We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to wait out a cold spell.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Save
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list
608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penn State
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to wait out a cold spell.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Backpacking in the badlands in early March confronted me and my hiking buddy with a couple days of weather a bit too harsh for tent life. We scouted out a few of the hotels in Wall, and found the Sunshine in to be the best deal. Finding a place that was easy on the wallet was all that we had sought. Well, on top of that, we were treated to the interesting conversation and great hospitality of the owner, as well as an immaculate room; which was a good size and very comfortable. Located in the heart of the town, we were able to meander the streets during the day, and check out the National Grasslands visitor's center right next door. By the time the weather had improved, we were fresh-legged and high spirited. A locally-owned hotel that definitely exceeded the quality of chain hotels was a great find on our trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    84
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
114
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I initially emailed him about their pet policies. He returned my email to say they were welcome. The other review regarding John are on mark. He is pleasant, hospitable and fair. We cut our stay short because it was cold and very windy (and we'd wanted to check out the Badlands). He returned our 2nd day prepaid funds without prompting.

The room is clean but cut rate. Bring your own shampoo!

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — The indoor/outdoor carpet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We have stayed at Wall's Sunshine Inn several times, after trying other Wall facilities, and now would consider no other. For location, service, courtesy and information, Sunshine Inn tops them all. John has a fantastic memory...On only the second time we pulled in, with no reservations made, John was waving and smiling from the Inn's doorway as soon as he saw us, "I remembered the pickup and knew you when you pulled into the drive, and I've got a room for you," he confirmed. As we left Sunshine Inn he advised, "When you go home, and reach South Dakota's border, call me and I'll save you a room." We did, and he did. You can bet we will be back, John!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

5 star motel at a 1 star price ! could not have asked for a better host, a cleaner room or better suroundings felt very comfortable, just like i was home . If all sunshine inns are like the one in wall I'll never stay in a motel 6,8, again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Basic room and a short walk to Wall Drug

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

John, the owner, "saved our bacon" when we were let down by another hotel in the area. Sunshine Inn was perfect for our needs, clean, comfortable and in a superb location right next to all that's going on in Wall, including the world famous Wall Drug.
Thanks John from 2 families from the UK.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We spent one night at the Sunshine Inn in July, 2008. Everything and everyone was very nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The price was very reasonable, especially in today’s world of very high hotel/motel prices. What a nice change to find such a great place to stay without having to pay such a high price. The only thing we would like to see added is for each room to have a little refrigerator. We would stay there again!

  • Liked — The price, the clean room, the friendly people, good location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.