We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Walls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Wall
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Walls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We wanted to stay near Walls to visit the Badlands and the missile museums.

We chose the Sunshine Inn based upon the reviews it has received and we were not disappointed.

John the owner checked us in and was a delight to talk to. He filled us in on local information. The next morning he greeted us by name when we went into the office.

The room was nice and extremely clean.

The Sunshine Inn is the standard all mom and pop hotels should strive to meet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
As the "pop" of the Sunshine Inn motel, I couldn't be more pleased that you hold me up as the standard for "mom and pop" motels. Our convenient location, just minutes from the Badlands, the Minuteman Missile site, and America's widest expanse of National Grasslands make us a handy place to spend a night. Add in our short walk to the downtown attractions on Wall's famous Main Street, and, like so many others, you've made note of the convenience that comes with staying at our independent little inn. All of us at The Sunshine Inn are friendly and informative by nature and appreciate you making mention of it. Adding in a few words about our "extemely clean" rooms only adds to our pleasure in reading your review. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to make note of your good experience. You are most appreciated. We do hope you'll come again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    75
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
80
100
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here just one night on way to Yellowstone. John the owner was very accommodating and super friendly. No frills but the rooms were very clean and extremely inexpensive. The couple we were traveling with had an issue with their bathroom fan and John replaced it within 5 minutes. Very convenient (walking distance) to Wall Drug and the downtown area. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Sunshine Inn and graciously taking the time to make your comments here. As ever, we appreciate the mention of our accommodating and friendly atmosphere. That you mention our cleanliness and competitive rates is another point of pride for us. What really makes your commentary so special is that you mention how quickly and expeditiously a mechanical problem is resolved here at the Sunshine Inn. I keep back-up equipment at hand at all times, so on the rare occasion that a mechanical malfunction occurs, I correct it in, as you note, a matter of minutes. We want our customers to take advantage of the convenient location you mention and spend time enjoying the attractions of Wall's famous downtown strip, including Wall Drug Store, just a block away--not fussing about issues in their rooms. We take care of those things promptly We'd love to see you here at the Sunshine Inn again. Thanks so much for staying and commenting. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stop in Wall in order to visit Badlands. We went straight to the Sunshine Inn due to all the good reviews We found on Tripadvisor. The staff was really friendly and when We mentioned the website We had a discount on the room rate that was already really cheap. The room was cozy and really clean. We had with John a great chat about Europe and he gave us some advice for our dinner. Next morning We had a little breakfast there and John provided us with some ice for our trip. I think that the motel deserves all the good reviews received. If I ever am back in Wall, I'll go there again for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks so much for researching and finding the Sunshine Inn. Our reviews on TripAdvisor and other user-review sites have been consistently very good to excellent, largely because so many of our customers find such great value here. As you note, we offer a very competitive rate along with a "cozy and really clean" room. I make sure that all our equipment is functioning properly and that our beds and other furnishings are replaced on a regular schedule. Thanks also for mentioning our generous policy on ice, which is free for both room and cooler use. As to friendly chats--they are part of the Sunshine Inn experience. My customers deserve no less, and I couldn't be prouder or more pleased that you chose to share your good experience here. We would certainly be most delighted by a return visit from you. Thanks again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Seems like you get to a touristy spot and everyone hacks up the prices. Not here....
This appears to be a good old fashion mom & pop type place, at least it is run like one ( be sure that is meant to be a compliment with highest regard). These folks take care of their guests with simple gestures like extra ice for the cooler (how many motel signs have you seen that restrict ice usage?) and remembering our names...in my travels that is unheard of for a one night stop.
And finally, the price... can't beat it. We stopped here on the way back from Yellowstone and wish we had stayed here on the way there. We'll know better next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
As the "pop" of this "good old fashioned mom & pop type place" I couldn't be more gratified by your kind remarks. Thanks so much for sharing your experience at the Sunshine Inn here on TripAdvisor. We make every effort to take care of our guests and make them feel welcome and comfortable. As you note, our prices are moderate and very competitive--and little extras like giving out all the ice our customers want are the kinds of gestures that we consider routine. That you found it special enough to be worth mentioning is certainly something that adds to our pride in service. Thank you again for staying and your favorable comments. We most certainly do hope you'll be staying here again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Sunshine inn is a real and very nice hotel.
I felt sure about it since I contacted John for the first time and when we arrived there everything was confirmed.
People were really friendly and gave us good advice about Wall and around areas.
It is really nice, with confortable, large and clean room. Parking is in front of the room and it is situated in the center of this characteristic city.
I only have a little note for John, the owner because that day "he was on holiday" :). I would have liked to meet him, but I hope there will be another opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and the kind remarks about your experience here. Though I'm sorry we didn't get a chance to meet, I'm confident and satisfied that you found our staff to be "really friendly" and full of "good advice." We take a lot of pride in our attitudes here, and it's especially gratifying to get a favorable response from our overseas visitors. That you found your room to be "nice . . . comfortable, large and clean" is a great reminder to all of us here at the Sunshine Inn that we have high standards to maintain--and that we do so consistently and successfully. I do hope that we get another opportunity to meet, as a repeat visit from you would be most delightful and appreciated. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was so pleased to have found this place - check in was quick and easy; the owner, John was very friendly and informative - and seemingly always in the office! The motel is a 30 second walk from the main drag and right next door to the excellent museum detailing the events at Wounded Knee. Room was quiet and clean and bed was v comfy. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you mention their website you get $5 off the room price - bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Sunshine Inn and commenting so favorably about your experience. Believe me, the pleasure was all ours. Sharing knowledge about this beautiful state I call home is a special treat for me, especially when it comes to helping our overseas customers get to know their way around. That you mention our handy location, just a short walk to all of downtown Wall's world famous attractions and museum, is most helpful to TripAdvisor readers--and of course we're especially pleased that you mention our quiet atmosphere and comfortable beds. Your recommendation is most gratifying. Certainly hope we see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This A.M. I called and spoke with a lady named Jeanne (spelling ??) who was very pleasant to talk to. I explained that we found her inn after reading reviews on other "chain" facilities in Wall, and one said "run away from here and head to the Sunshine Inn.....she laughed and then proceeded to book our room for us at a reasonable price. Last year we found that an independently owned inn while traveling in Maine and found the same courtesy there. Looking forward to South Dakota and the badlands.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
First off, thank you so much for taking the time and making the effort to research your available lodging options in Wall and concluding that the Sunshine Inn is right for you. That you were able to talk to my staffer Jean about your reservation and mention her so favorably is especially appreciated by all of us here. As I've noted before, I often get singled out for mention but must call attention to and congratulate my staff of experienced and dedicated professionals who see to it that the Sunshine Inn stays spotlessly clean, and that all of its components are in good working order. It's very gratifying to see Jean get some well-deserved notice and praise, and I can assure TripAdvisor readers that they'll get the same friendly and enthusiastic attention from any one of us answering the phone. I'm confident that your experience here at our motel has lived up to the expectations you made during your first contact. Thank you again for such a nice note. You can be sure that all of us at the Sunshine Inn share the pride that Jean feels after reading your kind and complimentary remarks. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list