We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Save
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list
608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We choose to book at the Sunshine Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed in the least. The room was very clean and comfortable, and one of the better nights of sleep we had on our three week trip across the country. The rate was reasonable and the experience so good that we have already recommended the property to other travelers going to that area. Ice and spare towels are available at the office, along with great recommendations for local dining, and the morning continental breakfast. The breakfast was a little on the light side, but in line with the rate of the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    83
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
113
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We spent one night at the Sunshine Inn. I liked it but not as much as many previous reviewers.

In fairness, the place is just what it claims to be: moderately priced and reasonably maintained with good service and value. We experienced all of those qualities but it didn’t live up to overstatements like “spotless” and “extremely clean” that we read here on TA.

My first impression of our non-smoking room was the unmistakable ground-in odor of cigarettes. In-room amenities included cable TV, telephone, and hand-soap. Free Wi-Fi worked well. Other standard amenities were available upon request. As we expected, the room was Spartan and stark: no wall decorations and furnishings included a small table, two chairs, a bedside table, a small coat rack, and a chest-of-drawers.

The only significant source of dissatisfaction was outside noise. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I slept like a baby but only after what sounded like a buffalo stampede upstairs had settled down for the night. I think it was people walking on the second-floor outdoor walkway. I recommend a second-floor room to minimize the noise. We left at 5am, so I had no chance to mention it to the proprietor.

By all means, stay here if you need a room in Wall or near the Badlands. It is an older, independently run motel whose owners obviously take pride in providing value and courteous service.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
As with any public facility, a certain amount of noise and commotion must be expected, especially during the summertime when families travel. Our policy here is to put a stop to such noise at 11 p.m., which is probably the time that this reviewer noted that the hubbub ended and that he/she could get some sleep. This is about the best we can do. We continue to strive for excellence in cleanliness and are glad that the reviewer found the room to be "reasonably" clean, though as he noted, the vast majority of our other reviewers use phrases like "spotless" to describe our housekeeping. As to the cigarette odor in a non-smoking room, we couldn't detect it in any of our rooms after reading this review--however, if the reviewer had requested another room we would have cheerfully accommodated the request. As the reviewer said, we strive to give the best possible value in lodging to our customers and will do everything possible to rectify a problem when it is called to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendota heights,mn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

we stayed at the Sunshine Inn in Wall south Dakota again. We stop there every year on the way to the Black Hills. John the proprietor is so nice and helpful, the motel is 1/2 block to Wall drug and the various restaurants. it is convenient, economical, clean and they have put in new very comfortable pillowtop beds. We will be going back next year!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The owner is on site and wants to be sure you are 100% satisfied. Rooms are older decor, but spotless and comfortable. Location is best in town if you are going to Wall Drug, only a block away, but away from hustle. Could sleep with window open. If you have a problem with stairs, be aware that there is no elevator to 2nd floor, but you can park in front of 1st floor rooms. Great location for visiting Badlands Natl Park. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Independent motel done right. -- This is an obviously old motel, but it is very well kept, reasonably priced, and the owner is a fine gentleman. See more of itemized + and -

+ Independent mom & pop establishment.
+ Even though the building is old, my room was very clean and comfortable. No smoke odor, or stuffy, old room smell you usually find at other motel with the same price range.
+ Sheets & towels are clean.
+ Relatively quiet & comfortable.
+ Free juice & sweet rolls in the morning.
+ Reasonably priced. I doubt you can find any motel with same price range that has the same room quality.
+ Walking distance to Wall Drug. :)
+ Free WI-FI ** (see additional note)

- It seems like this motel has only one access point in the office. My room was on the other end of the property, so reception was a bit spotty. I would recommend running an ethernet cable to the other and and add 2nd access point. This way you can be 99% sure to cover the entire property.

Friends, I urge you to support good, local business.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Great jumping off point for visiting Badlands. Wonderful older motel - could us a little updating. None of the fancy amenities, but clean. Wonderful and helpful staff. Even helped locate a backpack we could use for a day because we forgot ours. The owner was full of helpful information to make our trip more enjoyable. I wish there were more of these around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This hotel was highly recommended here on TripAdvisor and for good reason. The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and the owner was a delight! We stayed here with our two small dogs and we were treated wonderfully. The location is fantastic, great stop after driving through the Badlands. We couldn't have been more pleased with the friendly service and cleanliness of our room. If you are stopping for the night in Wall, you need to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.