We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Sunshine Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Save
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list
608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Sunshine Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed last week at the Sunshine Inn on our way to Badlands NP. Our room was clean, bed and bedding were good, room was quiet; A/C worked well. Room had queen bed and was moderate size; TV worked well. This is an older hotel-you may find that the doors stick a bit-that is well-kept by a knowledgeable and friendly proprietor. A very basic breakfast-coffee, OJ, and packaged sweet rolls-is included in the very low rates. It's right in Wall, SD, and very near I-90 and Badlands NP. Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: As for a room with the window facing the building behind the hotel; very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    83
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
113
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Wall and the badlands, driving from Minneapolis. I booked a room here after reading several good reviews on trip advisor. I found our room to be clean, quiet & convient to all Wall has to offer ( which is not much, but it's worth the stop on the way to Mount Rushmore and Yellowstone.) our room was better than I expected for the low rate we paid. If you need shampoo , ice , an alarm clock, etc. you must request it from the front desk. But we had everything we needed after a day of driving- a soft bed and hot shower. There is a small tv with plenty of the usual cable channels, & they offer free coffee, orange juice and rolls in the morning. We had a satisfactory breakfast at Wall Drug's cafe.
The motel is located a block from Wall Drug and other bars & shops on main street. We drove through the Badlands Scenic Loop and straight into Wall, so we found this to be a perfect spot to rest before moving on to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We couldn't ask for a more comprehensive and appreciated review of the Sunshine Inn, and thank you very much for so graciously providing it. We feel that we "fit the bill" for most travelers looking for, as you note, "location, price, cleanliness and coziness," along with a "quick start" array of sweet rolls, coffee and orange juice in the morning. Our rooms are clean, functional and comfortable, and the choice of amenities that are available with just a quick call to the office is a long one, consisting of most travelers' needs, including shampoo, hair dryers, alarm clocks, conditioner, irons and ironing boards, and the use of the motel's on-premise microwave and fridge. We also supply all the ice our customers want, both for room use and their ice chests, at no charge. As you note, at our extremely competitive rates, most travelers come away from the Sunshine Inn feeling they got a much better deal than expected. That so many return is testimony enough that our value-based operation is a good one. That others, like you, take the time to note their many positive impressions here, is a compliment that we accept with gratitude and the hope that they'll be back to stay with us again. Certainly hope that applies to you! Thanks again for commenting. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Once again we're in the Badlands. If you plan a trip to Wall S D., you won't find a cleaner and friendlier place to stay than the Sunshine Inn, bar none.... The rooms are very comfortable, and we always sleep sound at this motel. The rates are good, and you won't be disappointed in any way. Most people never find the bison herd that roam Badlands national park, but John the owner of the Inn can tell you where to look. This is our eighth year staying here and hope to return many more times. Keep up the good work, and thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind remarks and the time you took to post them here. That you choose to return to the Sunshine Inn--year-in, year-out--speaks volumes for the consistent quality that we strive to maintain, so we're exceptionally pleased to get your feedback and positive reinforcement. Comfortable rooms, sound sleep, good rates--your comments say it all. Mentioning that we make a special effort to "steer" our customers to good spots for getting the most out of the natural wonders of our region is especially appreciated, as we take pleasure in sharing our knowledge and love of this area that we call home. Thanks again for the nice comments. We most certainly look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We rolled into Wall around 8pm and stopped here first. The rate was exactly what we were hoping and the owner was so amazingly kind. The rooms are basic, but nice, very clean, and comfortable. The TV had more channels than the previous motel we had stayed at - good enough for us! I give the Sunshine Inn an excellent rating not because it was the greatest inn/hotel/motel option out there, but given the location and the usual stock of options through this part of the country (and how strangely expensive some of those motels can be) - it was such a lovely, easy place to stay for a night before we were back on the road. We were there for less than 12 hours and the owner knew us by sight and name. We would stay here again if roadtripping through Wall! We didn't stay for the breakfast (prepackaged doughnuts, coffee, juice - but again, for the price, we weren't expecting anything), but it was available in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and taking the time to comment here. Your observation that our "rooms are basic, but nice, very clean, and comfortable" succinctly sums up our value-based operation. Adding that "it was such a lovely, easy place to stay for a night" certainly reinforces our belief that the Sunshine Inn "experience" is one that thousands of satisfied guests every year take away with them as they continue their journeys from here. Getting to know you a bit better on a personal level is also a joy for us, one that makes for many lasting and satisfying friendships as the years go by. Thanks again for the kind remarks. We certainly hope that we'll get a chance to see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

For $54 you can't expect anything other than a clean room and thats what we got. This place was highly rated on tripadvisor, I'm guessing primarily for the price. No kleenex or blow dryer but the room was clean and there was cable tv, although the tv was old & small. Probably not somewhere we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here at the Sunshine Inn. We feel that we offer a great value and are happy that you called attention to how clean your room was, which is a common reaction among our many satisfied customers. I wish you had mentioned your need for tissues and a blow drier, as both are availabile on request even if not immediately available in your room, per the list of amenities that we post on our credenzas. Our televisions are basic 20-inch sets that conform to generally accepted industry standards, and we have no plans to change those. I regret that you wouldn't choose to return and have no doubt that you'll find lodging options in the region that are more suited to your requirements, though at considerably higher cost, based on AAA-rate comparisons. I wish you well on your future travels. Best regards, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last summer. This time we traveled with another couple and booked the Inn for a 3-night stay. I will never stay anywhere else in Wall!! We had a wonderful stay and were completely taken care of by the hotel owner, John. He gave us connecting rooms for a suite price, saving us money on our stay and hassle by not having to walk a long way to the other couple's room. It was clean, comfy, conveniently located (within walking distance of Wall Drug and all the shops & restaurants). Plus it's only a 10-min. drive to the Badlands! Ya can't get much better than that! John gave us great tips on where to see buffalo in the park, and upon learning it was my husband's birthday during our stay, John went out of his way to do a little someting special for him. What a wonderful place to stay in such an amazing part of the state. Hopefully we can make it back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We couldn't be more flattered that first, you chose to return, second that you chose to share the Sunshine Inn with your friends, and third, that you chose to do so during your husband's birthday. It was my pleasure to accommodate you and add a little something to the birthday celebration. You certainly said it all when you characterized us as "clean, comfy and convenient," the three most important qualities that the Sunshine Inn offers. Also, as you note, I was able to improve on the deal with a special rate that includes our connecting rooms and packages them as a "suite." You might even call it our "suite" deal, one which we're happy to make based on availability. Larger groups reading this review and considering a stay at the Sunshine Inn should ask for it during their inquiries about our rates and availability. We couldn't be more delighted that your return visit was a good one. That you chose to comment here for a second time is a kindness that we'll long remember. Looking forward to your next stay! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was clean, reasonably priced, and super friendly.We stayed August 16 and it is super close to Badlands National Park and next door to the WallDrug spectacular. The rooms are sparse but in this part of SD you only need a clean comfortable bed/room which is overwhemingly provided.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thanks for the positive comments. As you note, we provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable prices, and do so "overwhelmingly." Super friendly attitudes come with the deal! We couldn't be more pleased that you found the Sunshine Inn "experience" to be a good one and appreciate the effort and time you put into making your remarks public. Certainly hope you'll come through and stay with us again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.