We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western, Wall, SD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plains Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wall
1 review
“Best Western, Wall, SD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This motel is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay. We have stayed here before and will do so again in the future. The staff is very pleasant and the breakfast was nice. The location of the facility provides excellent access to the Badlands National Park, our reason for being in Wall.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
We appreciate your business and your comments. We hope you pass the word to your friends and thank you for staying with Best Western. We hope to see you again.


Jackie Heathershaw
manager
November 16, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    51
    24
    12
See reviews for
98
69
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vernon SD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We showed up without reservations, tired from a long day, unsure where to stay or go to eat. The check in was warm and welcome. The staff even helped us find a restaurant still open with great food. The bed was oh so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with Best Western. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again sometime.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We had a reservation When I checked in, I asked for a room on the first floor, there is no elevator. The clerk got unpleasant and told me it is more noisy on the first floor, obviously trying to talk me out of it. Another person behind the counter told her to give us room 30, she said no and gave us a room on the street, with parting words, it's noisy there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
I apologize for my front desk staff not being more friendly and accommodating to you. that is not acceptable conduct for my staff. They will be spoken to about this situation. Please accept our apologies and thank you for staying with Best Western.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
October 18, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Everything worked. The pool and hot tub were nicely done in their own building. This property doesn't do anything for diamond member of Best Western Rewards and in Wall I would have really appreciated a bottle of water because the tap water was very pungent and hard.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We will strive to make our place a better experience for all.
We want to be better than average. Also wanted to tell you that our diamond members get 250 extra bonus points towards their stay with us.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
October 18, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I will admit, stopping in the tiny town of Wall for the night made me nervous about the quality of hotel options we would have. We chose this Best Western because it seemed the best on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. I thought our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. I would absolutely come back to this hotel, and recommend it to others!
The only thing I will say for area of improvement is that I went to the pool/hot tub that evening. The hot tub had a visibly noticeable layer of yellow/green on the surface of the water near the steps. I tried to grab it with a towel, but it reformed. I decided to get in the hot tub anyway, so I got in at the other end of the tub. I then did notice the wall surfaces had a layer of residue on them. It was pretty noticeable. My assessment would be that the hot tub needed drained, physically scrubbed/wiped out, and then refilled - not just more chlorine added. I showered as soon as I got back to my room. Other than that - the hotel was great!
If you visit, make sure you go spend some time wandering around the infamous Wall Drug! It was so awesome and charming! :)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for staying Best Western. We are glad you enjoyed our town. Sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. WE will make sure our maintenance crew gets your message. We hope to see you in Wall again sometime.

Jackie Heatherhsaw
manager
October 9,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

After a long and tiring travel day, we spent the night and then had a casual leisurely morning. We were very disappointed to find out they stopped breakfast at 9 AM. It was a mid-week morning but in a tourist area. Disappointing...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
I am so sorry for your inconvenience and we will look into getting longer hours on our breakfast. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you in Wall again soon.

Jackie Heatherhshaw
manager
October 6, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughesville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Hotel staff a little rigid at checkin. Very friendly at checkout. Hotel close to downtown Wall. Was more than happy with breakfast selection. Folks were very friendly and seemed to be interested in all travelers. Dinner was at a home stlye restauraunt we asked about at Wall Drug.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
thank you for your comments after staying with us at the Best Western. We are glad you had a good experience.
We hope to see you again sometime.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
Oct 5, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.