Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
It should be noted, we were note aware of "a service dog" with the reservation until the guest arrived on site.The guests arrived with a large golden retriever and stated it was used to "detect food allergies".
The booking was for a guest room on the second floor. Since we are a pet free Inn due to allergies other guest may have to dogs and cats, we offered them a lovely sea side room on the first floor next to an exit door. They would not accept this room and left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed on vacation. It was completely relaxing, and the location is simply unparalleled. The pictures do not lie. The beach (albeit rocky) is gorgeous. I did not want to leave.
Most importantly were the innkeepers, Arla and Julie: they epitomized gracious service without being overbearing. They were incredibly warm and friendly.
Don't look elsewhere in eastern PEI: stay here! We had to spend the 3rd night at the Inn at Bay Fortune because they were booked for a wedding.--- what a downer after staying at the Johnson Shore Inn.
You won't regret it.

  • Liked — Location on the rocky cliff; the amazing innkeepers
  • Disliked — There were a ton of mosquitos...bring bug spray!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Shore Inn

Address: 9984 Route 16 | Hermanville, RR #3 Souris, Hermanville, Prince Edward Island PE COA 2BO, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Hermanville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, comfortable en-suite rooms and delicious local fare served in our licensed dining room. Full hot or cold breakfast for guests. Secluded but close to Souris and many local attractions including deep sea tuna fishing charters, golf and the Magdalene Island ferry. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson Shore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.